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Important Information

New Electronic Reporting and Payment Requirement: As of January 1, 2017, employers with 10 or more
employees must electronically submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payroll tax deposits to the
EDD. All remaining employers must electronically file and pay beginning January 1, 2018.

e-Services for Business: Employers can register, file reports, make deposits, pay liabilities, view, and
manage their employer payroll tax account online. For more information visit
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business or refer to page 14.

State Information Data Exchange System (SIDES): Employers and third party administrators can elect to
electronically receive and respond to the EDD’s Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed (DE 1101CZ)
using SIDES. Learn more at www.edd.ca.gov/SIDES.

New Employee Registry (NER): All employers are required by law to report all newly hired or rehired
employees to the NER within 20 days of their start-of-work date. For more information visit
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/FAQ_-_California_New_Employee_Registry.htm or refer to page 43.

Tax Seminars: The EDD continues to partner with other agencies to provide you with the information you
need to comply with California payroll tax laws. For more information visit
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/.

Quick and Easy Access to Tax Help, Forms, and Publications: Refer to page 1 for instructions on how
to obtain payroll tax forms and assistance from the Internet, phone, or Employment Tax Offices.

Fraud Prevention, Detection, and Reporting: For information on how to prevent and detect Ul fraud,
see page 55. Improper payment of Ul benefits is a serious problem that has a financial impact on
employers and can result in higher Ul taxes for all employers. You can help by responding timely to
requests for wage information. For more information visit
www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/responding_to_ui_claim_notices.htm.

California Employer Newsletter: For the latest news and helpful information, refer to the quarterly online
newsletter at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm.

2017 Payroll Tax Rates, Taxable Wage Limits, and Maximum Benefit Amounts

Unemployment Insurance (Ul)

The 2017 taxable wage limit is $7,000 per employee.

The Ul maximum weekly benefit amount is $450.

The Ul tax rate for new employers is 3.4 percent (.034) for a period of two to three years.
The employer rates are available online at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business.

Employment Training Tax (ETT)
e The 2017 ETT rate is 0.1 percent (.001) on the first $7,000 of each employee’s wages.

State Disability Insurance (SDI)
e The 2017 SDI withholding rate is 0.9 percent (.009). The rate includes Disability Insurance (Dl)
and Paid Family Leave (PFL).
e The SDI taxable wage limit is $110,902 per employee, per year.
e The 2017 DI/PFL maximum weekly benefit amount is $1,173.

California Personal Income Tax (PIT) Withholding

You are not required to withhold PIT from household employees’ wages. However, if you agree to withhold
PIT for any of your household employees, PIT withholding is based on the amount of wages paid, the number
of withholding allowances claimed by the employee, and the payroll period. The California PIT withholding
schedules are online at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/rates_and_withholding.htm#withholding.

For additional rate information, refer to pages 11 and 12, or visit
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/rates_and_withholding.htm.
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Dear Household Employer:

The new year is looking bright as the Employment Development Department (EDD) continues to
modernize its business practices, thereby reducing the time you spend fulfilling your employer
tax responsibilities. As a valued household employer, we want to make it easier, faster, and
safer for you to do business with us.

Beginning January 1, 2017, new California state law, Assembly Bill (AB) 1245, requires
employers with 10 or more employees to electronically submit employment tax returns, wage
reports, and payroll tax deposits to the EDD. Beginning January 1, 2018, all remaining
employers will be required to do the same. To learn more about this new e-file and

e-pay mandate, refer to page 13 of this guide or visit www.edd.ca.gov/EfileMandate.

You can fulfill the e-file and e-pay mandate of AB 1245 by enrolling in e-Services for Business
at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. Use e-Services for Business to file, adjust,
and print returns; make payments; view and update your account information; save basic
account information for future transactions; and much more. e-Services for Business is a fast,
easy, and secure way to manage your employer payroll tax account online, and is available at
no cost, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

To better serve our employers, the State Information Data Exchange System (SIDES) is now
available. SIDES is a secure and timely way for employers and third-party administrators to
electronically respond to the EDD’s Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed

(DE 1101CZ). To learn more, visit www.edd.ca.gov/SIDES.

The EDD offers many tools and resources on our website to assist you in meeting your
California payroll tax obligations, such as information sheets, forms and publications, plus
access to our online and classroom-style payroll tax seminars. Take advantage of these
resources and more at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes. For general payroll tax information,
contact our Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

Together we will empower California’s workforce and keep California golden for years to come.
Our business is your success.

Sincerely,

Kl

PATRICK W. HENNING JR.
Director
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g S susiness

MANAGE YOUR EMPLOYER PAYROLL TAX ACCOUNT ONLINE!

Through the EDD’s e-Services for Business, you can
file reports, make deposits, update addresses, and much more!
Enroll today for e-Services for Business at

www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business.

SEMINARS TO HELP EMPLOYERS SUCCEED!
The EDD offers both classroom-style seminars and online courses.
We are here to help you succeed.
For more information about our seminars, go online to

www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/.
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QUICK AND EASY ACCESS TO TAX HELP, FORMS, AND PUBLICATIONS

e-Services for Business

g O Gusiness ¢ Manage your employer payroll
7 tax account.
¥ Services
Employment Development Deggrtment e Register as an employer.

¢ File reports.
¢ Pay deposits and liabilities.
e Make address changes.

To use e-Services for Business, go to
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business.

Personal Computer

Access the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov.

¢ Obtain answers to frequently asked questions at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/fags.htm.

¢ Obtain information on payroll tax seminars at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/.

¢ Obtain information for tax professionals at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/tax_practitioners.htm.

¢ Send comments and questions to the EDD online at
www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/contact_edd.htm.
Select “Ask EDD.”

Access the California Tax Service Center website at
www.taxes.ca.gov for federal and California tax
information for businesses and individuals.

Phone

888-745-3886
Hearing impaired: 800-547-9565

Outside the U.S. or Canada:
916-464-3502

Staff is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Pacific Time,
Monday through Friday, to answer your questions.

www.edd.ca.gov
DE 8829 Rev. 37 (1-17) (INTERNET)

Toll-free from the U.S. or Canada:

Walk-In Offices

For information and advice on your payroll tax
responsibilities, visit your local Employment Tax Office from
8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Pacific Time, Monday through Friday:

Anaheim................ 2099 S. State College Blvd., #401, 92806
Fresno.......ccc........ 1050 O Street, 93721

Oakland................. 7677 Oakport Street, Suite 400, 94621
Redding................. 1325 Pine Street, 96001

Sacramento........... 3321 Power Inn Road, Suite 220, 95826
San Bernardino ..... 658 East Brier Drive, Suite 300, 92408

San Diego ............. 10636 Scripps Summit Ct., Suite 202, 92131
San Jose................ 906 Ruff Drive, 95110

Santa Fe Springs .. 10330 Pioneer Blvd., Suite 150, 90670

Van Nuys............... 6150 Van Nuys Blvd., Room 210, 91401

To find an office near you, go to
www.edd.ca.gov/office_locator/.

