
DE 83 (12-06) (INTERNET) CU 

TAX 
COMPLIANCE 
GUIDELINES 

As of January 2011, these Compliance 
Guidelines are under revision due to the  

implementation of a new automated accounting  
and compliance system.

NOTE: The following penalties have changed effective with 
the 3rd quarter 2014 - 

• Late Filing - A penalty of 15% (10% for periods prior to
the 3rd quarter 2014) plus interest will be charged.

• Late Deposit - A penalty of 15% (10% for periods prior
to the 3rd quarter 2014) plus interest will be charged.

• Wage Item Penalty - A wage item penalty of $20 ($10
for periods prior to the 3rd quarter 2014) per employee
will be charged for late reporting or unreported
employee wages.
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INTRODUCTION 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Employment Development Department (EDD) administers 
the Unemployment Insurance (UI) and Disability Insurance (DI) 
programs for the State of California.  EDD’s Tax Branch collects 
the funds for UI, DI, and the Employment Training Tax (ETT) to 
fund California's security system of UI, DI, and employment 
training programs.  These programs provide financial assistance 
to individuals who: 
 
• Become unemployed through no fault of their own 
 

• Are in need of occupational retraining to help them return to 
the work force 

 

• Are too ill or injured to work due to non-work related causes 
 
The Tax Branch also collects the California Personal Income Tax 
(PIT) that employers withhold from their employees' wages.  
When these funds are remitted to EDD, they are transferred to 
the Franchise Tax Board (FTB).  
 
Collection Division (CD), a division within Tax Branch, is 
responsible for administering the employment tax and benefit 
overpayment collection programs.  These programs are designed 
to encourage voluntary compliance by employers, claimants, and 
their representatives.  Involuntary collection actions may be 
necessary to reach the goal of full compliance. 
 
The principal mission of CD is to maximize accounts receivable 
collections and promote voluntary compliance.  The CD strives to 
keep employers in business while allowing them to liquidate 
amounts owed.  When necessary, involuntary collection action is 
taken in order to collect money that otherwise would not be paid. 
The CD secures delinquent tax returns to ensure timely and 
prompt resolution of claims for benefits and collects liabilities that 
are owed to EDD. 
 
The CD must serve the needs of the people of California and has 
a responsibility to serve those needs in an efficient and effective 
manner.  The CD strives to incorporate a balanced approach by 
providing quality customer service while performing assigned 
duties.  
 
The CD is comprised of two major operations: 
 
• Central Operations (CO) 
 

• Field Operations (FO) 
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COLLECTION 
PROGRAM 
FUNCTIONS  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The CO and FO staff conduct tax collection activities on assigned 
delinquent accounts that include: 
 
• Working with employers, internal customers, and other 

governmental agencies to resolve payment and report 
delinquencies 

 
• Ensuring long term compliance with the Unemployment 

Insurance Code (UIC) 
 
These activities include: 
 
• Initiating appropriate action for the timely and efficient 

resolution of delinquent returns and taxes 
 
• Monitoring installment agreements 
 

  
CENTRAL 
OPERATIONS 
FUNCTIONS 

The CO provides the following essential advisory and/or support 
services:  
 
• Identifying delinquent accounts requiring collection action 
 
• Processing bankruptcy and probate claims 
 
• Processing Notices of State Tax Lien, including subordination 

and partial releases 
 
• Processing liquor and contractor’s license holds 
 
• Assisting with complex legal problems and referrals to the 

Office of the Attorney General 
 
• Offers in Compromise (OIC) 
 
• Interagency Offsets 
 
• Out-of-State Tax Accounts Referral (OSTAR) 
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FIELD 
OPERATIONS 
FUNCTIONS 

The FO conducts collection activities on the assigned delinquent 
tax accounts that may require collection action and contacts for 
resolution. 
 
A field investigation may be necessary in order to resolve some 
accounts. Field staff may conduct on-site meetings with 
employers at their place of business.  Field staff may also 
conduct an inspection and evaluation of the business and/or real 
property.  
  
The FO also provides the following functions: 
 
• Attending tax hearings on behalf of EDD 
 
• Placing holds on liquor and contractors’ licenses 
 
• Initiating compliance complaints and citations 
 
• Initiating the issuance of warrants for the seizure and sale of 

personal property 
 
• Meeting with delinquent taxpayers to secure payment of 

amounts due 
 
• Monitoring installment agreements and Earnings Withholding 

Orders for Taxes (EWOTs) 
 
• Receiving and responding to initial contacts requesting 

subordination of liens 
 
• Initiating collection action on public works contracts 
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PROMOTE 
VOLUNTARY 
COMPLIANCE 

To improve service to employers, maintain good customer 
service, and encourage voluntary compliance with the UIC, Tax 
Branch provides the following: 
 
• California Employer Newsletter 
 
• California Employer’s Guide 
 
• California Household Employer’s Guide 
 
• Internet access 
 
• Outreach seminars 
 
• Small Business Employer Advisory Committee 
 
• Tax Talk 
 

  
AUTHORITY TO 
ENFORCE  
COLLECTION 

The laws authorizing CD to enforce collection activities are 
contained in the following: 
 
• Business and Professions Code 
 
• Civil Code 
 
• Code of Civil Procedure 
 
• Commercial Code 
 
• Corporations Code 
 
• Family Code 
 
• Government Code 
 
• Penal Code 
 
• Probate Code 
 
• Revenue and Taxation Code 
 
• Unemployment Insurance Code 
 
• United States Bankruptcy Code 
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COLLECTION 
TOOLS 
 
 
 
 
    

When voluntary compliance is not obtained, CD may take 
involuntary collection actions.  These actions may include: 
 
• Citation hearing 
 
• Compliance complaint 
 
• EWOT 
 
• Lien on Cause 
 
• Notice of Levy (NOL) 
 
• Notice of State Tax Lien 
 
• Offset 
 
• Personal responsibility assessment 
 
• Successor liability assessment 
 
• Warrant 
 

 

   
COLLECTION  
POLICIES 
 
 
   
 

The EDD follows the collection practices contained in the 
Rosenthal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act cited in Civil Code 
Section (§) 1788 through §1788.33 (Act). The EDD endorses the 
principles listed in the Act in an effort to ensure that collectors 
exercise fairness, honesty, and regard for the rights of the 
taxpayer during collection activities. 
 
Below are guidelines to be used when contacting taxpayers: 
 
• When talking with the taxpayer: 
 

 Be a good listener 
 

 Speak in a clear and precise manner 
 
• Be considerate of the diversified employer community 
 
• Be flexible in setting appointments 
 
• Keep the appearance and/or tone of your voice businesslike 
 
• Treat the taxpayer in a fair and equitable manner 
 
• Verify information supplied by the taxpayer 
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PROHIBITED 
COLLECTION 
ACTIVITIES 

The following types of activities are prohibited under the Act, and 
Tax Branch staff are not to utilize these collection activities: 
 

  
TYPE OF ACTIVITY 

 
EXAMPLES OF IMPROPER ACTIVITY 

 
 
  

 
Harrassment 
 

 
• Use obscene or profane language 
 
• Telephone a taxpayer without  

identifying oneself as a representative 
of EDD 

 
• Make a taxpayer accept a collect  

telephone call or pay for a telegram 
 
• Communicate by telephone or in  

person with the taxpayer with such 
frequency as to be unreasonable  
and thus cause harrassment 

 
• Cause a telephone to ring repeatedly 

or continuously to annoy the taxpayer 
 
• Use involuntary collection actions; i.e., 

liens, warrants, offsets; while the 
employer is bankrupt 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Make threats against 
the taxpayer 
 

 
• Use, or threaten to use, violence or to 

inflict physical harm to the person, 
reputation, or the property of any 
person 

 
• Tell a taxpayer they have committed a 

crime 
 
• Disclose information about the 

taxpayer to a third party that would 
defame the taxpayer 

 
• Tell a taxpayer they will be arrested or 

imprisoned 
 
• Threaten to take property; i.e., by lien, 

warrant, offset, etc.; unless such 
action is contemplated and permitted 
by law 
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TYPE OF ACTIVITY 
 

EXAMPLES OF IMPROPER ACTIVITY 
 

PROHIBITED 
COLLECTION  
ACTIVITIES 
(cont’d.) 
 

 
Providing false 
information to a 
taxpayer or about a 
taxpayer 
 

 
• Use of false names in the  

performance of their duties 
 
• Falsely state or imply: 
 

 That you are an attorney 
 

 That legal papers being sent to the 
taxpayer have been written by an 
attorney 

 
 The collector works for a consumer 

reporting agency or that the 
taxpayer will be reported to one 

 
• Misinform the taxpayer regarding the 

purpose of the collection action 
 
• Misinform the taxpayer concerning 

their legal rights in the collection of the 
debt 

 
  



 

CHAPTER 1 INTRODUCTION 
 

EDD Tax Compliance Guidelines Revision 10/25/06 Page 8 of 8 
 
DE 83 (12-06) (INTERNET) 

 
 

TYPE OF ACTIVITY 
 

EXAMPLES OF IMPROPER ACTIVITY 
 

PROHIBITED 
COLLECTION  
ACTIVITIES 
(cont’d.) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   

 
Unfair collection 
activity/practices 
 

 
• Communicate with a taxpayer's 

employer unless necessary to collect 
the debt 

 
• Communicate with a taxpayer's family 

except to locate the taxpayer and/or 
assets 

 
• Refer the taxpayer's name to a list 

commonly called "Deadbeat List" 
 
• Print anything on an envelope other 

than the name, address, and 
telephone number of the tax collector 
or taxpayer 

 
• Initiate judicial proceedings in a county 

other than the county in which the 
taxpayer incurred the debt or in the 
county where the taxpayer resides 
 

• Initiate judicial proceedings against a 
taxpayer when there is no legal right to 
do so 

 
• Communicate with the taxpayer other 

than with statements of amounts due, 
when the taxpayer has requested their 
attorney represent them (unless the 
attorney fails to communicate with the 
collector) 

 
• Collect amounts greater than the debt 

due 
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REPORT 
DELINQUENCIES 

A tax report delinquency occurs when an employer fails to file the 
required reports within the time limits established by the 
Unemployment Insurance Code (UIC). 
 
The reports required of most employers are: 
 
 

 

  
FORM 

 
DESCRIPTION 

 

 
UIC SECTION (§)

  
DE 88/ 
DE 88E 
 

 
Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)/ 
Payroll Tax Deposit Return 

Envelope (DE 88E) 
 

 
1088(b) 

  
DE 6 

 
Quarterly Wage and Withholding 
Report 
 

 
1088(a) 

  
DE 7 

 
Annual Reconciliation Statement 
 

 
1088(e) 

  
DE 3D 

 
Quarterly Contribution Return 
(Voluntary Plan) 
 

 
1088(c) 

  
DE 3BHW 

 
Quarterly Report of Wages and 
Withholdings for Employers of 
Household Workers 
 

 
Title 22, 

CCR §1088.1(g) 

  
DE 3HW 

 
Annual Payroll Tax Return for 
Employers of Household 
Workers 
 

 
Title 22, 

CCR §1088.1(g) 

    
 
PAYROLL TAX 
DEPOSITS  

 
The UIC §1088 requires that a subject employer file Payroll Tax 
Deposit coupons (DE 88/DE 88E) to: 
  
• Pay employer taxes of Unemployment Insurance (UI) and 

Employer Training Tax (ETT) 
 

• Submit deposits of Disability Insurance (DI) and Personal 
Income Tax (PIT) withheld as required by law 

 
Deposits of UI and ETT are due quarterly, while withholdings of 
DI and PIT are generally due at the same time as federal due 
dates. Penalty and interest are charged on late deposits.  A 
DE 88E indicates that a payment has been remitted electronically.
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QUARTERLY 
WAGE AND 
WITHHOLDING 
REPORT (DE 6)  
 

Employers are required to file a Quarterly Wage and Withholding 
Report (DE 6) each quarter with the following information:  
 
• The name and social security number of each employee 
 
• Total subject wages for each employee 
 
• The PIT wages for each employee 
 
• Amount of PIT withheld for each employee 
 
• Grand total of subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld for 

the quarter 
 
The DE 6 is due on April 1, July 1, October 1, and January 1 each 
year.  If the filing due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal 
holiday, then the filing date is the next business day.  The DE 6 is 
delinquent if not postmarked on or before April 30, July 31, 
October 31, and January 31 respectively. 
 
The information from the DE 6 is used to: 
 
• Post wage information 
 
• Calculate UI and DI benefits 
 
• Update the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) PIT Table, which 

provides PIT withholding figures 
 
Even if an employer has no employees for a particular quarter, 
DE 6s must be filed quarterly if it is anticipated that there will be 
employees in future quarters.  
 
Demands for delinquent DE 6s on unassigned accounts will have 
the Field Audit and Compliance Division’s (FACD) Taxpayer 
Assistance Center address and telephone number.  

  

   
 Demands for delinquent DE 6s on case assigned accounts will 

have the appropriate Area Collection Office (ACO) or Tax 
Collection Section (TCS) address and telephone number for 
contact.  Program support groups in the ACOs will immediately 
transfer the customer’s inquiries generated by the tax report 
delinquency statements to the case assignee.  The case assignee 
is responsible for obtaining the information to clear these 
delinquencies and contacting the employer if the DE 6 has not 
been received.  
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Statements are issued for a UIC §1114 wage item penalty of $10 
per item when a DE 6 is not received after a demand has been 
mailed or is filed late. 
 
If a reporting error has been made on a previous DE 6, a Tax and 
Wage Adjustment Form (DE 678) should be used to file the 
corrected information. 

 QUARTERLY 
WAGE AND 
WITHHOLDING 
REPORT (DE 6)  
(cont’d.) 

  
 
ANNUAL 
RECONCILIATION 
STATEMENT 
(DE 7)  

 
Employers are required to file an Annual Reconciliation Statement 
(DE 7) annually to reconcile tax deposit payments submitted 
during the year for withholdings of DI and PIT, and employer 
payments of UI and ETT, and to reconcile the total subject wages 
reported during the year on the DE 6s.  The DE 7 is due on the 
first business day of the subsequent year and is delinquent if not 
postmarked on or before January 31 of that year.  If January 31 
falls on a Saturday or Sunday, the employer has until the next 
business day to file the DE 7 timely.  
 
A DE 7 must be filed within 10 working days after an employing 
entity closes a business. 
 
Employer Account Statements (DE 2176) for accounts having a 
delinquent DE 7 are generated after all timely DE 7s are posted. 
Demands for delinquent DE 7s on case assigned accounts will 
have the appropriate ACO address and telephone number for 
contact.  Demands for unassigned accounts will have FACD’s 
Taxpayer Assistance Center address and telephone number. 
 
If an employer fails to send a completed DE 7, an estimated 
assessment is issued for each active quarter on the employer’s 
account.  In addition, and in accordance with UIC §1117, if an 
employer fails to file the DE 7 on or before 30 days after the 
DE 2176 demand notice has been given, a penalty of $1,000, or 
five percent of the total annual taxes, whichever is less, will be 
charged. 
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QUARTERLY 
CONTRIBUTION 
RETURN (DE 3) 

Prior to January 1, 1995, employers were required to file a 
Quarterly Contribution Return (DE 3DP) and a Report of Wages 
(DE 3B).  The DE 3DP was used by employers to report UI, ETT, 
and DI taxable wages and the amount of PIT withheld.  All 
amounts due were submitted with the DE 3DP.  The DE 3B was 
used to report each employee’s name, social security number, 
and quarterly wages.  
 
