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In October 2009, an annual Statement
of Charges to Reserve Account (DE 428T)
will be mailed to you.  This statement
notifies you of the unemployment insur-
ance (UI) benefit charges and credits to
your reserve account during the fiscal
year July 1, 2008 through June 30, 2009.
Charges are itemized and based on the
UI benefits paid to your former employ-
ees.  Charges to your reserve account
may increase your UI contribution rate
for the tax year 2010, so it is important
to review your statement carefully and
respond timely if you do not agree with
the charges.
You have 60 days from the mail date on

We know our customers are busy
people, and EDD’s free e-mail sub-
scription services make it easier
than ever to stay up-to-date online.
Subscribe to our e-mail lists and stay
tuned to the latest news about pro-
grams and services online, includ-
ing What’s New on EDD’s Web site,
recently added forms and publica-
tions, events, and announcements.
The following subscription services
are available:
• Employment and Payroll Tax In-

formation
• Labor Market Information
• Paid Family Leave Information
• Workforce Investment Act and

Wagner-Peyser Act
Go to  www.edd.ca.gov, select “Get
E-mail notices,” then select the op-
tion “I want to subscribe.”
It’s easier than ever to keep updated
and informed.

Subscribe to EDD
Notices by E-mail –

It’s Fast & Easy

SDI Program and Employer Responsibilities

your statement to protest any charges you
believe are incorrect.  An extension of
up to 60 days may be granted for good
cause if your request is submitted before
the protest deadline.
If you have address changes and/or agent
updates, please inform EDD immediately
in order to receive your DE 428T.
For further information, refer to the Expla-
nation and Instruction Sheet (DE 428C)
included with the DE 428T, or call our
Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-
3886.
The DE 428C is also available on our Web
site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/
de428c.pdf

Review Your Reserve Account Statement of Charges

California’s State Disability Insurance
(SDI) program provides Disability Insur-
ance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL)
benefits. The SDI program is funded en-
tirely by California workers through a pay-
roll tax on their earnings. For 2009, the
tax, or contribution rate, is 1.1 percent
of taxable annual gross wages up to
$90,669. For 2009, the maximum yearly
contribution per each employee is
$997.36.
The SDI program also offers a Disability
Insurance Elective Coverage (DIEC) ben-
efit option to employers or employees
who are not required to contribute to SDI.
Individuals covered by SDI or DIEC are
covered for both DI and PFL programs.
Claimants cannot receive benefits from
both programs simultaneously.

The DI benefits are
paid to eligible indi-
viduals who are un-
able to perform their
regular or customary
work due to a non-
work-related illness
or injury, including
pregnancy and child-
birth. The DI benefits may be paid up to
52 weeks.
The PFL benefits are paid to eligible in-
dividuals who take time off work to care
for a seriously ill child, spouse, parent,
registered domestic partner, or to bond
with a new child. The PFL benefits may
be paid for up to six weeks within a con-
tinuous 12-month period.
Both benefits provide approximately 55
percent of wage replacement. The mini-
mum weekly benefit amount is $50 per
week; the maximum is $959 per week.
Both DI and PFL require a seven-day non-
payable waiting period. Benefit payments
begin on the eighth day of the claim.
As an employer, your responsibilities per-
taining to SDI include the following:
• Make payroll deductions for SDI and

remit to the Employment Development
Department (EDD).

• Post in the workplace the Notice to
Employees (DE 1857A).

• Provide new employees with the  Dis-
ability Insurance Provisions  (DE 2515)
pamphlet and Paid Family Leave In-
surance Provisions (DE 2511) pam-
phlet.

• Provide the DE 2515 to all employees
who notify you that they need to take
time off from work due to a non-work-
related medical condition.

• Provide the DE 2511 to all employees
who notify you that they need to take
time off work to care for a seriously ill
family member or bond with a new
child.

• Complete and return within two busi-
ness days the Notice to Employer of
State Disability Claim (DE 2503), or the
Notice to Employer of Paid Family
Leave Claim (DE 2503F).

It is the employee’s responsibility to file
a claim for benefits with the SDI program.
Employees can obtain a claim form from
an SDI office, the EDD Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov, or a medical provider.
The SDI program has 23 offices statewide.
Services are available in-person, by tele-
phone and on the Internet. For additional
information on SDI programs and to or-
der or download posters, pamphlets, and
other SDI materials, please visit EDD’s
Web site at www.edd.ca.gov. or tele-
phone DI at (800) 480-3287 or PFL at (877)
238-4373.