Self-Service Offices

Tax forms and a no cost direct-line phone are available
from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Pacific Time, Monday through
Friday, at our self-service offices.

Bakersfield............. 1800 30th Street, Suite 240, 93301
Chico ..cveverenene 240 West 7th Street, 95928
Eureka................... 409 K Street, Suite 202, 95501

Los Angeles........... 5401 S. Crenshaw Blvd., Suite A, 90043
Modesto................. 3340 Tully Road, Suite E-10, 95350
San Francisco........ 745 Franklin Street, Suite 400, 94102
Santa Rosa............ 50 D Street, Room 325, 95404
Vallgjo....ooevvriennne. 1440 Marin Street, Suite 114, 94590
Ventura.................. 4820 McGrath Street, Suite 200, 93003

Forms and Publications

Download and order forms, instructions, and publications
at www.edd.ca.gov/forms/.

We Want to Hear From You.
Please let us know how we can improve this guide to

better meet your needs. Please send your comments
and suggestions to:

Employment Development Department

Publications and Marketing Services Group, MIC 93
PO Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Fax: 916-654-6969

Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886



2017 CALENDAR OF FILING DATES

Delinquent if Not
Postmarked or
Received By

Annual Household Employers

Quarterly Household Employers

January 31, 2017 °

File an Employer of Household
Worker(s) Quarterly Report

of Wages and Withholdings
(DE 3BHW) for quarter ending
December 31, 2016.

File an Employer of Household
Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax
Return (DE 3HW) with payment
for 2016.

Furnish a Wage and Tax
Statement (Form W-2) and

an Earned Income Tax Credit
(EITC) notification to employees
for 2016. Refer to page 46 for
additional information.

File Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)
with payment for quarter ending
December 31, 2016.

File a Quarterly Contribution
Return and Report of Wages
(DE 9) and a Quarterly
Contribution Return and Report
of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C)
for quarter ending

December 31, 2016.

Furnish a Form W-2 and EITC
notification to employees for
2016. Refer to page 46 for
additional information.

June 30, 2017.

May 1, 2017 e File DE 3BHW for quarter ending e File DE 88 with payment for
March 31, 2017. quarter ending March 31, 2017.
e File a DE 9 and DE 9C for quarter
ending March 31, 2017.
July 31, 2017 e File DE 3BHW for quarter ending e File DE 88 with payment for

quarter ending June 30, 2017.

File DE 9 and DE 9C for quarter
ending June 30, 2017.

October 31, 2017 °

File DE 3BHW for quarter ending
September 30, 2017.

File DE 88 with payment for
quarter ending
September 30, 2017.

File DE 9 and DE 9C for quarter
ending September 30, 2017.

January 31, 2018 °

Furnish Form W-2 to employees
for 2017. Refer to page 46 for
additional information.

Furnish Form W-2 to employees
for 2017. Refer to page 46 for
additional information.

January 31, 2018 °

File DE 3BHW for quarter ending
December 31, 2017.

File DE 3HW with payment for
2017.

File DE 88 with payment
for quarter ending
December 31, 2017.

File DE 9 and DE 9C for quarter
ending December 31, 2017.

www.edd.ca.gov
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WHO IS A HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYER?

SEMINARS TO HELP EMPLOYERS SUCCEED

The Employment Development Department (EDD) offers a select customized combination of
no-fee classroom seminars. They are designed to help educate not only existing and established
employers, but also new employers to better understand and comply with the state payroll tax laws.

The EDD offers both classroom and online seminars on the following topics:

e State payroll reporting requirements and e Calculating and completing payroll tax forms.
recordkeeping. e How to complete and when to submit the

e Determining if workers are employees or Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88).
independent contractors. °

Using e-Services for Business.
¢ Managing Unemployment Insurance costs.

The EDD and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) The EDD and the Division of Labor Standards
jointly offer seminars on: Enforcement jointly present classes on:

e Federal/state payroll reporting and e \Wage and hour rules and regulations.

withholding requirements. e Common law and statutory employment

e Online filing and payment options. definitions.
e Properly classifying workers.

Additional information about seminars and tutorials is available online at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/.

WHO IS A HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYER?

You may be considered a household employer if you hire someone to work as your employee in or around
your home for the benefit of your personal household and not your business. If you employ one or more
employees for your business, you will need to register as a commercial employer.

Household employment may occur in a variety of settings, such as a:

e Private home e Summer or winter home e | ocal chapter of a college
e Apartment e Condominium fraternity or sorority
e Boat or mobile home e Local college club * Hotel room (when the worker is

employed by you, not the hotel)

Private homes include fixed places of residence, apartments, and hotel rooms in which an individual or
family reside. Private homes do not include premises used primarily as a business enterprise, such as
a residential care home, boarding house, hotel, hospital, etc., unless the workers are employed by the
resident of such a facility and not by the business.

www.edd.ca.gov 3 Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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WHO IS CONSIDERED A HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYEE?

WHO IS CONSIDERED A HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYEE?

The worker is your employee if you control not only what work is done, but how it is done. If the worker is your
employee, it does not matter whether the work is temporary, full-time,or part-time,or that you hired the worker
through an agency.

The worker is self-employed, and not your employee, if only the worker can control how the work is done.
A self-employed worker usually provides his or her own tools and offers services to the general public in an
independent business.

Refer to the table below for a list of workers who are or are not considered household employees. This list is not
intended to be a complete list of household employees.

These Are These Are Not
Household Employees' Household Employees

e Baby-sitters' e Carpenters

e Butlers e Electricians

e Caretakers e Librarians

e Chauffeurs e Musicians

e Cooks? e Nurses leased from a nursing registry

e Crews of private yachts e Painters

e Gardeners?® e Plumbers

e Governesses/governors ® Private secretaries

e Home health care workers e Tutors

e Housekeepers e Workers leased from an employee leasing

e Janitors service®

e Laundry workers e Workers provide_d k_)y i_ndepen_dent busi_nesses

e Maids (for _example: a _Janltorla_l service, catering

) ) ) ) service, gardening service, or pool

* Pilots of private airplanes for family use maintenance service)

¢ Pool maintenance persons*

e \Valets

e \Waiters/waitresses?
Family Employment — Spouses, parents, minor children (under 18 years old), and registered domestic partners are not
considered employees for payroll tax reporting purposes. However, if both the employer and exempt family member agree,
they can voluntarily elect to withhold, report, and pay State Disability Insurance and/or Personal Income Tax. For additional
information, refer to Information Sheet: Family Employment (DE 231FAM) and Information Sheet: Specialized Coverage (Elective
Coverage for Exempt Workers) (DE 231SC) available online at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm.