Some accounts remain subject to the requirements of filing 
applicable DE 3 reports.  Some employers are subject only to 
certain provisions of annual reconciliation.  Employers who are 
exempt from annual reporting are: 
 
• Voluntary Plan Accounts 

California law allows employers to develop and apply to the 
Employment Development Department (EDD) for approval to 
administer a Voluntary DI Plan for short term disability 
insurance 
 

• Domestic or Household 
UIC §1118 

 
• Reimbursable UI Employers 

UIC §803 
 

 

 
 

The DE 3 has the same due and delinquency dates as the DE 6 
and the end of quarter DE 88.  Payment must accompany the 
DE 3, including all funds that are payable by the employer as well 
as trust fund withholdings. 
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CASE 
MANAGEMENT 

Case management is defined as a series of actions taken to 
ensure that the interests of the people of California are fully 
protected.  These actions include, but are not limited to, the timely 
working of each assignment that is a part of a caseload. 
 
Case management incorporates the concept of staff and 
management working together.  To protect the interests of the 
State, criteria have been established for assigning caseloads to 
staff.  It is the responsibility of staff to take a pro-active role in 
completing assigned work. The supervisor will balance inventories 
among staff, with consideration of availability; i.e., special 
assignments, long term leave, etc.  The supervisor will either 
reassign the workload to other available resources, or work with 
staff to establish a systematic approach to make sure that all 
cases are worked in a timely fashion.  It is also important that the 
system ensures that follow-up actions are being taken as 
appropriate. 
 
Adjustments may be made to: 
 
• Equalize workloads 
 

• Allow for improvements in customer service to employers, 
taxpayers, claimants, other members of the public, and 
business communities whom we serve 

 
Management of case workloads is the responsibility of every 
Collection Division (CD) employee. This encompasses the 
following: 
 
• Taking appropriate actions as shown in the time frames chart 
 

• Providing accurate information and support to our customers 
 

• Evaluating and acting upon customer concerns or requests in 
an objective, impartial, and timely manner 

 

• Conducting Unemployment Insurance Code (UIC) Section (§) 
1735 investigations while pursuing collection of corporate 
liability 
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CASE 
MANAGEMENT 
(cont’d.) 

• Utilizing staff and technological resources 
 

• Resolving all accounts in an expedient manner 
 

• Transferring accounts when appropriate 
 
Questions concerning case management should be directed 
initially to the supervisor for a discussion of specific local issues 
and how they impact the overall case management process. 
Program management team members are also available to 
discuss case management issues. 
 

 
TIME FRAMES 

 
Each individual assigned a workload will be required to work 
assignments within the Employment Development Department’s 
(EDD) time frames. 
 
Every employee has the responsibility to comply with guidelines 
and case management. To ensure timely case resolution, specific 
tasks have been identified for effective case management: 
 
• Examine entire assigned workload at least once a month 
 

• Apprise the supervisor of the results of those examinations 
 

• Discuss any specific challenges and opportunities for 
enhancement in the workload resolution process 

 

• Identify accounts that have not been contacted within the last 
30 days and/or accounts over six months old, or accounts 
over one year old 

 
In reviewing assignments, staff and supervisors will discuss cases 
or workloads that pose a particular challenge or offer a unique 
opportunity for professional growth and added program 
knowledge.  Assignments that have not been worked within the 
time frames will be identified.  A partnership between staff and 
supervisors will then ensure that these assignments are fully 
worked in the most efficient and effective manner possible. 
 

  
 



 

CHAPTER 3 CASE MANAGEMENT 
 

EDD Tax Compliance Guidelines Revision 10/25/06 Page 3 of 3 
 
DE 83 (12-06) (INTERNET) 

 
OFFERS IN 
COMPROMISE 

The Offers in Compromise (OIC) Unit is responsible for 
processing any OIC requests from taxpayers.  All applications 
received will be sent to the OIC unit. 
 

 

 
REIMBURSABLE 
ACCOUNTS 

 
In lieu of the contributions required of employers, an entity, as 
defined in UIC §803(a), may elect to reimburse the 
Unemployment Insurance Fund the cost of benefits paid to 
claimants.  Reimbursable accounts generally are public entities 
and religious, charitable, educational, and nonprofit organizations. 
An application is filed by the entity and is authorized by EDD.  
The UIC §803(g) authorizes EDD to terminate the election of any 
entity that is delinquent in the payment of advances or 
reimbursements required by the Director. 
 
Notices of State Tax Lien may not be filed on governmental 
agencies.  If an entity is delinquent, the entity may be contacted. 
And, if payment in full is not made, a meeting with the entity must 
be requested.  Also, an investigation to determine the responsible 
person for the entity should commence. The area program 
manager must pre-approve ALL compliance actions. 
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CONTACT 
EMPLOYER 

Professional conduct and demeanor are important when 
communicating with our customers.  The first contact with an 
employer gives them a lasting impression of the Employment 
Development Department (EDD).  Employers expect and deserve 
quality customer service from every EDD employee.  This is 
reinforced with EDD’s Vision Statement.  This is an excellent 
opportunity to gain the employer's attention, cooperation, and full 
compliance.  
 
Understanding and learning how to motivate people are important 
compliance enforcement tools.  Developing these skills requires an 
insight of the business methods and characteristics of the 
individuals that make up the diversified California employing 
community.  Generally, you will encounter four basic types of 
employers: 
 
• Willing to pay/able to pay 
 
• Willing to pay/unable to pay 
 
• Unwilling to pay/able to pay 
 
• Unwilling to pay/unable to pay 
 
Tax compliance staff should develop, with training and experience, 
their own technique for motivating an employer to pay voluntarily. 
Experience leads to expertise.  
 
Develop a mental approach in your plan of action for each of the 
four types of employers that you may encounter in collection 
activities.  Knowing when and how to respond or initiate any 
necessary action is a prerequisite to becoming an effective 
compliance person.  
 
Contact with employers is made by letter, telephone, office 
meeting, or field calls to the employer's place of business.  The 
degree of urgency or type of collection assignment will determine 
the type of contact to initiate first. 
 

 

 



 

CHAPTER 4 CONTACT EMPLOYER 
 

EDD Tax Compliance Guidelines Revision 11/20/06 Page 2 of 12 
 
DE 83 (12-06) (INTERNET) 

 
ENTITY 
VERIFICATION 

Businesses may be required to obtain a license in the city or 
county where the business is located in order to operate.  The 
county clerk’s office keeps records that are indexed under the 
name of the business.  These records provide the name and 
address of the owner.  
 
Entity types and their descriptions are outlined below: 
 

 SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP 
 
A sole proprietorship is one individual who owns and operates one 
or more businesses. 
 

 
 

GENERAL PARTNERSHIP  
Corporations Code, Section (§) 16100, et seq. 

 
Corporations Code §16100 through §16962 is known as the 
Uniform Partnership Act of 1994.  As provided in Corporations 
Code §16101(7), a partnership is an association of two or more 
persons to carry on as co-owners of a business for profit. 
 
The partners jointly own the firm and share in its profits or losses. 
Corporations Code §16306 states that all partners are liable jointly 
and severally for all obligations of the partnership.  The assets of 
the individual partners, as well as the partnership assets, may be 
used to satisfy the liability. 
 
A partnership agreement may be formal or informal, written or oral. 
The intention to form a partnership may be determined from the 
acts, conduct, and statements of the parties.  General partnerships 
originate in common law and do not require formal authorization. 
 
Statement of partnership papers are filed with the county clerk or 
recorder’s office and are indexed by the name of the partnership. 
All partners’ names and addresses are listed on the statements.  
 
Dissolution of Partnership 
 
Whenever a partnership is dissolved, a notice of the dissolution 
shall be published at least once in a newspaper of general 
circulation in the place where the business was operated.  This 
notice is filed with the county clerk within thirty days after the 
publication.  
 
The death of a partner automatically dissolves the partnership. 
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ENTITY 
VERIFICATION 
(cont’d.) 
 

LIMITED PARTNERSHIP  
Corporations Code §15501, et seq.  

 
A limited partnership is a partnership formed by two or more 
persons, having as members one or more general partners and 
one or more limited partners.  
 
Limited partners are not liable for any obligation of a limited 
partnership unless named as a general partner.  All general 
partners are jointly and severally liable for the full partnership debt.
 
The limited partnership is not dissolved if a limited partner 
withdraws, dies, or is substituted. 
 
The words “limited partnership” or “L.P.” must appear at the end of 
the firm name.  Limited partners’ names are not shown.  
 
The Secretary of State (SOS) indexes certificates of limited 
partnership by the name of the limited partnership.  The 
certificates will list the name and address of the general and 
limited partners, as well as the agent for service of process. 
 
Foreign Limited Partnership 
  
A foreign limited partnership is a limited partnership formed under 
the laws of any state other than this state or under the laws of a 
foreign country.  A certificate of registration should be on file with 
the SOS.  The same information as described above for a limited 
partnership will be shown, as well as the location where the 
partnership was formed. 
 
Dissolution of Limited Partnership 
 
A certificate of dissolution must be filed with the SOS.  It will 
include the name of the limited partnership, file number, and the 
date of dissolution. 
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ENTITY 
VERIFICATION 
(cont’d.) 

LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY  
 Corporations Code §17000, et seq. 
 

Limited liability companies (LLC) are a cross between a limited 
partnership and a corporation.  The LLCs must have one or more 
members.  The owners are designated as members instead of 
shareholders or partners.  
 

In order to form an LLC, articles of organization must be filed with 
the SOS and a SOS file number will be issued.  The LLC Unit 
within the SOS will provide copies of the documents and the date 
of filing. 
 

The LLCs are treated as corporations for collection purposes. 
Members must be assessed under Unemployment Insurance 
Code (UIC) §1735 when individual responsibility is identified. 
 

 LIMITED LIABILITY PARTNERSHIP 
Corporations Code §16951, et seq. 

 

A limited liability partnership (LLP) is a form of business 
organization combining elements of partnerships and corporations. 
An LLP is a partnership that provides its partners a limitation on 
personal liability similar to limited partnerships.  However, LLPs 
are distinct from limited partnerships in that limited liability is 
granted to all partners, not to a subset of non-managing “limited 
partners.” 
 

To qualify as an LLP, all of the partners of a general partnership 
must be licensed under the provisions of the Business and 
Professions Code to practice public accounting, law, or 
architecture.  A general partnership can also qualify if it is related 
to an LLP and provides services or facilities for that LLP or 
provides services that are related or complementary to that LLP. 
 

A partnership is considered related to an LLP if: 
 

• A majority of the partners in the LLP are also partners in the 
related partnership; or 

• A majority of the partners in the related partnership are also 
partners in the LLP; or 

• A majority of the partners, of both the related partnership and 
the LLP, hold interest in or are members of another entity and 
both perform services for that entity; or 

• The LLP partnership or related partnership controls, is 
controlled by, or is under common control with the other 
through one or more intermediaries. 
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ENTITY 
VERIFICATION 
(cont’d.) 
 

The two types of LLPs are registered (domestic) LLPs and foreign 
LLPs. 
 
A registered limited liability partnership (RLLP) is formed when a 
partnership, other than a limited partnership, files a registration 
with the SOS.  It must be submitted by one or more of the partners 
authorized to execute a registration.  A foreign LLP must be a 
registered LLP pursuant to an agreement governed by the laws of 
another jurisdiction and is qualified as an LLP or RLLP under the 
laws of that jurisdiction. 
 
The name of the RLLP or foreign LLP shall contain the words 
“Registered Limited Liability Partnership” or “Limited Liability 
Partnership” or one of the abbreviations “L.L.P.,” “LLP,” “R.L.L.P.,” 
or “RLLP.” 
 
Verification or copies of the registration documents for both entities 
are located in the Limited Liability Unit at the SOS. 
 
The rules governing the withholding of payroll taxes for the 
partners in an LLP will remain the same as a general partnership. 
The LLP members must be assessed under UIC §1735 to be held 
individually responsible for LLP tax liabilities. 

  
 CORPORATIONS 

Corporations Code §100-2319, et seq. 
 
A corporation is an entity, separate and distinct from its members. 
The entity holds title to the assets.  A corporation may be either 
domestic or foreign. 
 
A domestic corporation operates and is incorporated in the state in 
which it is chartered.  Corporations Code §200 provides that 
applicants must file articles of incorporation with the SOS.  A 
corporate account number is issued by the SOS. 
 

 A foreign corporation operates in California and is incorporated in 
another state.  Corporations Code §2105 sets forth the filing 
requirements for foreign corporations.  The SOS will issue a 
certificate of qualification for a foreign corporation. 
 

 Copies or certified copies of articles of incorporation, statement of 
officers, or articles of organization may be obtained by submitting 
a request to the Special Procedures Section, Offset Group. 
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ENTITY 
VERIFICATION 
(cont’d.) 
 

Private Corporation: 
 
The term private corporation refers to a corporation founded by 
and composed of private individuals for private purposes. 
 

 Public Corporation: 
 
The term public corporation refers to a corporation created by the 
State for political purposes and to act as an agency in the 
administration of civil government. 

  
 Nonprofit Corporation:  

  
The term nonprofit corporation applies to any corporation formed 
for other than profit reasons.  A federal exemption under United 
States (U.S.) Code, Title 26 (Internal Revenue Code) §501(c)(3) 
must be obtained.  Examples include:  religious, charitable, and 
education institutions. 

  
 De Jure and De Facto Corporations: 

 
These issues arise only in the formation stage of the corporation. 
 
A de jure corporation is one that is organized in full compliance 
with all of the State requirements. 
 
A de facto corporation exists when there is insufficient compliance 
to constitute a de jure corporation. 

  
 Termination 

 
The corporate existence may be terminated by: 
 
• Voluntary dissolution 
 

• Involuntary dissolution 
 

• Proceeding by the State 
 
Suspension 
 
Suspension of a corporation for nonpayment of franchise taxes 
under §233011 of the Revenue and Taxation Code does not 
terminate the corporate existence.  The corporate entity remains 
the employing unit and legal entity that incurs liability under the 
UIC by reason of any employment of persons and payment of 
wages during the suspension period.  
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ENTITY 
VERIFICATION 
(cont’d.) 
 

OTHER ENTITY TYPES 
 
Association 
 
Corporations Code §21300 defines an association as including 
any lodge, order, beneficial association, fraternal or beneficial 
society or association, historical, military, or veterans organization, 
labor union, foundation, or federation, or any other society 
organization, or association, or degree, branch, subordinate lodge, 
or auxiliary thereof. 
 
Estate 
 
In case of death of a person, an executor of the estate may be 
named in a will.  If no executor is named, or if no will exists, courts 
may appoint an administrator of the estate.  Like trustees, 
executors and administrators are not usually considered 
employees of the estate, but perform services applicable under a 
fiduciary capacity.  A new EDD employer account number is not 
required unless employees are hired. 
 
Joint Venture 
 
A joint venture is the undertaking of two or more persons or 
entities jointly to carry out a single business transaction or 
operation.  Its existence depends on the intent of the parties.  A 
joint venture has neither a predecessor nor successor and the 
unity of enterprise theory does not apply.  The joint venture ceases 
when the specific reason for its formation is complete. 
 
Public Agency 
 
A public agency includes every governmental subdivision, district, 
public and quasi-public corporation, public agency and public 
service corporation, town, city, county, city and county, municipal 
corporation, whether incorporated or not. 
 
Trust 
 
A trust is the designation of a third party (trustee) to manage 
assets for the benefit of another party.  A new employing unit is 
created if employment services are performed for the trust. 
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FIRST 
PERSONAL 
CONTACT 
 

The EDD’s policy is to make timely contact with the taxpayer after 
case assignment.  In general, 15 days is considered to be a timely 
initial contact but may be adjusted, not to exceed 90 days, due to 
workload volume.  Adjustment of contact time frames requires 
management approval.  A representative’s primary goal is to make 
the first contact within this time frame and to gain full compliance 
with an early resolution.  Use of the telephone is generally the 
most cost-effective way of speaking with the taxpayer. 
 
