
REPORTING NEW EMPLOYEES AND INDEPENDENT CONTRACTORS

As a business or government entity doing business in California, you are required to report certain information on employees 
and independent contractors you hire to the Employment Development Department (EDD).

This information will assist in locating parents who are delinquent in their child support payments.

The reporting requirements for both new employees and independent contractors are listed below.

NEW EMPLOYEE REPORTING

Background

In 1996, Congress enacted the Personal Responsibility 
and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act, requiring all 
employers to report certain information on newly hired 
and rehired employees. The federal requirement was 
implemented by California effective July 1, 1998.

Reporting Requirements for California Employers

California employers are required to report information on 
newly hired or rehired employees who work in California 
to the EDD’s New Employee Registry (NER). However, 
multistate employers may elect to report electronically all 
newly hired or rehired employees to one state in which 
they have employees. The State of California encourages 
multistate employers to report California employees to the 
California NER.

Who Must Be Reported

NEWLY HIRED EMPLOYEES are those individuals who 
have not previously been included on your payroll.

REHIRED EMPLOYEES are those individuals who 
were previously included on your payroll, left your 
employment, and were rehired after a separation of at 
least 60 consecutive days.

An individual is considered a new hire or rehire on their 
first day of work.

When to Report

Information on newly hired or rehired employees must be 
reported within 20 days of their start-of-work date.

Employers who choose to report electronically must 
submit two transmissions each month that are not less 
than 12 or more than 16 days apart.
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INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR REPORTING

Background

In 1999, California enacted a law requiring businesses 
and government entities to report similar information on 
independent contractors. This requirement was effective  
January 1, 2001.

Reporting Requirements for Businesses and Government 
Entities Doing Business in California

Any business or government entity (defined as a 
“service-recipient”) that is required to file federal Form 
1099-MISC for services performed by an independent 
contractor (defined as a “service-provider”) must report. 
A service-recipient means any individual, person, 
corporation, association, or partnership, or agent thereof, 
doing business in California, deriving trade or business 
income from sources within this state, or in any manner 
in the course of trade or business subject to the laws 
of this state. An independent contractor is defined as 
an individual who is not an employee of the business 
or government entity for California purposes and who 
receives compensation or executes a contract for services 
performed for that business or government entity either in 
or outside of California.

Who Must Be Reported

Any individual whom the business or government entity is 
required to provide a federal Form 1099-MISC for services 
performed as an independent contractor. This does not 
include an independent contractor who is a corporation, 
general partnership, limited liability partnership, or limited 
liability company. In general, independent contractors 
who are sole proprietors are to be reported.

When to Report

You must report independent contractor information to 
the EDD within 20 days of EITHER making payments 
totaling $600 or more for services performed OR entering 
into a contract for $600 or more for services performed, 
whichever is earlier. If the threshold is met, reporting is 
required in each calendar year, but only once in a calendar 
year.

https://www.irs.gov/


Required Information

The following information must be reported to the EDD:

Employer Information

• Business name, address, and phone number

• EDD employer payroll tax account number

• Federal employer identification number

• Contact person

Employee Information

• First name, middle initial, and last name

• Social Security number

• Address

• Start-of-work date

Reporting Methods

Employers may elect any of the following methods to 
report new employee information to the EDD:

• File online using any of the options available with the
EDD e-Services for Business. Visit the website at
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business to choose
the option best for you.

• File a Report of New Employee(s), DE 34, form.

• File a copy of the employee’s Form W-4. You must 
add the date the employee started working for you, 
your California employer payroll tax account number, 
and Federal employer identification number to the 
Form W-4.

Where to Send Reports

Employment Development Department 
PO Box 997016, MIC 96 
West Sacramento, CA 95799-7016 
Fax: 916-319-4400

Required Information

The following information that applies must be reported to 
the EDD:

Business or Government Entity Information

• Business name, address, and phone number
• Federal employer identification number, EDD Employer

payroll tax account number, and/or Social Security
number

Independent Contractor Information

• First name, middle initial, and last name
• Social Security number
• Address
• Start date of contract or date $600 or more is paid
• Amount of contract (including cents)
• Contract expiration date
• Ongoing contract (check box if applicable)

Reporting Methods

Business and government entities may elect any of the 
following methods to report independent contractor 
information to the EDD:

• File online using any of the options available with the
EDD e-Services for Business. Visit the website at
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business to choose
the option best for you.

• File a Report of Independent Contractor(s), 
DE 542, form.

Where to Send Reports

Employment Development Department 
PO Box 997350, MIC 96 
Sacramento, CA 95899-7350 
Fax: 916-319-4410

Additional Information

For further assistance, please contact the Taxpayer 
Assistance Center at 888-745-3886, or visit the nearest 
Employment Tax Office listed in the California Employer’s 
Guide, DE 44, or access the EDD website at  
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/.

The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. 
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request 
to individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, 
aids, and/or alternate formats need to be made by calling 
888‑745‑3886 (voice) or TTY 800‑547‑9565.

NEW EMPLOYEE REPORTING 
(continued)

INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR REPORTING 
(continued)

This information sheet is provided as a public service and is intended to provide nontechnical assistance. Every attempt has been made 
to provide information that is consistent with the appropriate statutes, rules, and administrative and court decisions. Any information that 
is inconsistent with the law, regulations, and administrative and court decisions is not binding on either the Employment Development 
Department or the taxpayer. Any information provided is not intended to be legal, accounting, tax, investment, or other professional advice.
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