' A worker who performs childcare services for you in his or her home generally is not your employee.

2 Unless employed by a catering service.

3 Unless employed by a gardening service.

4 Unless employed by a pool maintenance service.

5 As long as the requirements of Section 606.5 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC)
are met.

Refer to the Information Sheet: Household Employment (DE 231L) online at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231l.pdf for additional information regarding household employment.

You may also contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886 to obtain a DE 231L or for
assistance in determining whether the people who work for you are independent contractors or
household employees.
For the latest news and helpful information,
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm.

www.edd.ca.gov 4 Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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WHEN SHOULD YOU REGISTER AS AN EMPLOYER?

WHEN SHOULD YOU REGISTER AS AN EMPLOYER?

You must register with the Employment Development Department (EDD) within 15 days after you have paid
$750 or more in total cash wages in a calendar quarter to one or more people who work as your household

employee. Refer to pages 3 and 4 for additional information on who is considered a household employee.

Cash wages include payment for services by check and cash. Do not include noncash wages, such as
meals and lodging, when calculating whether you have reached $750 in cash wages. Refer to “What Are
Wages?” on page 9 for a complete definition of cash and noncash wages.

Once you meet the $750 in cash wage limit, you must also include all cash and noncash payments as
subject wages. The amount of subject wages you pay in a calendar quarter will determine the employer
payroll taxes you are required to withhold and pay.

If You Pay (in a Quarter)

Then

$750 to $999.99

Withhold State Disability Insurance (SDI) for the
remainder of the current year and through the following
year, even if wages fall below $750 in a quarter.

$1,000 or more

Withhold SDI and pay Unemployment Insurance (Ul)
and Employment Training Tax (ETT) for the remainder of
the current year and through the following year, even if
wages fall below $1,000 in a quarter.

The following examples will help you decide when you must register with the EDD, begin reporting
employee wages and withholdings, and pay employer payroll taxes:

Cash
Wages

Meals and
Lodging

Am | Required to Register?

$700

$149

You are not required to register, report employee wages, or withhold/pay any
California payroll taxes because the cash wage limit of $750 in a quarter has
not been met (the value of meals and lodging is not included in reaching the
$750 cash wage limit).

$750

$75

You must register, report employee wages, and withhold SDI on the entire
$825. You are not required to pay Ul and ETT because the cash wage limit of
$1,000 in a quarter has not been met.

$900

$150

You must register, report employee wages, and withhold SDI on the entire
$1,050. You are not required to pay Ul and ETT because the cash wage limit
of $1,000 in a quarter has not been met (the value of meals and lodging is not
included in reaching the $1,000 cash wage limit).

$1,000

$100

You must register, report employee wages, pay Ul and ETT, and withhold
SDI on the entire $1,100 because you have met the $1,000 cash wage limit
in a quarter.

You are required to report employee wages that are subject to California Personal Income Tax (PIT), but
you are not required to withhold PIT unless you and your employee(s) agree that you will do so. Refer to
page 9 for information regarding PIT wages and page 12 for information on PIT withholding.

www.edd.ca.gov
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HOW TO REGISTER AS AN EMPLOYER

HOW TO REGISTER AS AN EMPLOYER

You must register with the EDD as a household employer for California payroll tax purposes when you have
paid cash wages totaling $750 or more in one calendar quarter to one or more people who work as your
household employee.

ACTION REQUIRED: Review the filing requirements for each type of household employer on page 15 to
assist in determining whether you should register as an Annual or Quarterly household employer.

e If you are a household employer and plan to pay $20,000 or less in cash and noncash wages in one
calendar year, you may elect to register as an ANNUAL household employer. You will be required to
complete a tax return and pay taxes annually and file wage reports on a quarterly basis.

e If you are a household employer and plan to pay more than $20,000 in cash and noncash wages, you
will be registered as a QUARTERLY household employer. You will be required to complete a tax return,
wage report, and pay taxes on a quarterly basis.

e If you are a household employer and plan to pay $20,000 or less in cash and noncash wages in a
calendar year and do not elect to be an Annual household employer, your account will be registered as a
Quarterly household employer.

ACTION REQUIRED: Complete the registration online or by mail:

”\ LEiE Register online using the EDD’s e-Services for Business at
Services www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business.
b

‘mployment Development Départment
|

OR

Complete and mail an Employers of Household Workers Registration and Update Form (DE 1HW). The
DE 1HW registration form is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1hw.pdf.
Mail or fax the completed registration form to:

Employment Development Department
Account Services Group, MIC 28

PO Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Fax: 916-654-9211

If you have questions about registering as a household employer, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center
at 888-745-3886.

Posting Requirements

Once you are registered with the EDD, you will receive a notice to post in your workplace that informs your
employees of their rights under the Unemployment Insurance (Ul) and State Disability Insurance (SDI)
programs. SDI includes Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL). This notice must be posted
in a prominent location that is easily seen by your employees. You will receive one of the following notices if
you are subject to:

e Ul, DI, and PFL — Notice to Employees (DE 1857A).
e Ul only — Notice to Employees—Unemployment Insurance Benefits (DE 1857D).
e DIl and PFL only — Notice to Employees (DE 1858).

www.edd.ca.gov 6 Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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HOW TO REGISTER AS AN EMPLOYER

Notices and Pamphlets

Employers must provide a copy of the following notice and pamphlets to each employee to explain
employees’ benefit rights:

e For Your Benefit: California’s Programs for the Unemployed (DE 2320) provides information on
Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Disability Insurance (Dl), Paid Family Leave (PFL), and Workforce
Services benefits available to the employee.

e Disability Insurance Provisions (DE 2515) outlines DI benefits.
e Paid Family Leave (DE 2511) outlines PFL benefits.

For the latest news and helpful information,
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm.
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HOW TO REGISTER AS AN EMPLOYER

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

= ~_ Em P 1 oyme nt This form will be the basic record of YOUR Account. EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT
D | t DO NOT FILE FORM UNTIL YOU HAVE PAID WAGES OF $750.00. ACCOUNT SERVICES GROUP, MIC 28
evelopmen Please read the INSTRUCTIONS on reverse before completing form. P.O. BOX 826880
Departmen{ PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT in BLUE OR BLACK INK ONLY. SAéRAMENTO CA 94280-0001
~ Return this form to: > (688) 745-3886 FAX (916) 654-9211
State of California If you are an agency providing household workers for clients, you must " g
filz a i g I-%fm for ,-g i ploy y www.edd.ca.gov

REGISTRATION FORM FOR EMPLOYERS OF HOUSEHOLD WORKERS

See reverse for registration instructions.