Prior to contact, the following preparation is crucial: 
 
• Analyze the account and the liability 
 
• Prepare to explain the liability 
 
• Have questions ready to update missing account information 
 
• Anticipate questions and have the answers  
 
• Be familiar with:  
 

 The EDD’s policy on the Rosenthal Fair Debt Collection 
Practices Act, Civil Code §1788 through §1788.33 

 
 Confidentiality 

 
 Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights 

 
 The UIC and other California laws 

 
• Know the laws related to installment agreements and collection 

remedies 
 
• Determine owner to be contacted 
 
Making the contact: 
 
• Explain the purpose of your call.  Make a demand for 

immediate payment. 
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IDENTIFY THE 
TAXPAYER  

It is critical to speak to the person responsible for the payment of 
the liability.  Confirm that the person who is contacted is the 
owner(s), partner, responsible person, or authorized agent.  This 
may include someone having a power of attorney.  An individual 
responsible for payment may not include the person who prepared 
the tax return, unless that tax preparer also has check writing 
authority.  It is the responsibility of the employer to contact their 
accountant or bookkeeper for return adjustment information and to 
provide any power of attorney information.  
 

 

 
PAYMENT 
HISTORY 

Analyzing the payment history will provide data about the 
taxpayer’s past payment history and will assist in locating 
unapplied payments or payments that have resulted in a refund.  
 

 
 

 
PHONE 
CONTACTS 

Good communication requires the following skills: 
 

 

  

SKILLS 
 

 

DESCRIPTION 
 

 
  

Speak clearly 
 

Be precise and enunciate clearly. 
 

 

 

 
 

Keep it simple 
 

Communicate so the other person 
understands.  Avoid the use of legal or 
technical terms unless it is absolutely 
necessary.  Never use jargon or EDD 
acronyms that the customer may not 
understand. 
 

 

  

Be objective 
 

Do not allow personal thoughts or opinions to 
interfere with understanding the employer's 
financial problems. 
 

 

  

Do not presume 
to know 

 

Wait until there is sufficient information before 
making a decision and giving a response. 
Restate the conversation to ensure 
understanding. 
 

 

  

Stay focused 
 

Listen and understand what the taxpayer is 
trying to explain.  
 

 

  

Balance the 
communication 

 

Effective communication requires one speaker 
and one listener at a time.  Each should have 
ample time to speak or respond without 
interruption.  
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SKILLS 
 

 
DESCRIPTION 

 
 

PHONE 
CONTACTS 
(cont’d.)  

Never argue 
 

Keep the mood pleasant and professional.  
 

 

  

Summarize the 
outcome of the 
call 

 

Confirm agreements that have been reached, 
and the dates and amounts that are due.  Set 
up any follow-up dates if documents are to be 
provided. 
 

 

  

Ask the right 
questions 

 

Knowing when and how to ask specific 
questions is necessary.  
 

 

  

Use option 
thinking 

 

Consider all available alternatives to move the 
case forward to a rapid resolution. 
 
 

 

    
 A positive attitude contributes noticeably to performance, 

productivity, and good customer service.  It is a skill that is 
developed individually. 
 
Learn to use the tools and resources available to the maximum 
and consider all options available. 

 

   
 Practice and develop a mental approach and plan of action for 

collection work.  Knowing when and how to respond or initiate any 
necessary action is a prerequisite to becoming an effective 
collector. 
 

 

 
OFFICE  
MEETING 

 
Things to do before the taxpayer arrives: 
 
• Schedule interview room 
 
• Complete all the steps in reviewing and analyzing the account 
 
• Review all of the documents that were previously submitted 
 
• Prepare a list of questions 
 

• Determine additional information needed to resolve report 
delinquencies 
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PREPARATION 
FOR THE FIELD 
CALL 

Be prepared to discuss the problems with the taxpayer at the 
place or location of the field call.  
 
Items to take:  
 
• Proper identification and business cards 
 
• Contribution Receipt Book (DE 10) 
 
• Extra copies of forms the taxpayer may need 
 
• A current map  
 
• Signed Notice of Levy (DE 8500) without garnishee information 
 
Carry your items in an appropriate folder or carrying case.  
 

 Things to do prior to leaving for the field call: 
 
• Prepare a Field Personnel Daily Travel Report (DE 124) listing 

the scheduled field call and leave a copy at the office  
 
• Sign out  
 
• Conduct a safety check of the vehicle to be used.  If using a 

State vehicle, make sure the gas credit card, travel log, and 
accident report forms are in the glove compartment 

 
• Comply with additional office procedures and seek advice 

related to the business location 
 
• If available, check out a laptop 
 

 

   
RETURNING TO 
THE OFFICE 

Upon returning to the office, discuss any case issues or problems 
with the supervisor. 
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COLLECTION 
LETTERS 

Some taxpayers will respond to: 
 
• Telephone calls 
 
• Field visits 
 
• Letters 
 
Each collection case requires individual treatment.  Knowing when 
to use each type of contact is a skill that is acquired through 
experience. 
 
The EDD has several form letters that may be used when 
corresponding with a taxpayer.  The appropriate letter should be 
used.  Every letter will contain the name of the representative or 
other authorized person familiar with the case and the office 
address and phone number. 
 
Individually composed letters may be used in unusual 
circumstances when special handling is necessary.  This type of 
letter should be professional, factual, and concise.  Pre-approval 
by a supervisor is required. 
 
Collection letters should be mailed as follows: 

 
• Ordinary mail:  Used in most cases 
 
• Certified mail:  Used if proof of delivery is necessary 
 
• Certified mail with return receipt:  Used if it is suspected that 

the taxpayer has moved, and a receipt is needed to show the 
address of delivery  

 
• Overnight express:  Restricted to sending warrant instructions 

to the California Highway Patrol or a service of a pending 
subpoena duces tecum 
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ESCROW An escrow is the process used to transfer funds from a buyer to a 

seller when a sale or transfer of real or personal property takes 
place.  The escrow process guarantees that the property being 
purchased is free and clear of encumbrances. 
 
The escrow holder is required to withhold sufficient money from 
the proceeds of the escrow to cover any amounts due to the 
Employment Development Department (EDD).  Failure to withhold 
may make the escrow holder liable for the full amount of any 
Notice of State Tax Lien. 
 

 

 A sale or transfer, for EDD purposes, may be: 
 
• Business, with or without a liquor license 
 

• Excess funds 
 

• Home equity loans 
 

• Internal Revenue Service (IRS) surplus 
 

• Liquor license 
 

• Mortgage refinance 
 

• Personal property 
 

• Real property 
 
A Notice of State Tax Lien is recorded in the county where the 
property is located, and/or filed with the Secretary of State (SOS). 
 

 

 
 

This chapter covers the different types of demands for payment 
that are requested from: 
 

 

 • Attorneys 
 

• Banks 
 

• County tax collectors 
 

• Escrow companies 
 

• IRS  
 

• Owners 
 

• Private parties 
 

• Reconveyance companies 
 

• Title companies 
 

• Trustees in bankruptcy 
 

• Trustee services 
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The responsibility of issuing a demand and clearance has been 
divided as follows: 
 

 RESPONSIBILITY 
FOR DEMAND 
AND 
CLEARANCE 

 

TYPE OF SALE 
OR TRANSFER 

 

 
RESPONSIBLE AREA 

 

 

  

Business with a 
liquor license 

 

Special Procedures Section (SPS), Offset 
Group (OG) will handle the liquor license 
demand. 
 
The Audit program will handle the business 
demand. 
 

 

  

Business without a 
liquor license 

 

The Audit program’s Audit Area Offices 
handle these assignments for employers 
within their jurisdiction. 
 

 

  

Excess funds 
 

SPS, OG 
 

 

  

Home equity loans 
 

 

SPS, Lien Group (LG) 
 

  

IRS surplus 
 

 

SPS, OG 
 

  

Liquor license 
 

 

SPS, OG 
 

  

Mortgage refinance 
 

 

SPS, LG 
 

  

Personal property 
 

 

SPS, LG 
 

 

  

Real property 
 

 

SPS, LG 
 

  
Field personnel who have case assignments may be requested to 
assist in the escrow process.  
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SALE OF A 
BUSINESS 

Unemployment Insurance Code (UIC), Section (§) 1731 provides 
that any person or entity that acquires an employer’s business or 
assets shall withhold in trust sufficient money or other property to 
cover the employer's liability.  The withholding shall continue until 
the employer produces a certificate from EDD stating that no 
amounts are due. 
 
The UIC §1732 provides that upon the request of the seller or 
buyer, EDD shall issue a statement showing the amount due by 
the seller.  If EDD fails to issue the statement within 30 days, it is 
equivalent to stating that there is no amount due.  However, if 
EDD issues the statement, the buyer shall withhold and pay to 
EDD the amount due, not to exceed the purchase price. 
 
If EDD issues a certificate stating that no amounts are due or fails 
to issue an amounts due statement within the 30-day period, the 
seller is still responsible for any amount then or thereafter 
determined to be due.  However, the buyer is released from any 
further liability on the seller’s account. 
 
The UIC §1733 provides that any buyer that fails to withhold 
money or other property from the sale or fails to pay the amount 
withheld shall be personally liable for the employer’s amount due 
up to but not exceeding the purchase price. 
 
The EDD utilizes a Certificate of Release of Buyer (CRB) 
(DE 2220) to notify the buyer that they are released from 
responsibility. 
 

 

 ESCROW   NOTIFICATION 
 
When staff receives written notification of a pending business 
escrow, a copy of the notification should immediately be faxed to 
the appropriate responsible area.  Staff will inquire if sufficient 
funds are available to satisfy the EDD liability and, if so, may not 
initiate further collection activity. 
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SALE OF A 
BUSINESS 
(cont’d.) 

DEMAND AND CLEARANCE 
 
The Audit program is responsible for issuing escrow clearances 
on the sale of businesses.  Specific steps are located in the 
Program Support Handbook, Section 11-000. 
 
Escrow clearances are required when a business is either 
partially sold or sold in its entirety.  When there is a partial sale of 
a business, the demand for delinquent taxes will include the total 
tax liability due from the seller. 
 
Audit will contact the assigned staff immediately upon receipt of 
an escrow clearance demand.  The assigned staff may be asked 
for assistance on the account.  The responsibility for the issuance 
of the DE 2220 remains with Audit.  
   

 

 
 

STATEMENT OF AMOUNTS DUE 
 
Audit shall issue a Requirements for Certificate of Release of 
Buyer – Statement of Amounts Due Under Section 1732, UIC 
(DE 4874) showing the amount of any contributions, interest, and 
penalties claimed to be due.  The DE 4874 should include all 
liabilities due as well as estimated assessments, final or non-final. 
Estimated assessments should be issued for any missing returns, 
including periods not yet delinquent.  The DE 4874 is mailed to 
the escrow holder, with a copy to the seller. 
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SALE OF A 
BUSINESS 
(cont’d.) 

PAYMENTS 
 
The payment of any amounts demanded in the DE 4874 shall be 
submitted to Audit as directed.  
 
The amount due must be paid in the form of cash, cashier’s 
check, money order, or escrow check.  Checks written on the 
seller’s checking account will delay the escrow clearance until the 
check has cleared the account. 
 
If any other enforced compliance is in effect, that action must be 
terminated or modified after the funds are received.  Audit will 
notify the assigned staff that funds have been received.  
 
If sufficient funds are not available from the escrow process, 
collections should continue against the seller. 
 

 

 CERTIFICATE OF RELEASE OF BUYER 
 
A request for clearance on behalf of a buyer is granted using a 
DE 2220 when: 
 
• The seller is registered 
 

 No open delinquency case 
 

 No liabilities are due 
 

 No outstanding form delinquencies 
 

• The seller is not registered 
 

 The business has no employees 
 

 The business is a type that would not require employees 
 

• The seller is disposing of a portion of the business 
 

 A Notice of State Tax Lien secures the full amount of the 
EDD liability 

 

 The remaining portion of property is sufficient to secure the 
EDD liability  
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SALE OF A 
BUSINESS 
(cont’d.) 
 

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 
 
When the seller’s account has delinquent returns or missing 
payments, the buyer is notified that additional conditions must be 
met.  A DE 4874, with instructions to withhold an amount equal to 
the known delinquent taxes, plus any estimated amounts is sent 
to the escrow holder, with copies to each party.  Additional 
conditions may include: 
 
• Missing reports 
 

 Payroll Tax Deposit DE 88 (DE 88) 
 

 Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report (DE 6) 
 

 Annual Reconciliation Statement (DE 7) 
 

• Liability is due 
 

 A Notice of State Tax Lien covers all unpaid amounts 
 

 Liabilities are due that have not had a Notice of State Tax 
Lien filed 

 

• A final return is due 
 

 Final returns must be filed within ten days of closure of the 
business 

 

 

 It is important to remember that the release of a buyer does not 
release the seller if any liability is identified in the future. 
 

 

 FILE RETENTION 
 
All escrow information will be retained by Audit for one year.  
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EXCESS FUNDS The EDD may be notified of excess funds from foreclosure 

proceedings upon the real property of a taxpayer.  Any entity 
having a legal claim filed against the foreclosed property may file 
a claim after the property has been sold.  If funds remain over and 
above the claim of the foreclosure, those having junior liens will 
be paid from the excess funds according to their recording 
priority.  
 
The OG receives a copy of all notices of default and all notices of 
sale on properties having a Notice of State Tax Lien recorded.  
Claim information is provided and completed by OG. 

 

   
 
HOME EQUITY 
LOANS 
 

 
When a taxpayer applies for a home equity loan requesting funds 
from a financial institution based upon real property owned, the 
request and demand is processed as outlined in the Real 
Property section of this chapter. 
 

 

 
IRS SURPLUS 
 

 
The IRS will seize and sell assets when their tax liens have not 
been satisfied.  
 
If there are surplus funds from the sale, EDD may file a demand 
for these funds.  The OG prepares and monitors all IRS surplus 
demands. 
 

 

   
LIQUOR LICENSE When a business being sold has a liquor license, the following 

actions will be performed:  
  
• The OG will handle the sale of the liquor license only 
 

 The OG will contact the assigned staff to verify any 
outstanding delinquencies and to confirm the amount to be 
included in the demand   

 

• Audit will complete the escrow clearance process and issue a 
DE 4874 for any outstanding delinquencies 

 

 When Audit learns of a sale that involves both a business 
and its liquor license, they will notify OG by e-mail 
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MORTGAGE 
REFINANCE 

Taxpayers refinancing a mortgage on real property will need clear 
title.  When a Notice of State Tax Lien has been recorded, the 
lending institution will open an escrow and request a payoff 
demand of the Notice of State Tax Lien or a subordination of the 
Notice of State Tax Lien.  
 
When assigned staff are made aware of a taxpayer’s refinance 
action, advise the escrow holder to fax a demand request to LG.  
 

 

   
PERSONAL 
PROPERTY 

Personal property is described as any property that is not 
classified as real property.  Usually, the transferring of personal 
property is not handled through an escrow; however, the filing of 
a Notice of State Tax Lien with the SOS will provide notice to the 
buyer or a lender of delinquent tax liabilities. 
 
When a Notice of State Tax Lien has been filed with the SOS, the 
escrow will be processed by SPS, LG. 
 
Personal Property includes, but is not limited to: 

 

  
• Aircraft 
 

• Automobiles 
 

• Boats 
 

• Heavy equipment 
 

• Mobile homes 
 

• Office equipment 
 

• Recreational vehicles 
 

• Stock on hand 
 

• Tangible assets 
 

• Trucks 
 

• Vessels 
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REAL PROPERTY 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A title search will provide notice to an escrow holder or lender of a 
Notice of State Tax Lien encumbering real property.  All Notices 
of State Tax Lien must be paid and released before title to the 
encumbered property will be clear. 
 
When the escrow holder or lender is processing an escrow with 
respect to the encumbered property, they will send EDD a 
demand for a payoff amount or the release of the recorded liens. 
In response to the request, LG will prepare either a demand for 
the liability covered by the Notices of State Tax Lien, or a status 
letter advising that the Notices of State Tax Lien have been 
released.  The 30-day limitation described in UIC §1732 does not 
apply to the sale of real property. 
 