Taxpayer Assistance Center: 888-745-3886
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We offer seminars on various tax-related
topics to help you understand and com-
ply with California payroll tax laws.
Some seminars are presented in partner-
ship with federal or state agencies to pro-
vide information on related federal tax
and labor law topics.
Our courses are customized to benefit
new employers, established businesses,
bookkeepers, and payroll agents. Semi-
nars are conducted at various locations
throughout the state with no charge to
participants.
Some upcoming seminars are shown be-
low.  To view a complete list of seminar
topics, dates and locations, or to register
for a seminar, visit our Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/
or call our Taxpayer Assistance Center at
(888) 745-3886.
Federal/State Basic Payroll Tax Seminars
cover federal and state payroll reporting
requirements, including forms, payment
requirements, electronic filing and inde-
pendent contractor reporting.

Concord         11-17-09
Daly City                     10 -8 -09
Delano                     12-10-09
Fairfield                     10-14-09
Fresno                     10-22-09
Hawthorne           11-4-09
Los Angeles           10-6-09
Los Angeles         10-22-09
Merced         11-18-09
Oakland 10-7-09
Oakland 11-4-09
Paso Robles 9-24-09
Paso Robles 12-10-09
Redwood City 10-19-09
Sacramento 9-30-09
Sacramento 10-6-09

Sacramento (IN SPANISH)       10-21-09

Sacramento (Mather)           11-18-09
Salinas 10-7-09
San Francisco 9-30-09
San Francisco 10-28-09
San Jose 10-22-09
San Rafael 11-12-09
Santa Maria           10-1-09
Santa Rosa          11-18-09
Simi Valley 12-3-09
Stockton 11-5-09
Ventura 11-12-09
Visalia 11-5-09

Employee or Independent Contractor Tax
Seminars include the factors that deter-
mine whether a worker is an employee
or an independent contractor plus the
basics of statutory employment.
Fresno                                     12-8-09
Oakland         10-15-09
Redwood City 11-10-09
San Rafael 12-1-09
Simi Valley                            11-17-09
Stockton                                11-18-09
Ventura         10-15-09

State Labor Law and Payroll Tax Semi-
nars are co-presented by the Employment
Development Department and the De-
partment of Industrial Relations. Topics
include employer reporting and payment
requirements, common wage and hour
law application, and basics of how to
distinguish between employees and in-
dependent contractors.
Chico 10-14-09
Concord 11-19-09
Fresno 10-8-09
Los Angeles 12-10-09
Oakland                                  12-9-09
Sacramento 12-3-09
San Francisco 10-21-09
San Jose 11-3-09
Ukiah 10-6-09
Visalia 10-8-09

How to Manage Unemployment Insur-
ance Costs Seminars cover how Unem-
ployment Insurance (UI) rates are calcu-
lated, how to reply to UI notices, and
what you can do as an employer to mini-
mize your UI costs.
Bakersfield 12-3-09
Hawthorne 10-20-09
Oakland 12-17-09
San Francisco 11-24-09
San Rafael 10-20-09
San Jose 11-17-09
Sunnyvale 10-6-09

Audits and Appeals Payroll Tax Semi-
nars include information on how the
audit process works, how to prepare for
an audit, the basic steps of the appeals
process, and employer rights during the
audit and appeals process.
Bakersfield 10-22-09
Hawthorne 10-20-09
San Jose 11-9-09
San Jose 12-10-09

Seminars Offer Valuable Tax Help

State Payroll Tax Workshops provide
hands-on training in calculating taxes and
completing payroll tax forms.
Atwater 12-10-09
Fresno 9-30-09
Fresno 11-10-09
Hawthorne 11-17-09
Los Angeles 10-15-09
Mountain View 12-10-09
Oakland 12-8-09
Redwood City 9-23-09
Sacramento 9-23-09
Sacramento 10-1-09
Sacramento (Mather) 11-19-09
San Jose 9-28-09
San Jose 10-26-09
San Rafael 9-23-09
Ventura 11-19-09
Visalia 11-19-09

2009 Withholding Schedules
Have Been Replaced

As a result of the state budget
passed in February, the California
Withholding Schedules included in
the 2009 California Employer’s
Guide were replaced in April. Em-
ployers are reminded to use the new
schedules in place of the schedules
published in the 2009 Employer’s
Guide. For additional information
go to EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/
The new schedules are available
online at:
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/
Rates_and_Withholding.htm

This newsletter is published
quarterly by the Employment Development
Department of  the California Labor and
Workforce Development Agency. It is
distributed with tax forms to all employers
who are subject to the provisions of the
Unemployment Insurance Code.
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