EDD ACCOUNT NUMBER QUARTER ONLINE PROCESS DATE
J | i | ‘ DEPT. USE ONLY:
(Ao File this form SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER CALIFORNIA DRIVER'S
LICENSE #
I online through 000-00-0000 XXXXKKKK
 e-Services for Business at 000-00-0000 B

| www.edd.ca.gov/e-services_for_Business

B. MAILING AD_D‘ .3S: (F. Box/Nuriber and Street) CITY STATE | ZIP CODE |DAYTIME PHONE
NUMBER
PO BOX 12345 ANYTOWN CA 12345 |(123)555-7899
IN CARE OF: C. EMPLOYEE WORK SITE ADDRESS: (Number and Street, not P.O. Box) |COUNTY:
123 MY HOUSE STREET, ANYTOWN, CA 12345 PISMO
D. INDICATE QUARTER & YEAR IN WHICH YOU FIRST PAID $750 BUT NOT MORE THAN $999 IN CASH WAGES: E. Number of Employees:
[ Jan-Mar20 O Apr-dun20 [ Jul-Sept20 [ Oct-Dec 20 [J NONE
F. INDICATE QUARTER & YEAR IN WHICH YOU FIRST PAID $1,000 OR MORE IN CASH WAGES: G. Number of Employees:
M Jan-Mar20  [JApr-dun20  [JJul-Sept20 [ Oct-Dec20 [ NONE 2
H. HAVE YOU EVER OWNED OR BEEN A PRINCIPAL OWNER I. FORMER EDD ACCOUNT NUMBER(S):
IN A BUSINESS REGISTERED WITH EDD? BUSINESS NAME:
[ONo [JYes IfYes, completel. ————» ADDRESS:
NOTE: If necessary, please provide additional information on a separate sheet.
J. ORGANIZATION TYPE: K. FEDERAL TAX ID #:

[J INDIVIDUAL [ CO-OWNERSHIP  [J] CORPORATION  [J OTHER

L. DO YOU ELECT TO PAY CALIFORNIA EMPLOYMENT TAXES ON AN ANNUAL BASIS? [ No [ Yes
SEE INSTRUCTIONS FOR MORE INFORMATION

M. CONTACT PERSON FOR BUSINESS: [TITLE/COMPANY NAME \/ADDRESS DAYTIME PHONE
NUMBER
JANE SMITH EMPLOYER 123 MY HOUSE ST. ANYTOWN (123)555-6789

E-MAIL: JANESMITHE@ANYSERVER . COM
N. DECLARATION

| certify under penalty of perjury that the above information is true, correct, and complete, and that these actions are not being taken to receive a more
favorable Unemployment Insurance Rate. | further certify that | have the authority to sign on behalf of the above business.

Signature: %ﬂ[\ﬂ— /&Y\Aﬂ\- Title: EMPLOYER

(Individual Owner, Co-owner, Corporate Officer, or authorized Agent)

Printed Name: JANE SMITH Daytime Phone Number: (123)555-6789 Date: 2/18/2017

O. PAYROLL TAX EDUCATION
Attend a payroll tax seminar that will help you understand how, what, and when to report State payroll taxes. Visit our Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/ or call us at (888) 745-3886 for more information.

DE 1HW Rev. 9 (1-11) (INTERNET) Page 1 of 2 cu
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WHAT ARE WAGES?

WHAT ARE WAGES?

Wages are all payments made to employees for personal services, whether paid by check, cash, or the
reasonable cash value of noncash payments, such as meals and lodging. The method of payment and the
frequency of the work do not change the taxability of wages paid to employees. Whether the employment is
full-time, part-time, casual, or temporary, the wages paid to employees are still subject for payroll tax purposes.
In addition, how employees are paid does not change the employer’s responsibility for payroll taxes.

If you pay your employees’ share of Social Security, Medicare, and/or State Disability Insurance (SDI)
without deducting the amounts from their wages, these payments may also be wages. The Information
Sheet: Social Security/Medicare/State Disability Insurance/Federal IncomeTaxes Paid by an Employer
(DE 231Q) is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231q.pdf, or contact the Taxpayer
Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

What Are “Subject Wages?”

Generally, all wages are considered subject wages and are used to determine the amount of Unemployment
Insurance (Ul), Disability Insurance (DI), and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits a claimant should receive.
Subject wages are the full amount of wages paid to an employee, regardless of the Ul and SDI taxable
wage limits. Refer to the inside cover for the 2017 taxable wage limits.

What Are Personal Income Tax (PIT) Wages?

Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages are cash and noncash payments subject to state income tax. Wages
that must be reported on an individual’s California income tax return are PIT wages. Most payments for
household employees’ services should be reported as PIT wages.

An employee’s calendar year total for PIT wages should agree with the amount reported on the employee’s
federal Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2) in Box 16 (state wages, tips, etc.). Household employers are
not required to withhold PIT; however, they are required to report PIT wages for each household employee.

For additional information about PIT wages, refer to page 12.

Are Subject Wages and PIT Wages the Same?

In most situations, subject wages and PIT wages are the same. However, subject wages and PIT wages are
reported separately on your EDD quarterly wage report.

For additional information:

¢ Annual household employers: Refer to Information Sheet: Personal Income Tax Wages Reported
on the Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings for Employers of Household Workers
(DE 3BHW) (DE 231PH).

e Quarterly household employers: Refer to Information Sheet: Personal Income Tax Wages Reported
on the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) (DE 231PIT).

These forms are available online at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm or
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886 for assistance.
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WHAT ARE WAGES?

Values of Meals and Lodging

Meals and lodging provided to employees are wages. If your employees are covered under a contract

of employment or union agreement, the taxable value of meals and lodging should not be less than the
estimated value stated in that document. If the cash value is not stated in an employment contract or union
agreement, please use the tables and information below to determine the value of the meals and/or lodging
you provide to your employees. If you withhold Personal Income Tax (PIT) from your employees’ wages,
please refer to page 12.

Value of Meals
3 Meals Meal Not
Year per Day Breakfast Lunch Dinner Identified
2017 $ 11.50 $235 $3.55 $5.60 $4.15
2016 $11.40 $235 $ 3.50 $5.55 $4.10

To calculate the value of lodging, multiply the amount you could rent the property for (ordinary rental value)
by 66 2/3 percent (0.6667). Ordinary rental value may be calculated on a monthly or weekly basis. The table
below shows the minimum and maximum amounts to report for lodging.

Value of Lodging
Year Minimum per Week Maximum per Month
2017 $ 45.00 $ 1,387
2016 $43.20 $ 1,332

For additional information, refer to Information Sheet: Household Employment (DE 231L), available online at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231l.pdf, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886 for
assistance. Current and historical meals and lodging information is available online at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/rates_and_withholding.htm.