The demand request must be in writing and sent to: 
 
                Employment Development Department 
                Lien Group, MIC 92G 
                PO Box 826880 
                Sacramento, CA 94230-6880 
     
                                    Or 
 
                  FAX (916) 464-2711 
 
Correspondence regarding a demand related to real property and 
covered by a Notice of State Tax Lien must be directed to LG.  
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INVOLUNTARY 
COLLECTION 
DETERMINATION 

Involuntary collection action may be initiated if any of the following 
situations occur: 
 
• A taxpayer fails to: 
 

 Respond to notices or correspondence after contact has 
been established 

 
 Respond to telephone calls 

 
 Provide requested information 

 
 Remain current on an installment agreement or the 

payments made are returned as “non-sufficient funds or 
stop payment” 

 
 Negotiate an acceptable method of payment 

 
 Appear for an interview 

 

• If: 
 

 A jeopardy assessment has been issued 
 

 It is necessary to protect the Employment Development 
Department’s (EDD) interest 

 
 The taxpayer has a history of non-compliance 

 
 Statute of limitations is nearing expiration 

 
Care must be taken when referring to the appropriate involuntary 
action.  Staff should be aware of the legal requirements as to 
whether a liability is due or delinquent.  
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TYPE OF 
INVOLUNTARY 
ACTION 

Involuntary actions can be taken using the following methods: 
 
• Earnings Withholding Order for Taxes (EWOT), Jeopardy 

Withholding Order for Taxes (JWOT) 
 
• Interagency Offsets 
 

• Notice of Levy (NOL) 
 
• Special Procedures Referrals 
 
• Warrants 
 

 

  
IF IDENTIFIED ASSET IS 

 

 
METHOD OF ATTACHMENT 

 

 
 

 
Accounts receivable 
 

 
NOL – effective for one year 
 

 

 
 

 
Aircraft 
 

 
Warrant 
 

 

 
 

 
Assets requiring an 
execution sale 
 

 
Warrant 

 

 
 

 
Assignee for Benefit of 
Creditors 
 

 
NOL on the assignee to secure 
dividends that may be payable to 
the taxpayer, if the assignment has 
been recently terminated and there 
are funds to be returned 
   

 

  
Automobile 
 

 
Warrant 

 

  
Bank account 
 

 
NOL 

 

  

Boat/trailer 
 

Warrant 
 

 

  
Bonds: 
 
1. Surety 
 
2. United States (U.S.) 

Savings 
 
3. Security deposits by 

other agencies 
 

 
 
 
1. Claims filed by Special 

Procedures Group 
 
2. Not attachable 
 
3. Offset 
 

 

  
Campaign funds 
 

 
NOL 
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IF IDENTIFIED ASSET IS 
 

 
METHOD OF ATTACHMENT 

 

 

Cash in possession of 
taxpayer 
 

 

Warrant 
 

 

Cash in possession of third 
party 
 

 

NOL 
 

TYPE OF 
INVOLUNTARY 
ACTION 
(cont’d.) 
 
 

 

Cemetery plot, land held for 
sale 
 

 

Warrant 
 

 

 
 

Cemetery plot, taxpayer’s 
family/spouse 
 

 

Not attachable 
 

 

 
 

Certificate of deposit – 
matured 
 

 

NOL 
 

 

 
 

Church – bank account 
 

 

NOL 
 

  

Commissions plus salary  
 

 

EWOT/JWOT 
 

 

  

Commissions – straight 
 

NOL if individual is treated as an 
independent contractor 
 

EWOT if individual is treated as an 
employee 
 

 

  

Community property – other 
than wages 

 

Issue an NOL or Warrant 
depending on type of asset 
 

When enforcement is being taken 
against the community property of 
a spouse who is not a taxpayer or 
is not personally responsible for 
the liability, the NOL or Warrant 
must explain this fact. 
 

 

  

Consigned property – 
taxpayer’s 
 

 

Warrant 
 

  

Consignment sales – 
proceeds 
 

 

NOL 
 

 

  

Contracts payable to 
taxpayer 
 

 

NOL 
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IF IDENTIFIED ASSET IS 
 

 
METHOD OF ATTACHMENT 

 TYPE OF 
INVOLUNTARY 
ACTION 
(cont’d.) 

 
Denti-Cal payments  
 

 
NOL 
 

 

 
 

 
Disability Insurance (DI) 
benefits 

 
Not attachable for taxes – can be 
offset for a benefit overpayment 
  

 

  
Equipment 
 
• Sale of Equipment  
      

1. No escrow 
 

2. With escrow 

 
Warrant 
 
 
 

1. Warrant or NOL 
 

2. Issue a demand to clear the 
Notice of State Tax Lien 

 

 

  
Escrow funds: 
 
1. Amounts covered by a 

Notice of State Tax lien 
 
2. Amounts not covered by 

a Notice of State Tax 
Lien 

 

  
 
 
1. Issue a demand to clear the 

Notice of State Tax lien 
 
2. NOL 
   

 

  
Financial institution 
accounts: 
 
• Banks 
 
• Credit Unions 
 
• Savings and Loans 
 

 
NOL 

 

  
Funds held by Trustees in 
bankruptcy 

 
Not attachable, unless they are 
funds to be returned to the 
taxpayer, then use NOL 
 

 

  
Furniture and fixtures – 
commercial 
 

 

Warrant 
 

 

  
Furniture and fixtures – 
personal and residence 
 

 

Not attachable 
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IF IDENTIFIED ASSET IS 
 

 
METHOD OF ATTACHMENT 

 
 

TYPE OF 
INVOLUNTARY  
ACTION 
(cont’d.) 

 
Horse racing purse 
 

 
NOL 

 

  
Individual Retirement 
Account (IRA) 
 

 
Not attachable 

 

  
Inheritance 
 

 
Warrant 

 

  
Insurance dividends 
 

 
NOL 

 

  

Insurance proceeds – 
business: 
 
• Errors and Omissions 
 
• Malpractice Insurance 
 
• Fire Insurance 
 
• Interruption of Business 
 
• Personal Injury 
 

 

Warrant if proceeds are for 
personal property damage 
 
 

 

  
Interest 
 

 
NOL 

 

  
Lien on cause 
 

 
Refer to Special Procedures 
Group 
 

 

  
Life insurance policy – loan 
cash value 
 

 

Warrant 
 

  
Liquor – unopened 
 

 
Warrant 

 

  
Lottery – proceeds/winnings
 

 
Offset 
 

 

  
Machinery 

 
Warrant 
 

 

  
Medi-Cal payments 
 

 
Offset 

 

  
Mobile home – dealer sales 

 
Warrant 
 

 

  
Motor vehicles – on-road/ 
off-road  
 

 
Warrant 
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IF IDENTIFIED ASSET IS 
 

 
METHOD OF ATTACHMENT 

 TYPE OF 
INVOLUNTARY  
ACTION 
(cont’d.) 
 

 
Partnership property 

 
Warrant – Partnership property is 
not subject to levy for the 
individual debt of one of the 
partners incurred either prior to the 
formation or after the dissolution of 
a partnership 
 

 

  
Payments for services 
rendered to State agencies 
 

 
Offset 

 

  
Perishable items 

 
Warrant – Requires special 
consideration for storage, or 
board, care and maintenance, or 
immediate sale 
  

 

 
 

 
Personal property in 
warehouse 
 

 
Warrant 

 

 
 

 
Personal property being 
sold 

 
• Warrant prior to the sale  
 

• NOL to the buyer 
 

 

 
 

 
Progress payments 
(continuing periodic 
payments to taxpayer)  

 
• Warrant – effective for two 

years 
 
• NOL – effective for one year 
 

 

 
 

 
Promissory note 

 
Warrant 
 

 

 
 

 
Property in custody of the 
law 

 
Property that is no longer required 
for security and is to be returned to 
the taxpayer is subject to 
attachment; i.e., bail posted for a 
charge that has been cleared, 
property used as evidence, etc. 
 
See property types in this table for 
the method of attachment. 
 

 

  
Prosthetic and orthopedic 
devices – for taxpayer’s 
personal use 
 

 

Not attachable 
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IF IDENTIFIED ASSET IS 
 

 
METHOD OF ATTACHMENT 

 
 

TYPE OF 
INVOLUNTARY  
ACTION 
(cont’d.) 

 
Real property: 
 
• Land 
 
• Taxpayer’s personal 

residence, including a 
mobile home 

 
• Rental 
 

  
Warrant 
   
 

 

 
 

 
Recreational equipment 
 

 
Warrant 

 

  
Refunds from other State 
agencies 
 

 
Offset 

 

  
Rent 
 

 
NOL to each tenant 

 

 
 

 
Retirement funds 
 

 
Not attachable 

 

  
Rolling stock 
 

 
Warrant 

 

 
 

 
Safe deposit box 

 
Warrant with drilling instructions 
 

 

  
Sales tax deposit 

 
Not attachable unless being 
refunded, then offset prior to 
refund to the taxpayer 
 

 

 
 

 
Security deposits 
 

 
Offset 

 

  
Stock 
 

 
NOL 

 

  
Stock in trade 
 

 
Warrant 

 

  
Surplus funds from third 
party sale 
 

 
NOL 

 

  
Tangible personal property 
 

 
Warrant 
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IF IDENTIFIED ASSET IS 
 

 
METHOD OF ATTACHMENT 

 
 

TYPE OF 
INVOLUNTARY  
ACTION 
(cont’d.) 

 
Trailer(s): 
 
• Camping 
 

• Freight 
 

• Motor home 
 

• Utility 
 

• Vehicle transport 
 

 
Warrant 

 

 
 

 
Trusts – family 
 

 
NOL or Warrant 

 

 
 

 
Trusts – held for a third 
party 

 

Not attachable: 
 
• Federal regulations prohibit the 

attachment of payroll 
withholding 

 

• Special bond deposits for other 
taxing agencies 

 
Warrant: 
 
• Undisclosed beneficiary of a 

trust account 
 

 

 
 

 
Trusts – inmate 
 

 
Not attachable 

 

 
 

 
Trusts – living 

 
Refer to a Special Procedures 
Advisor 
 

 

 
 

 
Trusts – spendthrift 
 

 
Not attachable 

 

  
Unemployment Insurance 
(UI) benefits 

 
Not attachable for taxes – can be 
offset for benefit overpayments 
 

 

  

Vacation trust funds 
 

NOL – should be served at the 
time and place designated by the 
union 
 

 

  
Vehicles 
 

 
Warrant 
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IF IDENTIFIED ASSET IS 
 

 
METHOD OF ATTACHMENT 

 
 

TYPE OF 
INVOLUNTARY  
ACTION 
(cont’d.) 
 

 
Wages/Salaries 
 
• Private businesses 
 

• Private businesses 
operating on military 
bases 

 

• Military businesses with 
either private or federal 
employees 

 

• Federal employees 
 

• Post Office employees 
 

 
EWOT 
 
If the taxpayer is in the military, the 
base commander may also be 
contacted for assistance in 
collection. 
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STATE TAX 
LIEN/NOTICE OF 
STATE TAX LIEN 

As provided in Unemployment Insurance Code (UIC) Section (§) 
1703, a state tax lien is created on the date of the first system 
generated billing to the taxpayer of the amount due, the finality 
date of an assessment, or the date of the written notice of 
rescission provided under UIC §1875 for an Offers in 
Compromise (OIC).  Each of these dates is known as the lien 
arose date. 
 
In order for the lien to be effective against real property, 
Government Code (GC) §7171(a) allows the Employment 
Development Department (EDD) to record a Notice of State Tax 
Lien with the county recorder in the same county where real 
property is located.  Notices of State Tax Lien may be recorded in 
more than one county.  The GC §7171(b) and §7220 allows EDD 
to file a Notice of State Tax Lien with the Secretary of State 
(SOS) on personal property.  The EDD must record and/or file a 
Notice of State Tax Lien no later than ten years from the lien 
arose date. 
  
For a better understanding of this procedure, the following terms 
have specific meanings:  
 

 

  

TERM 
 

 

DESCRIPTION 
 
 

 
 

 

Create date 
 
Choate date 
 
Lien arose date 

 

These three terms are interchangeable and 
result from any of the following: 
 

• Date of discovery statement for an amount 
due 

• Finality date of an assessment 

• Date of an OIC rescission 
 

 

 
 

 

Filed 
 

Notice of State Tax Lien is filed with the SOS 
 

 

 
 

 

Lien 
 

An encumbrance upon an asset placed by 
creditors 
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TERM 
 

 

DESCRIPTION 
 

 
 

STATE TAX 
LIEN/NOTICE OF  
STATE TAX LIEN 
(cont’d.) 

 

Mother lien 
 

 

Original Notice of State Tax Lien 
 

  

Notice of State 
Tax Lien  
 

 

Public notice of a state tax lien 
 

  

Recorded 
 

Notice of State Tax Lien recorded with county 
recorder 
 

 
 

  

State tax lien 
 

Statutory lien authorized by UIC §1703 
 

 
 

  

Silent lien 
 

Statutory lien for which no paper has been 
issued 
 

 

 

 
 

Statutory lien 

 

Authorized by UIC §1703, a perfected and 
enforceable state tax lien.  Also known as a 
silent lien 
 

 
 
 

   
 
EMPLOYER 
NOTIFICATION 
 

 
The employer is notified on the Employer Account Statement 
(DE 2176) cycle statements of the consequences if the liability is 
not paid. 
 
The notification may read as follows: 
 
“Failure to pay the delinquent liabilities reflected on this statement 
may cause a Notice of State Tax Lien to be recorded against you 
pursuant to GC §7171.  A Notice of State Tax Lien constitutes 
public notice to your creditors and will encumber your real and/or 
personal property.” 
 
“Failure to immediately pay the delinquent liabilities reflected on 
this statement will cause a Notice of State Tax Lien to be 
recorded against you pursuant to GC §7171.  A Notice of State 
Tax Lien constitutes public notice to your creditors and will 
encumber your real and/or personal property.” 
 

 

 “A Notice of State Tax Lien has been filed against you as a result 
of your continued failure to pay your tax liability.  If the amount 
due is not paid immediately, additional involuntary collection 
action may be initiated, which includes seizure and sale of your 
business and/or personal property.” 
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REQUIRED 
INFORMATION 
 

Pursuant to GC §7171(c), the Notice of State Tax Lien recorded 
or filed shall include all of the following: 
 
1. The name* and last known address of the taxpayer 
 
2. The name of the agency giving notice of the lien 
 
3. The amount of the unpaid tax 
 
4. A statement that the amount of the unpaid tax is a lien on all 

real or personal property and rights to such property, including 
all after-acquired property and rights to property, belonging to 
the taxpayer 

 
5. A statement that the agency has complied with all of the 

provisions of the applicable law for determining and assessing 
the tax 

 
A Notice of State Tax Lien is not valid without the above listed 
information. 
 
*County recorders will not record a Notice of State Tax Lien with 
ETC or ETAL after the liable individual’s or corporate names. 
 

 

 
LIEN PRIORITY 
 

 
When sufficient funds are not available to clear all liabilities, 
priority must be established to determine the recipient of the 
funds. 
 
All statutory liens are subordinate to mechanic liens (Stop Order) 
as set forth in Civil Code §3193. 
 
The Notice of State Tax Lien recording date establishes priority 
when a general creditor’s lien is against the same person or entity 
as EDD’s lien. 
 
When priority for payment must be established between 
competing state tax liens or between a state tax lien and a federal 
lien, the first statutory lien that comes into existence has priority 
as provided in GC §7170.5. 
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PURPOSE OF A 
STATE TAX LIEN  
 
 

A recorded or filed Notice of State Tax Lien: 
 
• Allows EDD to obtain funds from an escrow 
 

• Establishes EDD’s priority with respect to third parties 
 

• Extends the time for taking involuntary action 
 

• Provides notice to the public of EDD’s lien and encumbrances 
of real and personal property 

 

 
 

 
COUNTY LIEN 
FEES 
 

 
The GC §7174(d) authorizes a lien release fee to be added to the 
taxpayer’s account.  The lien release fee amounts vary by county. 
An additional fee may be charged for each Notice of State Lien 
for the county’s retention and retrieval systems. 
 
The GC §7171(d) allows an additional fee for Notices of State Tax 
Lien with an out-of-state address. 
 
Each county bills EDD monthly for the recordation fees.  The Lien 
Group is responsible for authorizing and approving payment. 
 
There is no lien fee if EDD is recording a release for an erroneous 
lien. 
 

 

 
SECRETARY OF 
STATE FILING 
FEES 
 

 
The GC §7227 requires a fee of $2 for filing a certificate of 
release.  However, there is no fee for filing a certificate of release 
if the Notice of State Tax Lien is erroneous. 
 
The SOS requires that the fees be submitted with the releases 
that need to be filed. 
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EXTENSIONS Under the provisions of GC §7172(c), to prevent a recorded or 

filed Notice of State Tax Lien from expiring and to remain within 
the statute of limitations, a Notice of Extension of State Tax Lien 
must be recorded with the county recorder or filed with the SOS 
within ten years from the recording or filing date.  The ten-year 
period may be crucial; e.g., a Notice of State Tax Lien recorded 
on 2/3/99 at 1:55 PM is valid until 2/3/09 at 1:55 PM.  It has 
expired at 1:56 PM.  Any extension must be recorded no later 
than 1:55 PM on 2/3/09. 
 
California Constitution Article 13, §30 provides that every tax shall 
be conclusively presumed to have been paid after 30 years from 
the time it became a lien unless the property subject to the lien 
has been sold in the manner provided by the Legislature for the 
payment of the tax. 
 

 

   
NOTICE OF 
STATE TAX LIEN 
IDENTIFICATION 

The EDD’s liens are prefixed with a letter depending on when the 
Notice of State Tax Lien was issued.  The following table explains 
each letter of EDD’s liens: 
 

 

  
LETTER 

 

 
IDENTIFIES 

 

  

W 
 

Automated Notices of State Tax Lien began  
June 3, 1988. 
 

 

  

M 
 

Manual Notices of State Tax Lien began on April 3, 
1972.  The GC §7174(c) and (d) allows agencies to 
charge the taxpayer release of lien fees; and 
mandating that the agencies send the release of liens 
to the county recorder for recordation. 
 

 

  

P 
 

Manual Notices of State Tax Lien issued prior to 
April 3, 1972.  No lien fees – release of liens sent 
directly to the taxpayer to record with the county 
recorder. 
 

 

  

K 
 

Manual Notices of State Tax Lien issued from 
February 27, 1975 to September 30, 1986. 
 

 

  

N 
 

Manual Notices of State Tax Lien issued in the early 
1960s for a very short period of time. 
 

 

   



 

CHAPTER 7 STATE TAX LIEN/NOTICE OF STATE TAX LIEN 
 

EDD Tax Compliance Guidelines Revision 11/20/06 Page 6 of 7 
 
DE 83 (12-06) (INTERNET) 

 
LIEN RELEASES 
 

The GC §7174(c)(1) directs EDD to record a certificate of release 
in the office of the county recorder where the Notice of State Tax 
Lien is recorded not later than 40 days after the liability is 
satisfied. 
 
The GC §7174(e) mandates that Notices of State Tax Lien that 
are filed with the SOS must have one of the following actions 
taken no more than 40 days from the date of full satisfaction:  
 
• File a certificate of release with the SOS 

 
• Deposit in the mail or otherwise deliver a certificate of release 

to the taxpayer  
 
Release fees: 
 
• Individual counties bill EDD for release fees after recordation 

of the releases 
 

• The SOS requires full payment of the release fee prior to filing 
a release.  Special Procedures Section will send the fees with 
the releases 

 
The GC §7174(d) provides that the cost of recording the 
certificate of release is an obligation of the taxpayer and may be 
collected in any manner provided by law for the collection of the 
tax.  The EDD includes the fees in the penalty column of the 
Notice of State Tax Lien. 
 
In accordance with GC §7174(f), if payment for the liability is 
made by personal or business check, the 40-day period does not 
commence to run until the financial institution upon which it was 
drawn has paid the check. 
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ERRONEOUS 
LIENS  

A Notice of State Tax Lien is considered erroneous if it is 
recorded with the county recorder’s office, or filed with the SOS 
and one of the following conditions exist: 
 

• An incorrect employer name or entity was used 
 

• Recorded after the bankruptcy petition date 
 

• Liability was established in error 
 

 When an assessment is cancelled and the liability  
stated on the associated Notice of State Tax Lien 
represents the entire amount of the cancelled assessment 

 

• Petitioned assessments 
 

• Recorded after a taxpayer is deceased 
 

CAUTION:  A Notice of State Tax Lien may be recorded 
against a decedent’s estate.  Refer to Chapter 17, Probate, 
within this Manual. 

 

• Recorded after the liability is paid in full 
 

 
 

 
LIENS THAT ARE 
NOT 
ERRONEOUS 
 
 

 
Examples of situations where the Notice of State Tax Lien is not 
erroneous: 
 
• Payment is received after the recording date of a Notice of 

State Tax Lien 
 

• Recorded prior to dissolution of partnership 
 

• Part of the liability includes a cancelled assessment  
 

• Release of a partner in a partnership does not make the 
Notice of State Lien erroneous to the other partner.  Written 
proof is required to release a partner as erroneous; e.g., a 
copy of the dissolution of partnership papers with either a 
newspaper public notice or a statement with a notarized 
signature from the remaining partner 

 

• A business that is awarded to a spouse in a divorce.  The 
EDD was not a party to the divorce proceedings and cannot 
be bound by the decree  

 

 
 
 

 

 
FEE FOR 
ERRONEOUS 
LIEN RELEASE 

 
Pursuant to GC §27361.3 and GC §7227, EDD is exempt from a 
recording fee for the release of an erroneous Notice of State Tax 
Lien. 
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LICENSING The Business and Professions Code (B&PC), Section (§) 7145.5 

authorizes the Contractors State License Board (CSLB) to: 
 
• Suspend a current license 
 
• Deny a license renewal 
 
• Deny an application for a new license 
 
The above actions may occur if a licensee fails to resolve all 
outstanding final liabilities, which include taxes, additions to tax, 
penalties, interest, and any fees that may be assessed by CSLB, 
the Department of Industrial Relations, the Employment 
Development Department (EDD), or the Franchise Tax Board 
(FTB). 
 
When a contractor has violated the provisions of the 
Unemployment Insurance Code (UIC), EDD may apply to the 
CSLB for disciplinary action against the license holder. 
 

 
LICENSE 
REQUIREMENTS 

 
All businesses or individuals who construct or alter any building, 
highway, road, parking facility, railroad, excavation, or other 
structure in California must be licensed by the CSLB if the total 
cost (labor and materials) of one or more contracts on the project 
is $500 or more.  More information may be found in B&PC §7028 
and §7048. 
 

 
ISSUED TO 
CORRECT 
ENTITY 

 
B&PC §7065 states that a license may be issued to an individual, 
a partnership, a corporation, or a joint venture.  The license then 
is issued to the individual owner, to the partnership, to the 
corporation as it is registered with the Secretary of State (SOS), 
or to the combination of licensees who are party to the joint 
venture.  B&PC §7075.1(a) provides that a contractor’s license is 
not transferable. 
 
A license is issued to one individual or to one entity and cannot 
be used by another; e.g., a sole proprietorship would be in 
violation for using a license as an individual and as a responsible 
managing employee or a responsible managing officer in a 
corporation.  
 

 
If a partner leaves the business, the existing license is canceled. 
See B&PC §7076 regarding additional information on the 
cancellation of licenses.  
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VALID TIME 
PERIOD 

A contractor’s license is initially issued for a two-year period.  It 
will expire two years from the last day of the month in which it was 
issued.  Licenses may be renewed for an additional two-year 
period if active; or for a four-year period if inactive.  An inactive 
license is considered on “hold”.  While a contractor’s license is 
inactive, they may not practice as a contractor. 
 

 
REQUESTING A 
CSLB HOLD 

 
The following conditions must exist prior to requesting a CSLB 
license hold from Special Procedures Section (SPS), Offset 
Group:  
 
• The contractor must have a Contractor’s License.  A hold may 

be requested on a CSLB license that has been suspended by 
another agency or private individual 

 
• Assessments must be final and an Employer Account 

Statement (DE 2176) has been sent 
 
• For rescinded Offers in Compromise (OIC), a written notice of 

rescission and a notice of the amount of reestablished liability 
that is due and payable, as provided under UIC §1875(c), has 
been sent in the same name as the CSLB licensee 

 
 
• A demand letter notifying the contractor of EDD’s intention to 

request CSLB to suspend or delay license renewal shall be 
sent to the employer. See the sample on page 3 of this 
chapter 

 
It is not necessary for a Notice of State Tax Lien to have been 
filed or recorded prior to requesting a hold. 
 

 The CSLB has authorized EDD to request action and release on 
the same contractor’s license as many times as EDD deems it 
necessary.  If a license has been released due to the 
establishment of an installment agreement and a default causes a 
second hold to be placed, full payment is necessary for the 
second hold to be released. 
 
If staff discover an employer conducting business without a 
license, staff should send written notification to CSLB 
Headquarters, ATTN: Investigations. 
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SAMPLE OF DEMAND LETTER TO CONTRACTOR 
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FARM LABOR 
CONTRACTORS’ 
LICENSES 
 
 

A Farm Labor Contractor (FLC) as defined in Labor Code (LC) 
Section (§) 1682 (b) must be licensed by the Department of 
Industrial Relations’ Labor Commissioner as set forth in 
LC § 1683. 
 
The Employment Development Department (EDD) is authorized by 
Unemployment Insurance Code (UIC) §1141 to notify the Labor 
Commissioner that an FLC is delinquent in payment of worker 
contributions, State Disability Insurance or Personal Income Tax,  
either by self-assessment or by a final EDD assessment.  The LC 
§1690.1 authorizes the Labor Commissioner to refuse to issue or 
renew any license until the licensee has fully paid the amount of 
the delinquency. 
 
The Labor Commissioner must receive the request for stop order 
prior to the license expiration date.  
 
After a stop order has been issued, the Labor Commissioner must 
be notified in writing when the liability is paid or when acceptable 
arrangements for payment have been made. 
 

 

 
EXPIRATION  
DATES 
 
   

 
The LC §1688 provides that when a license is first issued, it shall 
run to the next birthday of the applicant.  Each license shall then 
be renewed within the 30 days preceding the licensee's birthday 
and shall run from birthday to birthday. 
 
In the case of partnerships, the oldest partner's birthday is used; 
and the anniversary date of incorporation is used for corporations. 
 

 

 
15-DAY DEMAND 
NOTICE 

 
A demand for payment in full may be sent to an FLC prior to 
requesting a stop order.  A sample demand is on page 2 and a 
sample stop order request is on page 3 of this chapter. 
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SAMPLE OF DEMAND LETTER TO FLC 
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SAMPLE OF STOP ORDER 
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INTERAGENCY 
OFFSETS 

An interagency offset is the result of one agency collecting a 
liability owed by a person or entity from any money due that 
person or entity by another agency.  The agency source falls into 
two categories: 
 
1. State 
 

• An agency within the State of California 
 

2. Federal 
 

• Department of Treasury 
 
State offsets are received from various State agencies and are 
deducted from monies paid for a variety of reasons. 
 
Federal offsets are deducted from federal income tax refunds and 
are a result of the Treasury Offset Program (TOP). 

 

   
   
STATE 
OFFSETS 

Government Code (GC) Section (§) 12419.5 authorizes the State 
Controller’s Office (SCO) to collect money due to one State 
department by a person or entity, by deducting the amount from 
any money that may be owing to such person or entity by another 
State department.  This procedure is called offset.  Requirements 
are defined in State Administrative Manual (SAM) §8790.1 
through §8790.5. 
 
The amounts payable to a person or entity may have resulted 
from: 

 

  
• A tax refund 
 

• Lottery winnings 
 

• License fees 
 

• Payment for services or materials furnished 
 
An allowable offset can be initiated on any final amount due or 
when a statement has been sent, except in the case of 
bankruptcies, assessments that are not final, and assessments 
that have been petitioned. 
 
A Notice of State Tax Lien is not required to be recorded with a 
county or filed with the Secretary of State (SOS) when requesting 
an offset.  The GC §12419.4 provides an immediate lien in the 
amount of the unpaid taxes against all property held or owned by 
other State agencies. 
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STATE 
OFFSETS 
(cont’d.) 

Pursuant to SAM §8790.3 and §8790.4, tax liability offsets may 
be made without a prior notice to the taxpayer. 
 

 

 There are four methods of offset: 
 

 

 1. Franchise Tax Board (FTB) 
 

• Personal Income Tax (PIT) refunds 
 

• Lottery winnings 
 

2. FTB Bank and Corporation tax refunds 
 

3. Board of Equalization (BOE) 
 

• Regular sales tax 
 

• Use fuel tax 
 

4. Other State agencies 
 
An offset overpayment CANNOT be held for future liabilities; i.e., 
the filing of delinquent reports in the future. 

 

   
   
FTB 
INTERAGENCY 
INTERCEPT 
COLLECTION 
PROGRAM 

The SCO must approve an agency’s participation in the 
Interagency Intercept Collection Program (Offset).  A written 
Request-to-Participate must be submitted to the SCO. 
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MULTIPLE PIT 
OFFSET 
PRIORITIES 

The GC §12419.3 directs that when multiple agencies request an 
intercept for the same taxpayer, FTB will channel any intercepted 
funds to agencies in the following order: 
 
a) The non-payment of child or family support accounts enforced 

by a local child support agency 
 
b) The non-payment of child or family support accounts enforced 

by someone other than a local child support agency 
 
c) The non-payment of spousal support accounts enforced by a 

local child support agency 
 
d) The non-payment of spousal support accounts enforced by 

someone other than a local child support agency 
 
e) The benefit overpayment accounts administered by the 

Employment Development Department (EDD) if no signed 
reimbursement agreement exists, or if two consecutive 
payments on a reimbursement agreement are delinquent at 
any time 

 
f) Other offset accounts in the priority determined by the SCO 
   

 

   
OTHER STATE 
AGENCIES’ 
OFFSETS 
 

Funds from the following cannot be offset: 
 
• Bureau of Unclaimed Property (this property does not belong 

to the State, but to the individuals) 
 

• *DentiCal 
 

• *Workers’ compensation awards 
 

• Refunds of retirement contributions 
 

• Unemployment Insurance (UI) or Disability Insurance (DI) 
benefits 

 
*These funds belong to private organizations. 
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SECURITY 
DEPOSITS 

Under the provisions of GC §12419.4, EDD is authorized to offset 
against: 
 
• Security deposits held by various State agencies’ treasury 

trust bank accounts 
 

• Bonds deposited by the agencies holding the items with the 
State Treasurer 

 
However, an offset against the security deposit may not be made 
until the deposit is due to be refunded to the taxpayer. 
 

 

   
FEDERAL LEVY 
 

The GC §926.8 provides that whenever a federal agency, in the 
collection of taxes or amounts owing to it, is authorized by federal 
law to levy administratively on credits owing to a debtor, it may file 
a certificate of claim with the State against funds owing by the 
State to such debtor.  When a request for payment is received 
under this procedure, any amounts due the State by the debtor 
are first offset before payment is made to the federal government.  
Subject to the provisions in GC §12419.4 and §12419.5, the SCO 
shall issue the warrants payable to the United States Treasury.  
Refer to SAM §8790.6 for SCO procedures. 
 