The Tax Rates, Wages Limits, and Value of Meals and Lodging (DE 3395) provides historical rate
information for the last eight years and is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3395.pdf.

For the latest news and helpful information,
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm.
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WHAT ARE PAYROLL TAXES?

2017 Payroll Tax Table

Disability
Insurance (DlI)
and Paid Family
Leave (PFL) are
components of the
SDI program and
are included in

SDI contributions
from employee
wages; employers
are responsible for
SDI not withheld
from employee
wages. If the

employee, in a
calendar year.

0.9 percent (.009).

Set by law, the
SDI rate may
change each year.
The EDD notifies
employers of the
new rate each

Payroll Tax Who Pays Taxable Wages Tax Rate Maximum Tax
Unemployment Employer First $7,000 New employer tax $434 per employee,
Insurance (Ul) of wages per rate is 3.4 percent per year (calculated
E employee, in a (.034) for a period at the highest Ul tax
. ?r mortt_a for calendar year. of two to three rate of 6.2 percent
information, refer 'o years. Following this | [.062]).

Information Sheet: : .
. period, the tax rate is .
California System of Your maximum Ul
. . calculated annually .
Experience Rating tax amount will be
. based on each )
(DE 231Z) available | , - less if your rate
line at www.edd SMPIOYer's previous is less than 6.2
on T Ul experience and :
ca.gov/pdf_pub_ the condition of the percent.
ctr/de231z.pdf. Ul Fund.
Employment Employer First $7,000 Set by law at 0.1 $7 per employee,
Training Tax (ETT) of wages per percent (.001) of per year.
employee, in a Ul taxable wages
calendar year. for employers with
positive Ul reserve
account balances.
State Disability Employee First $110,902 The 2017 $998.12 per
Insurance (SDI) Employer withholds of wages per withholding rate is | employee, in a

calendar year.

agree to withhold
the tax. Refer to
page 12. However,
the employee is

still responsible for
reporting wages
and paying any PIT
due to the California
Franchise Tax
Board (FTB).

available online at
www.edd.ca.gov/
Payroll_Taxes/
Rates_and_
Withholding.htm.

the SDI employee | employer pays SDI December.
contributions. for employee(s),
refer to page 9.
California Employee Normally, all PIT PIT is withheld No maximum
Personal Income wages (cash and based on each
Tax (PIT) Household noncash). Employee’s
employers are not Withholding
required to withhold | See page 12 for Allowance
PIT from employee | information on Certificate (Form
wages unless when to exclude W-4 or DE 4) and
both the employer | meals and lodging the withholding
and employee from PIT wages. schedules

www.edd.ca.gov
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WHAT ARE PAYROLL TAXES?

Withholding California Personal Income Tax

If a household employee wishes to have California Personal Income Tax (PIT) withheld from his or her
wages and you agree to withhold it, you need to report and send the PIT withheld to the EDD.

To have California PIT withheld, your employee(s) must complete a federal Employee’s Withholding
Allowance Certificate (Form W-4) or state Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate (DE 4). You can
refer your employee(s) to the online calculator at www.taxes.ca.gov/de4.pdf, which will allow them to
calculate and print the DE 4.

The California Withholding Schedules are available online at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/rates_and_withholding.htm to determine the amount of PIT to be
withheld from wages.

The DE 4 can be downloaded from www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/rates_and_withholding.htm, ordered
online at www.edd.ca.gov/forms, or you may contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

PIT Wages and the Value of Meals and Lodging: Meals and lodging are excluded from PIT wages and
withholding if you provide meals and lodging to your employee(s) because it is convenient for you, and:

e Meals are furnished on your premises;
and/or
e Lodging is furnished on your premises and is required as a condition of employment.

Example: A governess lives and eats meals in your home so she can take care of your children. The value
of the meals and lodging would not be considered PIT wages, and PIT would not be withheld
because the meals and lodging are furnished on your premises for your convenience.

The value of the meals and lodging would be included in total subject wages reported on the
Employer of Household Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings (DE 3BHW) for
Annual household employers and on the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages
(Continuation) (DE 9C) for Quarterly household employers. For additional information, the
Information Sheet: Personal Income Tax Wages Reported on the Quarterly Report of Wages and
Withholdings for Employers of Household Workers (DE 3BHW) (DE 231PH) is available online at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231ph.pdf.

If the meals and lodging do not meet the exclusion listed above, these amounts must be added to the cash
wages paid to your workers before computing the amount of PIT to withhold. Refer to the “Values of Meals
and Lodging” tables on page 10 to determine the cash value to report, or go online at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/rates_and_withholding.htm.

Remember:

e An employee’s calendar year total for PIT wages should agree with the amount reported in Box 16 on
the employee’s Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2). Additional information about the Form W-2 is
available on the Internal Revenue Service website at www.irs.gov.

e While household employers are not required to withhold PIT, they are required to report PIT wages on
the DE 3BHW or DE 9C. The PIT wages are reported separately from subject wages on the quarterly
wage reports (DE 3BHW or DE 9C) that you file with the EDD.
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ELECTRONIC FILING AND PAYMENT REQUIREMENTS

E-FILE AND E-PAY MANDATE
Assembly Bill (AB) 1245

AB 1245 requires all employers’ to electronically submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payroll
tax deposits to the Employment Development Department (EDD). Depending on the number of employees, the
requirement is phased-in as follows:

e January 1, 2017 - Employers with 10 or more employees will be required to electronically submit employment
tax returns, wage reports, and payroll tax deposits.

e January 1, 2018 - All remaining employers will be required to electronically file and pay.

Benefits of Electronic Filing and Payment
® Increases data accuracy.

e Protects data through encryption.

e Reduces paper and mailing cost.

e Eliminates lost mail.

Penalty

Paper Submittal Penalty

Tax Return: $50 per return
e  Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9)

e Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE 3HW)
e  Quarterly Contribution Return (DE 3D)

Wage Report: $20 per wage item

e Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C)

e Employer of Household Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings
DE (3BHW)

Payroll Tax Deposit: 15% of amount due
e Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)

Waiver

Employers may request a waiver from the mandate due to lack of automation, severe economic hardship, current
exemption from the federal government, or other good cause. The E-file and E-pay Mandate Waiver Request
(DE 1245W) can be downloaded from www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1245w.pdf, ordered online at
www.edd.ca.gov/forms, or you may contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886. Instructions and
mailing address are on the waiver request form.

For more information on the e-file and e-pay mandate, visit www.edd.ca.gov/EfileMandate.

NI usiness Enroll in e-Services for Business to help you meet the requirements
P Services of the e-file and e-pay mandate.
Enployment Development Dirtment www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
Fast, easy, and secure!

"Any employer required under existing law to electronically submit wage reports and/or electronic funds transfer to the EDD prior to January 1, 2017,
will remain subject to those requirements.

www.edd.ca.gov 13 Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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ONLINE SERVICES

e-Services for Business

e-Services for Business allows employers and employer representatives/payroll agents to manage employer
payroll tax accounts online at no cost. With a simple one-time enroliment, e-Services for Business can be used
to electronically submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payments 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.’

www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
Fast, easy, and secure!

Features:

e Register for an employer payroll tax account number.
e File, adjust, and print returns/reports.

e Make payments..

e View and update account information.

e View current and past three years payroll tax account.
e Request a Payment Plan (subject to eligibility).

e File a Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34).

Business

Employment Development Department Adva ntageS:

¢ No cost to enroll and use.
e Reduces errors that are common with paper forms.

e Protects data through encryption that is safer and more secure than
paper forms.

e Provides confirmation when your return, report, or payment is received.
e Saves time by saving basic account information for future transactions.
e Reduces paper and mailing cost.

e Fulfills the new e-file and e-pay mandate.

"The Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34) may be filed from 5 a.m. to 12 midnight, Pacific Time, 7 days a week. All other services may be accessed
24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Additional e-Services for Business Information

View e-Services for Business Tutorials on how to: View e-Services for Business FAQs about:
e Enroll for a username and password. e Recovering username/password.
e Register for a payroll tax account number. e Handling lock-outs.
e File an employment tax return/wage reports. e Updating account information.
e Make a payroll tax deposit. e Closing or reopening an employer payroll
e And more... tax account.
e And more...
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/ www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
e-Services_for_Business_tutorials.htm faq_-_e-Services_for_Business.htm

Taxpayer Assistance Center
888-745-3886
Enroll in e-Services for Business today at
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
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ARE YOU AN ANNUAL OR QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYER?

How to Report and Pay Your Taxes

There are two types of household employers: Annual household employers and Quarterly household
employers. The following table explains the requirements for filing payroll tax reports and making tax

payments for each type:

Annual
Household Employer

Quarterly
Household Employer

Requirements

Reports wages quarterly, pays
taxes annually, and is current
with reporting and payments.

Reports wages quarterly and
pays taxes quarterly.

Refer to page 26.

Annual Wage Threshold

Pays household wages of
$20,000 or less annually

and
elects to pay taxes on an
annual basis.

Pays household wages that
exceed $20,000 annually

or

pays household wages of
$20,000 or less annually

and

does not elect to pay taxes on
an annual basis.

Forms Required (File online using
e-Services for Business at
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_
for_Business):

Registration:

Each Quarter:

Each Year:

e Employers of Household
Workers Registration and
Update Form (DE1HW).

e Employer of Household
Worker Election Notice
(DE 89) if election is made
after filing DE THW.

Employers of Household
Workers Registration and Update
Form (DE 1HW).

Employer of Household
Worker(s) Quarterly Report
of Wages and Withholdings
(DE 3BHW).

e Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)
with payment.

e Quarterly Contribution Return
and Report of Wages (DE 9).

e Quarterly Contribution
Return and Report of Wages
(Continuation) (DE 9C).

Employer of Household
Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax
Return (DE 3HW) with payment.

www.edd.ca.gov
DE 8829 Rev. 37 (1-17) (INTERNET)
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS
Overview

Household employers who pay $20,000 or less in cash and noncash wages in one calendar year and
are current on their reporting and payments may elect to make one yearly payment for their California

payroll taxes.
¢ You will not automatically be considered an Annual household employer.

e [f you do not elect to become an Annual household employer, you will be registered as a Quarterly
household employer even if you pay $20,000 or less in wages.

e [f you elect to pay taxes annually, you must still report employee subject wages, Personal Income Tax
(PIT) wages, and PIT withholdings quarterly.

e [f you elect to become an Annual household employer but report and pay Quarterly, your account
will be converted to a Quarterly household employer account. In order to revert back to an Annual
employer, you will need to submit an Employer of Household Worker Election Notice (DE 89).

To elect to become an Annual household employer, use one of the following forms:

e Employers of Household Workers Registration and Update Form (DE 1HW)
You may elect to become an Annual household employer when you register with the EDD by
checking the “Yes” box in Iltem D on the DE 1HW or by selecting to file and pay annually when
you register online with e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business.

e Employer of Household Worker Election Notice (DE 89)
If you previously registered with the EDD and are current on your reporting and payments, you may
complete the DE 89 and return it to the EDD to become an Annual household employer. Refer to
information below regarding the DE 89.

As an Annual household employer, you must file the following forms:

¢ Quarterly: Report employee subject wages, Personal Income Tax (PIT), and PIT withholding on an
Employer of Household Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings (DE 3BHW).

e Annually: File an Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE 3HW) with a
payment for the total payroll taxes due. If wages were reported during the year, you must submit
your payment with the DE 3HW.

NOTE: If you are an Annual household employer and your total accumulated wages exceed $20,000
during the year, you must contact the EDD immediately to change your filing status to a Quarterly
household employer. Refer to page 25 for additional information.

File online using e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business.
Sample forms are provided on pages 8, 17, 19, and 21, respectively.
Employer of Household Worker Election Notice (DE 89)

Overview

Purpose: To elect the option to pay California payroll taxes annually instead of quarterly. If approved, the
election is effective the first day of the calendar year in which the election is filed. If you pay more than
$20,000 in accumulated wages in a year, the election will be terminated, and you will be required to file and
pay all payroll taxes owed for the year at the end of that calendar quarter.

How to Obtain: The DE 89 is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de89.pdf, or contact the
Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

o~ ~ Employment
ED Development
Department
[~

State of California

JOHN AND JANE SMITH Date: 4/4/2017

PO BOX 12345
Account No. 000-0000-0
ANYTOWN, CA 12345

California law allows certain employers of household workers the option to pay California employment taxes for their
household employees annually instead of quarterly. Information on wages paid to employees must still be reported on a
quarterly basis on a form provided for this purpose. To be eligible to elect this option, an employer must:

o Be registered with the Employment Development Department (EDD) as an employer of household workers.
e Have no delinquent taxes or returns due to the EDD.

e Intend to pay $20,000 or less in wages in a calendar year to your household employees. (The sum of all subject
wages, cash or noncash, paid to all employees must be no more than $20,000 per year.)

To elect this tax payment option, complete the election notice at the bottom of this document and return it to the address
indicated below. If approved, you will be notified in writing. Once approved, the election is effective the first day of the
calendar year, January 1, in which the election is filed.

As an annual payer, you will file the quarterly Employer of Household Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and
Withholdings (DE 3BHW) and the annual Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE 3HW).
Until then, please continue to file the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) and the Quarterly
Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C), along with your Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon.