 

   
FEDERAL 
OFFSETS 

The TOP is a result of the Internal Revenue Service Restructuring 
and Reform Act of 1998 as set forth in Title 26, United States 
(U.S.) Code §6402(e) and Title 31, Code of Federal Regulations, 
Part 285.8.  This act allows the Secretary of the Treasury to offset 
federal tax refund payments to collect past due, legally 
enforceable state tax obligations reported to the Secretary of 
Treasury by states.  Effective January 1, 1999, the Internal 
Revenue Service (IRS) tax refund offset program was merged 
into TOP, operated by the Financial Management Service (FMS), 
a bureau of the U.S. Department of Treasury. 
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PRIORITIES 
FOR FEDERAL 
OFFSET 

Federal law indicates how a tax refund payment will be applied 
when a personal owner has debts with multiple agencies.  The 
payment priorities are mandated by Title 26, U.S. Code §6402(e).  
Before authorizing FMS to disburse a tax refund payment, the 
IRS will apply any amount of refund to federal tax liabilities of the 
taxpayer.  The tax refund payment will be reduced and applied to 
a taxpayer’s debts in the following order of priority: 
 
• IRS income tax liabilities 
 

• Past-due child support assigned to a state 
 

• Any past-due, legally enforceable debt owed to a federal 
agency 

 

• Past-due child support not assigned to a state 
 

• State tax liabilities 
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INTERIM 
REPORTING 

Interim reporting is accelerated reporting of subject wages and 
payment of contributions and withholdings.  Interim reporting may 
be required of the employer under the provisions of 
Unemployment Insurance Code (UIC) Section (§) 1115. 
 
Active employers may be placed on interim reporting to prevent an 
increase in their tax liability.  Interim reporting is used to assure 
that the employer remains current while liquidating delinquent 
liability.  The employer will be required to continue on interim 
reporting until all delinquent liabilities are satisfied and the financial 
condition of the business has stabilized. 
 
For ease of reconciliation and control, the reporting periods should 
coincide with the employer’s payroll period or be made at least on 
a monthly basis.  The Interim Contribution Return (DE 2858) will 
be used by the employer to file and pay interim returns at the 
designated field office. 
 
Employers that have been placed on interim reporting by the 
Employment Development Department (EDD) pursuant to 
UIC §1115 are not relieved of the deposit requirements under 
UIC §13021(c) and (d) for withholdings. 
 

 

   
REQUIREMENTS 
FOR INTERIM 
REPORTING 

Authority to require the filing of returns and payment of 
contributions at less than quarterly periods has been delegated by 
EDD’s Director to senior tax compliance representatives and 
above. 
 
The UIC §1115 requires any of the following findings: 
 
• The employing unit is insolvent  
 

• The employing unit is delinquent in a substantial amount of 
contributions due 

 

• The employing unit has discontinued or is about to discontinue 
business at any of its known locations 

 

• The business is of a temporary or seasonal nature 
 

• The collection of contributions will be jeopardized by delay 
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REQUIREMENTS 
FOR INTERIM 
REPORTING 
(cont’d.) 

When the interim reporting periods have been determined, a 
demand letter is sent to the employer as notification of the 
required filing periods.  The demand letter must provide the 
employer with at least ten days advance notice.  The initial interim 
report and payment will start at the beginning of the quarter and 
continue to the end of the next pay period that occurs after the 
demand letter is sent.  All interim reports and required 
contributions are due the first day after the end of the interim 
reporting period and become delinquent if not paid within ten days 
of the due date. 
 

 

 Example:  If an employer is placed on monthly interim reporting 
as of July 1 and the demand letter is sent August 17, the 
employer will be required to submit the first interim return 
covering the period July 1 through August 31 by September 1.  
If the interim report and payment are not received by 
September 10, a penalty of ten percent of the amount due plus 
interest will be added. 

 
The written notice shall be served in person or by mail.  If the 
notice is sent by mail, it should be sent by certified mail.  When 
possible, the notice should be hand delivered to the employer 
along with the reporting form DE 2858. 

 

  
The following actions must be accomplished by the case assignee:
 
• Prepare an interim reporting notice 
 

• Submit the notice to the supervisor for approval and signature 
 

 

 • Deliver the original notice to the employer 
 

 Include sufficient blank copies of the DE 2858 
 

 Hand delivery is recommended.  Otherwise certified mail is 
advised, but is not mandatory 

 

 

 Note the following information: 
 
• Interim reporting notice was issued 
 

• Date the notice was hand delivered or mailed 
 

• Date the first return must be received 
 

• Effective date of interim reporting 
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CONTROL  
 

A Schedule of Interim Returns (DE 2857) listing each DE 2858 
and Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) within that quarter will be 
maintained in the designated field office. 
 
If the DE 2858 is filed after the delinquency date, UIC §1112 
penalty on the contributions and the appropriate amount of interest 
will be added to the account. 
 

 

   
TERMINATION 
OF 
REQUIREMENT 

The case assignee will determine when to terminate the interim 
reporting requirement. 
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LIQUOR 
LICENSE HOLDS 
 
 

The Business and Professions Code (B&PC), Section (§) 24049 
authorizes the Employment Development Department (EDD) to 
request from the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) 
that a hold be placed on certain types of liquor licenses. 
 
A liquor license hold is a lien specifically on the liquor license.  A 
recorded Notice of State Tax Lien is not required. 
 
A hold establishes a priority to any monies received from the sale 
of the liquor license and prevents the transfer of a liquor license 
from the seller to the buyer until the conditions of the hold have 
been met.  In order to establish priority, an Order to Withhold 
Transfer of Liquor License (DE 271) must be on file with ABC.  
The hold is in effect until released or the liquor license is revoked 
by ABC. 
 
Holds may be placed on a liquor license if the taxpayer has an 
established liability with EDD. 
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TYPE OF 
LICENSE 

The types of liquor licenses that EDD may request a hold on are: 
 

 

  

TYPE 
 

 

DESCRIPTION 
 

  

20 
 

Off-Sale Beer and Wine – liquor license must be in a 
moratorium county 
 
B&PC §23817.5 Off-Sale Beer and Wine License 
Moratorium 
 
A countywide moratorium on the issuance of original Type 
20 licenses will exist after January 1, 1995 in 48 counties.  
There are ten counties where a countywide moratorium 
does not exist.  Call Special Procedures Section, Offset 
Group (OG) for further information. 
 

 

  

21 
 

Off-Sale General 
 

 

  

47 
 

On-Sale General Eating Place 
 

 

  

48 
 

 

On-Sale General Public Premises 
 

 

  

49 
 

 

On-Sale General Seasonal 
 

 

  

57 
 

 

Special/Seasonal 
 

 

    
 Holds may not be requested on the following types of licenses:  
    
  

TYPE 
 

 

DESCRIPTION 
 

  

40 
 

On-Sale Beer 
 

 

  

41 
 

On-Sale Beer and Wine for Bona Fide Public Eating Place
 

 

    
    
REQUESTING 
A HOLD 

Requests for ABC to place a hold on a liquor license are 
processed by OG. 
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LIQUOR 
LICENSE 
DEMANDS 

When a liquor license is to be sold or transferred and EDD has a 
DE 271 on file, the escrow holder must request a liquor license 
demand from EDD.  The OG is responsible for preparing the liquor 
license demand. 
 
When a business is sold and a liquor license is involved, a 
separate demand is issued for the liquor license proceeds.  The 
OG will prepare the liquor license demand and the Audit Office in 
the Field Audit and Compliance Division will prepare the business 
sale demand.  Escrow holders may not be aware of an ABC hold.  
If a request for an escrow clearance is received, notify OG 
immediately if a liquor license is involved. 
 
Delinquent reports should be obtained or a liability assessed prior 
to the issuance of a liquor license demand. 
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IF 
 

 

THEN 
 ESTABLISH 

LIABILITY FOR 
LIQUOR 
LICENSE 
DEMAND 

 

The employer is operating a 
diversified business on the 
same premises; i.e., restaurant, 
bar, and cocktail lounge 
 

 

Include liability covering all 
operations 

 

  

The employer has multiple 
licensed premises in California 

 

The entire liability of the entity 
should be included in the 
demand 
 

 

  

The seller is operating the 
business pending transfer of 
license 
 

 

Contact employer to obtain 
delinquent and/or final return(s) 
 

 

  

Required reports have not been 
received 

 

Prepare an Unemployment 
Insurance Code (UIC) §1126 
estimated assessment.  When 
the assessment has been 
mailed, include the amount due 
in the demand plus the 
UIC §1135 penalty on an 
assessment that is not final 
 

 

  

The employer is continuing in 
business until the expected date 
of transfer 

 

Prepare an assessment 
including estimated wages to 
the date of transfer 
 

 

  

A liability is incurred by an 
individual, other than the holder 
of the liquor license, who is 
using the liquor license being 
transferred 

 

The liability follows the liquor 
license.  The licensee is liable 
when another person is using 
their liquor license and a tax 
liability is incurred 
 

 

   
   
 



 

CHAPTER 12 LIQUOR LICENSE HOLD 
 

EDD Tax Compliance Guidelines Revision 11/20/06 Page 5 of 6 
 
DE 83 (12-06) (INTERNET) 

 
INSUFFICIENT 
FUNDS IN 
ESCROW  
PRO RATA 

If the demand for payment from EDD, the Board of Equalization 
(BOE), Franchise Tax Board (FTB), or a county with an unsecured 
property tax exceeds the amount of the funds in escrow, the 
various agencies will prorate the funds in escrow.  The pro rata 
demand is prepared by the agency with the largest liability.  Once 
agencies come to an agreement, a demand will be made to the 
escrow agent.  The OG will prepare an amended demand with 
EDD’s prorated liability amount. 
 
Since the entire liability was not collected from the seller due to 
the prorate on the liquor license, the remaining balance must still 
be collected from the seller.  With respect to the liquor license 
only, the buyer would not be liable pursuant to UIC §1733.  
However, the buyer may still be liable pursuant to UIC §1733 with 
respect to the purchase of other assets, if any. 
 

 

   
DISBURSEMENT 
OF MONEY IN 
ESCROW 

After the disbursement of funds to the agencies and/or counties 
with a hold, the remaining funds are distributed in the following 
order as directed by B&PC §24074: 
 
1. IRS and other taxing agencies 
 

2. Wages or salaries accrued prior to the sale, transfer, or 
opening of an escrow 

 

3. Payments of secured creditors 
 

4. Mechanics liens 
 

5. Escrow fees 
 

6. Payments on claims of goods sold 
 

7. All other claims reduced to court order judgments 
 

8. Payment of other claims 
 
Should EDD fail to file a DE 271 within the specified time limits, 
EDD would receive funds under priority number 8. 

 

   
   
PAYMENT 
RECEIVED 

When full payment in the form of cash, cashier’s check, money 
order, or certified check is received, release the hold.  Personal or 
business checks are not acceptable for immediate release. No 
written release is provided to the taxpayer. 
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TEMPORARY 
PERMIT 

The ABC may issue a temporary permit to allow a prospective 
buyer to operate pending the transfer of a liquor license.  This 
permit is good for 60 days and may be extended at the discretion 
of ABC for an additional 60 days.  The prospective buyer will be 
responsible for filing returns and paying contributions with EDD, if 
the buyer qualifies as an employer. 
 

 

   
SEIZURE AND 
SALE 

A liquor license is not subject to sale by execution as set forth in 
the Code of Civil Procedures §699.720(a)(1). 
 
The BOE or FTB may seize and sell the liquor license of a 
terminated business when the business is delinquent in the 
payment of taxes as specified in B&PC §24049.5. 
 
The IRS may seize and sell a liquor license subject to the payment 
of taxes specified in B&PC §24049.  The revenue officer may act 
in the capacity of the licensee when seizing and selling the 
license.  The officer can sign off the license for the licensee and 
also submit an application for the transfer of the license.  After 
finding a buyer, the provisions of the B&PC direct the revenue 
officer to open an escrow. 
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NOTICE OF LEVY  A Notice of Levy (NOL) is issued to attach the credits or personal 

property of any delinquent account.  This includes active, inactive, 
and Responsible Person accounts.  The issuance of an NOL is 
authorized by Unemployment Insurance Code (UIC) Section 
(§) 1755 and attaches funds as outlined in California Commercial 
Code §9102(a)(29). 
 
The NOL may be made upon:  
 
• Financial Institutions, including:   
 

 Banks 
 

 Savings and loan institutions 
 

 Credit unions 
 

 Trust companies 
 

The NOL requires that any funds held at the time of receipt of 
the NOL be remitted to the Employment Development 
Department (EDD). 

 

• Third Party Accounts Receivable 
 

A third party who has been served an NOL must surrender 
assets within five days after the assets are payable to the 
taxpayer.  

 

• Credit Card Processors 
 

NOLs remain in force for one year, and may be renewed. 
 

 

 UIC §1755 directs that the NOL be served in person or by 
certified mail: 
 
• Not later than three years after the payment of any 

contributions, penalties, or interest became delinquent.  Only 
during this period is a recorded Notice of State Tax Lien not 
necessary 

 
or 

 
• Within ten years from the recording of a judgment or the filing 

of a Notice of State Tax Lien 
 
A stop notice (mechanics lien) has priority over an NOL as 
outlined in California Civil Code §3193.  
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DETERMINE 
LIABILITIES 

The amount shown may include non-final amounts. 
 
Pre-approval of all NOLs is required by a Tax Compliance 
Supervisor or lead. 
 

 

 
ISSUANCE 

 
The Notice of Levy (DE 8005) is a four-part form.  Two copies 
and the ANSWER copy are mailed or served.  The fourth copy is 
retained for processing.  
 

 

 
MAILING 

 
To mail the NOL: 
 
• Remove the file copy and retain 
 
• Place the NOL in the certified mail basket 
 
• Send green return receipt if other than a bank or financial 

institution 
 
• Enter information in certified log book, if applicable 
 

 

 
HAND  
DELIVERY  
 

 
Have the recipient sign and date the office file copy.  If the 
garnishee will not sign, note that fact and sign and date the file 
copy.  
 

 

 
RESULTS 

 
When a response to the NOL is received, use the following table 
to determine the next action: 
 

 

 
 

 
IF 
 

 
THEN 

 

 
 

 
A partial payment or 
payment in full with 
guaranteed funds is 
received from other 
than the NOL 
 

 
Issue an Amendment to Notice of Levy 
(DE 8016).  On accounts receivable 
NOLs, issue a DE 8016 to each account 
receivable.  Refer to Release or 
Modification on page 5 of this chapter. 
 

 

 
 

 
Failure to remit 

 
UIC §1757 provides that failure to 
surrender credits or other personal 
property shall make that person liable for 
the value of the credits or other personal 
property up to the amount specified in the 
NOL. 
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RESULTS 
(cont’d) 

 
IF 
 

 
THEN 

 

  
Failure to respond 

 
Contact the recipient of the levy to verify 
receipt and emphasize the instructions on 
the front of the NOL. 
 

 

  
Negative response 
 
• Taxpayer not 

identified 
 
• Unable to locate 
 
• No funds at this 

time 
 

 
 
• Communicate with the payee 
 
 
• Supply specific personal information 
 
 
• Issue another NOL 

 

 
 

 
Taxpayer has filed 
bankruptcy 

 
Verify the exact date and time of the 
bankruptcy filing.  EDD will not 
automatically release an NOL when the 
taxpayer files bankruptcy after the NOL is 
served. 
 

 

   

   

PROCESS 
PAYMENTS 

When payments are received in response to an NOL: 
 
• Prepare a Remittance Advice (DE 350) unless either: 
 

 Cash is received 
 

 The payer of the NOL requests an official contribution 
receipt 

 
In the above two cases, prepare a Contribution Receipt 
(DE 10). 