Please note, if you pay more than $20,000 in wages in any given year, the election will be terminated, your account will
revert back to a quarterly payer, and you will be required to file and pay all payroll taxes owed for the year at the end of the
calendar quarter.

If you have any questions or need assistance, call the Taxpayer Assistance Center toll-free at 838-745-3886 or
TTY 800-547-9565, or visit the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov to view the Household Employer's Guide (DE 8829)

EMPLOYER OF HOUSEHOLD WORKER ELECTION NOTICE

I am an employer of household workers and wish to elect to pay California employment taxes annually. | intend to pay no more than
$20,000 per year in wages to my workers. | understand that if | pay more than $20,000 during the year, the election will be terminated and |
will be required to file and pay all payroll taxes owed for the year at the end of that calendar quarter. | will also be required to file quarterly
tax returns with payment for the remainder of the year. | will then need to file a new election to be eligible for this program in the future.

%ﬂf\-ﬂ /&mbw 000-0000-0

Signature Date Account Number
JANE SMITH (123) 555-6789 PO BOX 12345
Print Name Phone Number Address
ANYTOWN CA 12345
EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT City State ZIP Code

PO BOX 826880 MIC 28
SACRAMENTO CA 94280-0001

DE 89 Rev. 9 (8-13) (INTERNET) Page 1 of 1 CuU
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Employer of Household Worker(s)
Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings (DE 3BHW)

Overview

Purpose: Household employers who pay less than $20,000 in wages per year and elect to pay taxes
annually use the DE 3BHW to report employee quarterly wages subject to Unemployment Insurance (Ul),
Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI) taxes, and Personal Income Tax (PIT)
wages. If PIT is withheld, that amount is also reported on this form. Even though taxes are paid just once
a year, wages must be reported each quarter by state law. For any quarter that you do not have wages,
you must still file the report.

2017 Due Dates
Employer of Household Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings (DE 3BHW)

Report Covering Due Date Delinquent if Not Filed By
January, February, March April 1, 2017 May 1, 2017
April, May, June July 1, 2017 July 31, 2017
July, August, September October 1, 2017 October 31, 2017
October, November, December January 1, 2018 January 31, 2018

You must file a DE 3BHW each quarter even if you did not pay wages during the quarter. Penalty
and interest will be charged on late filing of reports. Not having a form to complete is not considered “good
cause” for filing your DE 3BHW late; refer to page 58 for the definition of “good cause.”

Electronic Filing: File and pay online with e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business.
It's a fast, easy, and secure way to manage your employer payroll tax account online.

e Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers.
¢ File returns/reports and make payments.
e View, adjust, and print returns/reports.

e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.
For additional e-Services for Business features, refer to page 14.

Paper Filing: You may be required to electronically submit employment tax returns and wage reports as
of January 1, 2017. Refer to page 13 for information on the e-file and e-pay mandate. If you do not file
online, then:

e The DE 3BHW will be mailed to you in March, June, September, and December of each year.
OR

e Download the DE 3BHW form at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3bhw.pdf.

e Order DE 3BHW forms at www.edd.ca.gov/forms/.

A sample of the DE 3BHW is available on page 19. Instructions for completing the DE 3BHW are available
online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3bhw.pdf.

www.edd.ca.gov 18 Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

o~ . Employment

ED Development

Department
State of California

EMPLOYER OF HOUSEHOLD WORKER(S)
QUARTERLY REPORT OF WAGES AND WITHHOLDINGS

APPROVED EXTENSION TO:

Instructions for completion are available on the back of this form.

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE ALL INFORMATION IN BLACK INK - DO NOT ALTER PREPRINTED INFORMATION
DELINQUENT IF
NOT POSTMARKED
OR RECEIVED BY

YR QTR

QUARTER ENDED 06/30/2017 DUE 07/01/2017 08/01/2017 |17| 2|

EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NUMBER

| 000-0000-0 |

File this form DO NOT ALTER THIS AREA
online through

e-Services for Business at perr. | P[] <[] T|D:a| SYD wl] A

. . USE Mo. r. WwIC
www.edd.ca.gov/e-services_for_Business ONLY |EFFECTIVE [ _ _ _ l_ﬂ
DATE

A. NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES full-time and part-time who
worked during or received pay subject to Ul for payroll
period which includes the 12th of the month.

1ST MONTH 2ND MONTH RD MONTH

B. E No Payroll This Quarter

C. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
000-00-0000

D. EMPLOYEE NAME
MARY J. PAYNE

(FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST)

E. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES F. PIT WAGES G. PIT WITHHELD
3,000.00 3,000.00 0.00
C. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER D. EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST)
000-00-0000 CINDY V. SMITH
E. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES F. PIT WAGES G. PIT WITHHELD
1,000.00 1,000.00 0.00

C. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

D. EMPLOYEE NAME

(FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST)

E. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES

F. PIT WAGES

G. PIT WITHHELD

C. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

D. EMPLOYEE NAME

(FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST)

E. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES

F. PIT WAGES

G. PIT WITHHELD

H. GRAND TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES

4,000.00

. GRAND TOTAL PIT WAGES
4,000.00

J- GRAND TOTAL PIT WITHHELD
0.00

K. I declare that the information herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

_Title EMPLOYER

(Employer, Accountant, Preparer, etc.)

Signature Phone (123) 555-7899  Date 07/21/17

You have received this Employer of Household Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings (DE 3BHW) in lieu of the
Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) because you have elected to pay taxes for your
household workers on an annual basis. This form will be mailed to you quarterly, and an Employer of Household Worker(s)
Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE 3HW) will be mailed to you in the fourth quarter. This annual process is only available to
employers who pay $20,000 or less in household wages during the calendar year. If your wage estimate is understated and you
do pay more than $20,000 in wages in the calendar year, please follow the instructions on the back of this form under the
“QUESTIONS” topic.

You must file this report even if you had no payroll by marking Item B and indicating “0” in each of the three boxes in Item A
and in the Grand Total Boxes, Items H, I, and J. If you no longer have household worker(s) and would like to inactivate your
employer account number, please complete a Change of Employer Account Information (DE 24), available on our Web site at
http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de24.pdf or call our Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. See the back of this
form for further instructions.

MAIL TO: State of California / Employment Development Department / P.O. Box 826221 / MIC 28B / Sacramento, CA 94230-6221

DE 3BHW Rev. 8 (9-10) (INTERNET) Page 1 of 2 Ccu
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www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business

ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE 3HW)
Overview

Purpose: Household employers who pay less than $20,000 in wages per year and elect to pay taxes
annually use the DE 3HW to send Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and
State Disability Insurance (SDI) withheld to the EDD. If Personal Income Tax (PIT) is withheld, that amount
is also sent to the EDD with this form.