 
• Specify where the payment is to be applied 
 
• Post payment to a Collection Card (DE 735) if payment is 

received for a UIC §1733 or UIC §1735 assessment 
 
• Prepare a DE 8016 to release all accounts receivable NOLs 

when account is paid in full 
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RELEASE OR 
MODIFICATION  
 

The DE 8016 is a three-part form used to modify or release an 
NOL.  An NOL may be released in whole or in part.  Upon 
modification or partial release, the party levied upon shall be 
instructed by mail that the sum is released and that the balance 
of the account must be paid in accordance with the original NOL.  
Type a DE 8016 with the following information: 
 

 

  
FIELD 

 
INFORMATION 

 
 

 
 

 
Refer to: 

 
Contact person’s name 
 

 

 
 

 
Name and address area 
 
Re: Notice of Levy dated
 
Tax Debtor 
 
EDD Account No 
 
Amount  
 

 
The same as on the original NOL 

 

 
 

 
Check boxes 

 
Check the appropriate box and fill in 
the blank line: 
 
• Remit amount held 
 
• Amount is reduced to 
 
• Unconditionally released 
 
• Conditionally released 
 
In the Comment field, enter the 
modification information: 
 
• Type in the specific check number, 

payee, and amount in the 
comments section 

 
• Releasing one account of several 

that were attached 
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OFFERS IN 
COMPROMISE 
 
 

Unemployment Insurance Code (UIC), Section (§) 1870 through  
§1875 on Offers in Compromise (OIC) became effective 
January 1, 1994.  An OIC allows the Employment Development 
Department (EDD) to enter into an agreement with qualified 
taxpayers to accept partial payment in satisfaction of the full 
liability for unpaid amounts due when it is determined to be in the 
best interest of the State.  A determination not to accept an OIC is 
not subject to administrative appeal or judicial review.  No claim for 
refund of amounts paid pursuant to an OIC may be filed. 
 
This program allows a qualified applicant to satisfy a payroll tax 
liability with EDD at less than full value. 
 
Submission of an offer does not suspend collection action on a 
liability.  If EDD has previously agreed to an installment 
agreement, those payments must continue.  Notices of State Tax 
Lien, offsets, and Earnings Withholding Orders for Taxes (EWOTs) 
will remain in place until all terms of the offer are met, including 
payment in full of the offered amount. 
 
The OIC process is centralized in the Offers in Compromise Unit 
(OICU) in Special Procedures Group. 
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CONDITIONS 
REQUIRED FOR 
CONSIDERATION 
 
   

The UIC §1870(a) states that an employer or any individual 
assessed under UIC §1735 who owes delinquent contributions, 
withholdings, penalty, or interest to EDD may enter into an OIC 
agreement under the following conditions: 
 
• Only liabilities of: 
 

 Out-of-business accounts 
 

 Individuals assessed under UIC §1735 or partners, only if 
the assessed individual or the partner no longer has a 
controlling interest or association with the business that 
incurred the liability 

 

• Applicant does not have access to current income sufficient to 
pay more than the accumulating interest and 6.7 percent of the 
outstanding liability annually 

 

• Applicant does not have prospects of acquiring increased 
income or assets which would enable the liability to be paid 
within a reasonable period 

 

• Applicant does not have assets, whether or not subjected to a 
Notice of State Tax Lien by EDD, which if sold, would satisfy 
the liability 

 

• The amount offered is more than EDD could expect to collect 
through involuntary means within four years after the offer is 
made 

 

• The compromise offer must be submitted in writing by 
completion of an Offer in Compromise Application (DE 999A) 
and accompanied by cash, a cashier’s check, or money order 
equal to the amount offered in a compromise return 

 

• Only non-petitioned, final tax liabilities will be considered 
 

• Liabilities that arose as a result of fraud or actions that resulted 
in a criminal conviction under the UIC shall not be 
compromised 

 
The UIC §1870(b) allows EDD to permit the approved offer 
amount be paid in installments, not to exceed a five year period, if 
the applicant does not have the ability to pay in full. 
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FORGIVING 
AMOUNTS OF 
$10,000 OR 
MORE 

Any agreement that reduces the liability by $10,000 or more shall 
not be effective until it is reviewed and approved by the California 
Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board (CUIAB).  Based on the 
file submitted by EDD, the CUIAB will review and determine if all 
OIC conditions are satisfied. 
 

 

 
CASE 
ASSIGNMENTS 

 
The purpose of an OIC assignment is to investigate the validity of 
the request and make a recommendation for approval or denial of 
the request. 
 
When an OIC application is received, an OIC case is opened.  If 
there is an open delinquency collection case assignment, that 
collection case remains assigned to the office of record.  The 
OICU investigates only the application for the OIC and does not 
take any collection action.  Any collection actions that were 
previously processed remain in effect, pending notification to the 
assignee of any determinations made by OICU staff.  This includes 
EWOTs, Notices of Levy, warrants, offsets, and installment 
agreements.  Funds received from actions initiated prior to the final 
approval of an offer do not apply toward the offered amount.  The 
delinquency case assignee is responsible for securing and 
resolving all form delinquencies and non-monetary problems prior 
to the OIC application being processed. 
 
An agreement to accept partial payment in satisfaction of a liability 
does not relieve any other taxpayers of the obligation to liquidate 
the remaining unpaid balance due.  If one partner or UIC §1735 
responsible person is under an OIC agreement and the remaining 
party isn’t, the case assignee continues with collection activity for 
that partner or UIC §1735 responsible person.  Collection action or 
potential collection action against any other partners, corporate 
officers, or responsible persons may be pursued. 
 

 

   
APPROVED 
APPLICATIONS 

The OICU is responsible for opening an OIC case when the 
application is received. 

 

   
 When the OIC is granted final approval, OICU will transfer the 

case.  The OICU will monitor the OIC payments until the 
compromise is satisfied in full. 
 
Collection action may continue on any party in a business who is 
not under a current OIC agreement. 
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DENIED 
APPLICATIONS 

The OICU shall notify the applicant, in writing, of a denied 
application.  The denial letter will contain a statement requesting 
that the taxpayer contact the assigned field office as soon as 
possible to arrange payment of the liability. 
 

 

   
RESCISSION An OIC may be rescinded after it has been accepted.  The OICU 

will rescind the agreement if it is determined that any person 
willfully did any of the following: 
 
• Concealed from any officer or employee of the State any 

assets or property belonging to the estate of the applicant or 
other person liable with respect to the tax liability 

 

• Received, withheld, destroyed, mutilated, or falsified any book, 
document, or record 

 

• Made any false statement relating to the estate or financial 
conditions of the applicant or other person liable in respect to 
the tax liability 

 

• Failed to pay any tax liability owed to EDD for any subsequent, 
active business in which the applicant or individual who 
previously submitted the OIC has a controlling interest or 
association 

 

• Failed to pay the compromised amount as agreed 
 
If an OIC has not been satisfied and the Notice of State Tax Lien 
has not been released, the statute of limitations has not changed 
with respect to the liability. 
 

 

   
PROCESSING A 
RESCISSION 

An applicant who has an offer rescinded may not request or apply 
for a subsequent OIC. 
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INSTALLMENT 
AGREEMENTS 

Taxpayers have a legal obligation to report and pay contributions 
and withholdings when due.  If a taxpayer becomes delinquent in 
the payment of amounts due, the Employment Development 
Department (EDD) will take appropriate action to collect the full 
amount immediately.  The EDD recognizes that there are 
situations where it is in the best interest of the State and the 
taxpayers of California that an installment agreement to liquidate 
amounts due over a period of time is allowed. 
 
An installment agreement may be requested by phone, by letter, 
or by completing an Installment Agreement Request (DE 927B).  
Taxpayers are to be informed that requesting an installment 
agreement will not prevent a Notice of State Tax Lien from being 
filed and that EDD will continue to offset any State agency and 
federal tax refunds during the payment period.  Any payment 
received from these sources will be in addition to the payment 
terms of the agreement.  The taxpayer’s liability must be liquidated 
as quickly as possible.   

 

   
   
TYPES OF 
AGREEMENTS 

There are two types of installment agreements authorized by EDD; 
short-term and long-term.  Both types require the taxpayer to file 
all delinquent reports, and to file and pay future deposits and 
reports before the date they become delinquent.  If an audit 
assessment is issued after an agreement has been reached, the 
terms of either type of agreement may be renegotiated, allowing 
additional time to pay the assessment. 
 
Short-term Agreement 
 
An EDD representative will review the account history and any 
information received.  If the tax liability is less than $25,000 for an 
active business or $10,000 for an inactive business, a short-term 
installment agreement may be established during the initial 
contact.  The taxpayer must indicate verbally or in writing that the 
liability will be paid within one year (or 18 months for an audit 
assessment). 
 
Approval of a short-term agreement is based on the judgment of 
the staff or their supervisor, and may not be approved for 
taxpayers with a history of multiple delinquencies.  A short-term 
agreement will not be granted in cases involving fraud. 
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TYPES OF 
AGREEMENTS 
(cont’d.) 

Long-term Agreement 
 
When a taxpayer is unable to pay the balance due within the time 
and monetary limits specified for a short-term agreement, 
additional information is required for consideration of a long-term 
agreement.  Appropriate staff will review all necessary documents 
and information. 
 
The taxpayer must submit a written request that includes: 
 
• An explanation of how the liability was established 
 

• What action has been taken to resolve the liability 
 

• How the taxpayer plans to keep current on future financial 
obligations to EDD (applies only to active accounts) 

 

• Financial information on business as well as personal assets 
 

 A Financial Statement (DE 926B), used for individuals, and 
a Financial Statement for Businesses (DE 926C) are 
available but any recent financial statement which has the 
same data is acceptable 

 
In addition, the taxpayer must include a good faith payment.   

 

   
 Audit Assessment 

 
When the liability is the result of an audit assessment, and the 
taxpayer is unable to pay in full, EDD may allow up to 18 months 
to pay in full with a short-term installment agreement.  If the 
taxpayer is currently in an agreement, the terms may be 
renegotiated.  The audit assessment and the account balance 
must be considered separately when determining the type of 
installment agreement the taxpayer qualifies for.  The audit portion 
of the liability may be paid in installments, not to exceed 18 
months.  Any other amounts must follow the guidelines for 
short-term or long-term agreements.  Short-term agreements may 
be negotiated by the auditor as part of their audit.  When other 
liabilities exist or the taxpayer requests a long-term agreement, the 
auditor will refer the taxpayer to the compliance representative 
assigned to the collection case. 
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REFERRALS 
FROM FIELD 
AUDIT AND 
COMPLIANCE 
DIVISION 

Requests for installment agreements may be received in Field 
Audit and Compliance Division (FACD).  The first payment will be 
accepted, a DE 927 will be signed, and the phone number and 
address of the office where the agreement will be referred will be 
given to the taxpayer. 
 
Installment agreements may be accepted from a telephone 
communication.  The agreement will be finalized and a DE 927 
sent to the taxpayer for signature.  The agreement will reflect the 
appropriate payment address. 
 
The Unemployment Insurance Code (UIC), Section (§) 1135 
penalty must be included when determining if an assessment 
balance qualifies for short-term installment agreement limitations. 

 

   
   

 

ACTIVE ACCOUNTS 
 

 REQUIRED 
DOCUMENTATION 
AND APPROVAL  

AGREEMENT TIME 
PERIOD 

 

  
MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 

 

  

Short-term  
 

Less than one year 
 

and 
 

Less than $25,000 
 
 
 
 

 

 
Short-term agreements 
for audit assessments 
may be allowed an 
additional six months to 
pay with supervisor 
approval. 
 

 

• Signed DE 927 or letter detailing the 
payment plan 

 
• Good faith payment 
  
• Start date of the agreement will be no 

more than ten working days after 
verbal agreement has been 
established 

 
• If the entity is a corporation and the 

balance is more than $10,000 of 
assessable liability, a Corporate 
Information Questionnaire (DE 204) 
establishing the liability of corporate 
responsible persons 

 
• All delinquent forms 
 
• Approval may be made by the case 

assignee 
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ACTIVE ACCOUNTS 
 

 REQUIRED 
DOCUMENTATION 
AND APPROVAL 
(cont’d.) 

 

AGREEMENT TIME 
PERIOD 

 

  
MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 

 

  
Long-term 
 

More than one year 
 

or 
 

Over $25,000 

 
The following items are required in 
addition to those outlined for short-term 
agreements: 
 
• Written explanation of the financial 

difficulties being experienced, a plan 
to stay current, and a plan to liquidate 
outstanding liability 

 
• Financial statement(s), personal 

and/or business, with documentation 
of financial status; i.e., loan denials, 
tax returns, bank statements, 
accountant’s financial reports, etc. 

 

• Full listing of all accounts receivable 
showing name, address, and the 
amount owing to the taxpayer 

 
• Supporting documentation of financial 

statement entries, if additional 
information is needed 

 

• Approval by a tax compliance 
supervisor or tax administrator II 
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INACTIVE ACCOUNTS 
 

 REQUIRED 
DOCUMENTATION 
AND APPROVAL 
(cont’d.) 

 

AGREEMENT TIME 
PERIOD 

 

 
MINIMUM DOCUMENTATION 

 

  

Short-term  
 

Less than one year 
 

and 
 

Less than  $10,000 
 

Short-term agreements 
for audit assessments 
may be allowed an 
additional six months to 
pay with supervisor 
approval. 
 

 

• Signed DE 927 or letter outlining the 
installment agreement 

 

• Good faith payment 
 

• Start date of the agreement will be no 
more than ten working days after 
verbal agreement has been 
established 

 

• Approval by the case assignee  
 

 

  

Long-term 
 

More than one year 
 

and 
 

More than  $10,000 

 

The following items are required in 
addition to those outlined for short-term 
agreements: 
 
• If the entity is a corporation and the 

balance is more than $10,000 of 
assessable liability, a DE 204 
establishing the liability of corporate 
responsible persons 

 

• Written explanation of how the liability 
was created 

 

• Financial statement(s), personal 
and/or business, with documentation 
of financial status; i.e., loan denials, 
tax returns, bank statements, 
accountant’s financial reports, etc. 

 

• Supporting documentation of financial 
statement entries, if additional 
information is needed 

 

• Approval by a lead senior tax 
compliance representative or tax 
compliance supervisor 
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ACCEPTANCE  
 

When an installment agreement is accepted, notify the taxpayer 
that the agreement has been approved and the following 
conditions apply: 
 
• All future deposits and reports are to be filed and paid timely to 

EDD 
 
• A Notice of State Tax Lien will be filed on all unpaid liabilities 
 
• EDD will take immediate involuntary collection action if the 

agreement is not kept, or an unreported improvement in 
financial condition is discovered 

 

• EDD will continue to offset any State agency and federal tax 
refunds 

 

• A new financial statement must be provided after 12 months 
 

• The taxpayer must immediately notify the EDD representative 
when a significant improvement or deterioration in their 
financial circumstances occurs  

 
If an audit assessment is issued after an installment agreement is 
in effect, the agreement may be renegotiated, unless a penalty 
was applied under UIC §1128.  

 

   
   
DENIAL  Contact the taxpayer with an explanation of the denial.  
   
   
MONITORING 
 

The office accepting the agreement will record the payment terms.  
The installment agreement will remain in effect for the time period 
negotiated unless the taxpayer fails to meet the agreed upon 
terms. 

 

   
   
   
 



 

CHAPTER 15 INSTALLMENT AGREEMENTS 
 

EDD Tax Compliance Guidelines Revision 11/20/06 Page 7 of 7 
 
DE 83 (12-06) (INTERNET) 

 
DEFAULT  
 

Involuntary collection action will be taken immediately if the 
taxpayer defaults on the agreement. 
 
A default will occur under the following conditions: 
 
• The taxpayer fails to send the payment 
 

• The payment is not timely 
 

• The payment is less than the amount agreed upon 
 

• A check is returned by the bank for non-payment 
 

• An active taxpayer fails to file required tax forms on a timely 
basis without just cause 

 

• An active taxpayer fails to submit a timely Payroll Tax Deposit 
DE 88 (DE 88) 

 

• An active taxpayer fails to submit an Interim Contribution 
Return (DE 2858) when specifically required as a condition of 
the agreement 

 

• The taxpayer provided false, inaccurate, or incomplete 
information  

 

• Taxpayer fails to inform EDD that their financial position has 
improved 

 

If the taxpayer voluntarily provides updated financial 
information, the terms of the agreement may be renegotiated 
 

• A taxpayer fails to pay current taxes by the due date, incurring 
additional liability after the agreement is negotiated 
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ASSIGNMENT 
FOR BENEFIT OF 
CREDITORS 

Assignment is the transfer of a claim, right, interest, or property.  A 
general assignment for benefit of creditors is the transfer of all, or 
substantially all, of the taxpayer’s (assignor’s) property to another 
person in trust (assignee) to: 
 
• Collect any money owing to the taxpayer 
 

• Sell the property 
 

• Distribute the proceeds to the creditors 
 

• Return the surplus proceeds, if any, to the taxpayer 
 
A transfer of property to secure a debt, not intended as an 
absolute disposition of the property, is not an assignment for 
benefit of creditors. 
 
The assignment may be made voluntarily by an employer to: 
 
• Secure assets from attachment by creditors 
 

• Assist the employer to remain solvent 
 

• Avoid the filing of bankruptcy 
 
Unemployment Insurance Code (UIC) §1701(b) provides that the 
employer and employee contributions that are required to be paid 
by an employer, together with interest and penalties, shall be 
satisfied first whenever the employer makes a voluntary 
assignment of assets. 
 

  
RECEIVERSHIP A receivership is a legal proceeding in which a receiver is 

appointed for an insolvent corporation, partnership, or individual.  
A receiver is a person appointed by a court to take into custody the 
property or funds of others and manages the property in litigation. 
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NOTIFICATION Notification of receivership or assignment for benefit of creditors 

may be received in Collection Division (CD).  This information may 
be supplied by any of the following: 
 
• Wholesalers 
 

• Credit associations 
 

• Board of trade 
 

• Credit managers association 
 

• Employers 
 
Bankruptcy Group should process all accounts involving 
receiverships or assignments for benefit of creditors.  Bankruptcy 
Group will file all claims in order to protect the Employment 
Development Department’s (EDD’s) interests and will handle all 
necessary follow-up actions. 
 

  
DUTIES AND 
RESPONSIBILITIES 

The UIC §1090(a) requires that every receiver, assignee, or other 
representative of an insolvent employer shall send a written notice 
of the following to EDD within 30 days of assuming office: 
 
• Name and address of the taxpayer 
 

• Name and address of the receiver, assignee, or other 
representative 

 

• Other information as may be required by the Director 
 
The UIC §1736 provides that in addition to other penalties, failure 
to file the notice required by UIC §1090 shall cause the assignee, 
receiver, or other representative of an insolvent employer to be 
personally responsible for all loss in contributions, penalties, and 
interest attributable to such failure.  This liability may be enforced 
by civil action in the name of the State of California against the 
assignee, receiver, or other representative of the insolvent 
employer. 
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EDD FILING 
TIME FRAMES 

The EDD’s claim must be filed within four months after the mailing 
of the notice from the receiver or assignee. 
 
Prior to the filing of the claim, Bankruptcy Group must ensure that 
all missing returns are resolved. 

  
  
INITIAL 
PROCESSING 
AND TRANSFER 
OF CASES TO 
BANKRUPTCY 
GROUP 

Upon receipt of a notification of receivership or assignment for 
benefit of creditors, the following actions must be taken: 
 
• Determine if the named entity is an employer or a responsible 

person (RP) assessed under UIC §1735 
 

 If the entity is not an employer or RP 
 

 Reply if requested 
 

 Discard document 
 

 If the entity is an employer or RP 
 

 Write the employer account number in the upper 
right-hand corner of the documents 

 

 Include any related account numbers 
 

 Forward the notice to Bankruptcy Group 
 

• Determine if previous assignment or receivership action was 
taken 

 

 If yes 
 

 Send notice or correspondence to Bankruptcy Group 
 

 If no 
 

 Enter the following information: 
 

 Name and address of receiver or assignee 
 

 Date receivership or assignment was filed 
 

 Receivership or assignment number 
 

 Superior court  (for receivership) 
 

 Name of plaintiff  (for receivership) 
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INITIAL 
PROCESSING 
AND TRANSFER 
OF CASES TO 
BANKRUPTCY 
GROUP 
(cont’d.) 

If a case exists, the assigned individual shall resolve all 
outstanding collection actions and transfer the case to Bankruptcy 
Group. 
 
An assignee or receiver may or may not accept claims in their 
cases.  Claims that are accepted will have all current liability 
submitted with interest computed through the end of the current 
month of the date of the claim. 
 
The claim will include a breakdown of tax claimed, showing the 
period covered and the amount of tax, penalty, and interest. 
 
The claim must be filed before the last timely date and include all 
account numbers and related account numbers. 
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PROBATE 
 
 
 

Probate is a court procedure that includes all matters pertaining to 
the administration of estates, guardianships, and the validity of 
wills.  A will is an instrument by which a person makes a 
disposition of their property to take effect after their death. 
 
If title to, or an interest in, real or personal property is affected by 
the death of a person, another person who claims an interest in 
the property may commence a probate proceeding.  Any person 
who has interest in the property of the deceased may file a petition 
to set aside the assets of the estate, if the net value of the 
decedent’s estate is $20,000 or less over and above all liens and 
encumbrances at the date of death, and the value of any probate 
homestead interest. 
 
The probate proceedings shall be filed in the superior court of the 
county in which the decedent was a resident at the time of death, 
or in any county in which the property is located. 
 
The death of a sole proprietor or partner does not result in a new 
employing unit where the fiduciary, or the fiduciary and surviving 
partner(s), continue operation of the decedent’s business.  A 
fiduciary is a person or institution that manages money or property 
for another and must exercise a standard of care in such 
management activity imposed by law or contract.  A fiduciary may 
be an executor of the estate, a trustee, or a receiver in bankruptcy.
 
Unemployment Insurance Code (UIC) §1701(c) provides that the 
employer and employee contributions required to be paid by an 
employer, together with interest and penalties, shall be satisfied 
first whenever the estate of an employer, in the hands of 
executors, administrators, or heirs, is insufficient to pay all the 
debts due from the decedent. 
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TYPES OF 
ESTATE 

Estates of a deceased may be: 
 

 • Testate 
 

 Decedent made a will 
 

 Executor is named in the will to administer the property 
 

 The superior court grants letters testamentary appointing 
the executor 

 

• Intestate 
 

 Decedent did not make a will regarding the disposal of his 
or her property 

 

 The superior court may appoint a personal representative to 
administer the estate (usually a county administrator or 
public guardian office) 

  
 
AUTHORITY OF 
PERSONAL 
REPRESENTATIVE 

 
The superior court authorizes the personal representative; e.g., 
executor, administrator, or conservator, to administer the estate 
under the Independent Administration of Estates Act with either full 
authority, limited authority, or no authority without court 
supervision to do any of the following: 
 
• Sell or exchange real property 
 

• Grant an option to purchase real property 
 

• Borrow money with the loan secured by an encumbrance upon 
the real property 

  
 
RESPONSIBILITIES 
OF 
ADMINISTRATOR 
OR EXECUTOR 

 
Every administrator or executor of the estate of a deceased 
employer shall send written notice of the following to the 
Employment Development Department (EDD) within 30 days after 
assuming office as required by UIC §1090(a): 
 
• Name and address of the employer 
 

• Name and address of the administrator or executor 
 

• Other information as may be required by the Director 
 

• Succeed to all the rights and obligations of the deceased 
employer as set forth in UIC §1090(b) 
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SOURCES OF 
INFORMATION 

The EDD obtains information regarding notices of death of 
employers from the following: 
 
• Published obituaries 
 

• Radio 
 

• Television news 
 

• Newspaper articles 
 

• Telephone calls from relatives, friends, attorneys 
 

• Notices from executors, administrators, conservators 
 

• Alteration to contribution returns and statements 
 

• Dishonored checks 
 

• Returned mail 
 

• Information obtained from field offices during audit, collection 
activities 

 

• Notice of administration to creditors or letters of 
conservatorship, testamentary, or administration sent by the 
superior court where the probate was filed 

  
 
WHEN TO FILE 

 
The EDD shall file or present its claim for contributions, penalties, 
and interest based upon wages paid by the employer during their 
lifetime.  Probate Code (PC) §9100(a) requires a creditor to file a 
claim before expiration of the later of the following times: 
 
• Four months after the date letters are first issued to a general 

personal representative 
 

• Sixty days after the date notice of administration is given to the 
creditor, if notice was given as provided in the Code of Civil 
Procedure (CCP) §366.2 

 
Bankruptcy Group in Special Procedures Section is responsible for 
the filing of claims with the superior court clerk in the judicial 
district where the probate was filed.  A copy of the claim must be 
delivered or mailed to the personal representative. 
 
The court may allow a claim to be filed late upon petition by a 
creditor as outlined in PC §9103. 
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COLLECTION 
STAFF 
PROCESSING 

Collection staff may receive probate notices and correspondence 
from the superior court or the deceased employer’s agents or 
relatives. 
 
Upon receipt, determine whether the deceased is an employer or a 
responsible person (RP) assessed under UIC §1735. 
 

  

IF DECEASED WAS 
 

 

THEN 

  

Not an employer or RP 
assessed under UIC §1735 
 

 

• Reply if requested 
 

• Discard document 
 

  

An employer or RP assessed 
under UIC §1735 
 

 

• Write the employer account 
number in the upper 
right-hand corner of the 
document 

 

• Include all related account 
numbers 

 

  
 
 

Determine if previous probate action was taken: 
 
• Yes 
 

 Send notice or correspondence to Bankruptcy Group 
 

• No 
 

  Enter the following information: 
 

 Date of death 
 

 Probate case number (if available) 
 

 Name of executor/administrator (if available) 
 
Verify if any problems are outstanding.  Send the notice or 
correspondence to Bankruptcy Group. 
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COLLECTION 
STAFF 
PROCESSING  
(cont’d.) 

Upon receipt of a copy of the notice or correspondence, or a 
telephone call from the decedent’s agent, the assigned staff shall: 
 
• Complete an Auditor’s Report of Probate Information 

(DE 1959).  Enter the following information: 
 

 Account number 
 

 Name and address of employer 
 

 Name of decedent 
 

 Date of death 
 

 Title of fiduciary 
 

 Name and address of fiduciary 
 

 County in which the estate is being probated 
 

 Probate number 
 

 Attorney for fiduciary 
 

 Address of attorney for fiduciary 
 

• Determine if the business is being continued.  The following 
information is required when the business is being continued 
either by the order of the court or as expressed in the will: 

 

 Name and address of the bonding company 
 

 Amount of bond posted 
 

• Determine current management of business and/or ongoing 
ownership 

 

• Resolve all outstanding collection actions 
 

• Forward the completed DE 1959 to Bankruptcy Group 
 

• Transfer the case 
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BANKRUPTCY 
GROUP 
RESPONSIBILITIES 

Bankruptcy Group receives probate cases in the following manner:
 
• DE 1959 from collection staff 
 

If a case involving a probate is transferred from collection staff 
without a DE 1959, probate notice, or correspondence, a 
DE 1959 will be prepared based upon the information. 

 

• Probate notices from the superior court, notices or 
correspondence from executors, administrators, etc. 

 

Notices or correspondence mailed directly to Bankruptcy Group 
by the superior court, administrators, executors, etc. will be 
researched. 
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DISCHARGE 
FROM 
ACCOUNTABILITY 
 

An Application for Discharge from Accountability (STD. 27) of an 
account is submitted to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) when it 
is no longer cost effective to pursue collection, and all reasonable 
means of collection have been exhausted.  However, per 
Government Code (GC), Section (§) 13943.1, a discharge does 
not release any person from the payment of any tax, license, fee, 
or other money that is due and owing to the State.  A discharge 
only releases a State agency from further accountability for 
collection of the discharged liability. 

 

   

   

APPLICATION 
FOR DISCHARGE 
FROM 
ACCOUNTABILITY 

Financial Reporting Group (FRG) prepares the STD. 27 and 
certifies that the Employment Development Department (EDD) has 
completed all of the collection actions as prescribed in State 
Administrative Manual (SAM) §8776.6 and §8790.1 - 8790.8.  
 
The STD. 27 will include the following information:  
 
• A statement of the nature of the amounts due 
 
• The name(s) of the person(s) liable 
 
• The estimated cost of collection 
 
• Any other fact(s) supporting the request, including offset 

attempts 
 

• Signature, phone number, printed name, and title of person 
completing the STD. 27 

 

• Signature, printed name, and title of manager authorizing the 
STD. 27 
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APPLICATION 
FOR DISCHARGE 
FROM 
ACCOUNTABILITY 
(cont’d) 

The GC §13942 mandates that SCO shall audit the applications 
and recommend that the California Victim Compensation and 
Government Claims Board approve an order discharging the 
applicant (EDD) from further accountability for collection.  The 
Claims Board must obtain approval from the Attorney General’s 
office for all items over $7,500.  The applicant will be authorized to 
close its books on the item, providing the following applies: 
 

 

 • The matters contained in the application are correct 
 
• No credit exists against which the debt can be offset 
 

• Collection is improbable for any reason 
 
• The cost of recovery does not justify the collection 
 

• The Claims Board will receive notification from the Attorney 
General that the collection of amounts exceeding $7,500 is not 
justified by the cost or is improbable for any reason 

 

   

   
 

SECTION 
CODE 

 

 
DESCRIPTION 

 

 AUTHORIZATION 
TO FOREGO 
COLLECTION OF  
STATE DEBT  

GC §13940 
 

 

Any State agency required to collect taxes, 
licenses, fees, or money owing to the State for 
any reason that is due and payable may be 
discharged by the Claims Board from 
accountability if the debt is uncollectible or the 
amount of the debt does not justify the cost of its 
collection. 
 
See SAM §8776.6. 
 

 

  

GC §13941 
 

The application for a discharge shall be filed with 
SCO. 
 

 

  

GC §13942 
 

The SCO shall audit the applications and 
recommend to the Claims Board an order 
discharging the applicant from further 
accountability for collection and authorizing the 
applicant to close its books on that item.  
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SECTION 
CODE 

 

 
DESCRIPTION 

 

 AUTHORIZATION 
TO FOREGO 
COLLECTION OF  
STATE DEBT 
(cont’d) 
 
     

 
GC §13943 
 

 
The Claims Board may delegate to SCO, under 
terms and conditions that are acceptable to the 
Claims Board, the authority to discharge from 
accountability a State agency for accounts that do 
not exceed the amount specified in GC §13942(e) 
(presently $7,500) and hereby authorize the 
closing of the agency’s books in regard to that 
item. 
 

 

 
 

 
GC §13943.1 

 
A discharge generally does not release any 
person from the payment of any tax, license, fee, 
or other money that is due and owing to the State.  
   

 

 
 

 
GC §13943.2 

 
Upon authorization from the Claims Board, a 
State agency is not required to collect taxes, 
licenses, fees, or money owing to the State for 
any reason if the amount to be collected is $250 
or less. 

 

 

  
SAM §8776.6 

 
Provides that if all reasonable collection 
procedures do not result in payment, departments 
may request discharge from accountability on 
uncollectable amounts from private entities. 
 
Departments will file an STD. 27 with SCO. 
 
Applications for relief of accountability of 
uncollectable amounts of more than $7,500 will 
be filed separately from applications for amounts 
of less than $7,500. 
 
The STD. 27 requires, in detail, the collection 
efforts made and circumstances warranting 
discharge.  
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