NOTE: If your total accumulated wages exceed $20,000 during the year, you must notify the EDD
immediately that you need to change to a Quarterly household employer. Refer to page 25 for information
on changing from an Annual household employer to a Quarterly household employer.

2017 Due Dates
Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE 3HW)

Report Covering Due Date Delinquent if Not Filed By

2017 January 1, 2018 January 31, 2018

If you are unable to pay all or part of your taxes on time, you must still file your DE 3HW. Penalty
and interest will be charged on late payroll tax payments and reports. Not having a form to complete is not
considered “good cause” for filing your DE 3HW late; refer to page 59 for the definition of “good cause.”

Electronic Filing: File and pay online with e-Services for Business. It’s a fast, easy, and secure way to manage
your employer payroll tax account online.

e Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers.
e File returns/reports and make payments.
e \iew, adjust, and print returns/reports.

e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime at
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business.

For additional e-Services for Business features, refer to page 14.

Paper Filing: You may be required to electronically submit employment tax returns and wage reports as
of January 1, 2017. Refer to page 13 for information on the e-file and e-pay mandate. If you do not file
online, then:

e The DE 3HW will be mailed to you in December of each year.

e Your Ul, ETT, and SDI rates will be entered on the preprinted DE 3HW form mailed to you. If you
paid $1,000 or more in cash wages in a quarter during the current year and/or in the previous year
and your DE 3HW does not show Ul and ETT rates, call 888-745-3886.

OR
e Download the DE 3HW form at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3hw.pdf.
e Order DE 3HW forms online at www.edd.ca.gov/forms/.

For assistance completing your DE 3HW, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886. If
outside the U.S. or Canada, call 916-464-3502.

A sample DE 3HW is available on page 21. Instructions for completing the DE 3HW are available online at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3hw.pdf.

Learn more about employer payroll taxes through our seminars and online courses at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/.

www.edd.ca.gov 20 Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

Examples were created using 2016 rates.
Refer to inside cover for 2017 rates.

EMPLOYER OF HOUSEHOLD WORKER(S)
o~ N E |
ED Deselopment ANNUAL PAYROLL TAX RETURN

Department
State of California

APPROVED EXTENSION TO:
PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE ALL INFORMATION IN BLACK INK - DO NOT ALTER PREPRINTED INFORMATION.

DELINQUENT IF YEAR
NOT POSTMARKED
YEAR ENDED 12/31/17 DUE 01/01/18 OR RECEIVED BY 01/31/18 | 2017 |
File this form EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NUMBER
online through 000-0000-0 |
e-Services for Business at
www.edd.ca.gov/e-services_for_Business DO NOT ALTER THIS AREA |
>
- AR I T T T B
é Mo. Day Yr.
o | EFFECTIVE
& | pate ---
D No Wages Paid This Year
DETAILED INSTRUCTIONS ARE CHE(I:E BOX ["] No Longer Have Household Employees (Date)
LOCATED ON THE BACK. ’ [] Revert to Quarterly Payments (Date)
A. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PAID THIS CALENDAR YEAR - - - >
B. EMPLOYERS UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (Ul) WAGES Ul%
TAXES (B1) (B2) N CE)
(Total Employee Wages up to $7,000 per employee per calendar year) 14,000.00( X 3.4 ‘ - 476.00
(multiplied by)
WAGES ETT%
C. EMPLOYMENT TRAINING TAX (ETT) cn (€2) ‘ _[
(Total Employee Wages up to $7,000 per employee per calendar year) 14,000.00 | X 01 14.00
(multiplied by)
D. EMPLOYEE STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (SDI) TAXES
Refer to the publication Tax Rates, Wage Limits, and Value WAGES SDI%
of Meals and Lodging (DE 3395) on the Employment Development Department (D1) (D2) _|o3)
(EDD) website at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3395.pdf. 19'000'00| X 0.90 ‘ - | 171 .00|
(multiplied by)

E. CALIFORNIA PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT) WITHHELD - - — -

(Total PIT Withheld per Forms W-2)
F. TOTAL TAXES DUE (Add Items B3, C3, D3, and E) - - - - 661.00

G. LESS VOLUNTARY PREPAYMENT OF TAXES MADE DURING THE YEAR 661.00

|
|
vV V V V

H. BALANCE OF TOTAL TAXES DUE - - - — - — - -

INCLUDE EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NUMBER ON YOUR CHECK. Do not staple check to return.
Make check payable to the EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT.

1. Be sure to sign this declaration: I declare that the information herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

Signature%ﬂni’ Amg@ Title EMPLOYER Phone ( 123 ) 555-7899 Dae  01/07/18

(Employer, Accountant, Preparer, etc.)

MAIL TO: State of California / Employment Development Department / P.O. Box 826221 / MIC 28B / Sacramento, CA 94230-6221

DE 3HW Rev. 10 (7-14) Ccu
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www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business

ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Employer Paid Taxes for Employees

If you pay the State Disability Insurance (SDI) tax without deducting it from your employees’ wages, the
amount of the SDI you paid is considered an increase in the employees’ wages and should be included
in subject wages for Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and State Disability
Insurance (SDI) purposes.

If you pay Social Security and/or Medicare without deducting them from your employees’ wages, the
amount you paid is not considered an increase in the employees’ wages and should not be included in
subject wages for Ul, ETT, or SDI purposes.

If you and your employee have agreed to withhold PIT, the amount of Social Security, Medicare, or SDI
that you paid without deducting from the employee’s wages should be included in PIT wages and used to
calculate the PIT withholding amount.

For assistance in calculating subject wages and PIT wages under these circumstances, refer to Information
Sheet: Social Security/Medicare/State Disability Insurance/Federal IncomeTaxes Paid by an Employer

(DE 231Q). The DE 231Q is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231q.pdf, or contact the
Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

Refer to page 33 on “How to Calculate Taxable Wages.”

For the latest news and helpful information,
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm.

www.edd.ca.gov 22 Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

2017 Due Dates and Delinquency Dates

NOTE: When the last timely date to file falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the “delinquent if not
postmarked or received by” date falls on the next business day.

Delinquent if Not Postmarked
Form Filing Due Dates or Received By
Employer of Household April 1, 2017
Worker(s) Quarterly Report for filing period of January, May 1, 2017
of Wages and Withholdings February, and March
(DE 3BHW)
July 1, 2017
for filing period of April, May, July 31, 2017
and June
October 1, 2017
for filing period of July, August, October 31, 2017
and September
January 1, 2018
for filing period of October, January 31, 2018
November, and December
Employer of Household
Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax }Jsrnu:;)r/ ;f 58:? January 31, 2018
Return (DE 3HW) (with payment) y

If you cannot pay all or part of your taxes on time, you must still file the DE 3HW. Penalty and interest will
be charged on late payroll tax payments and reports.

NOTE:
Electronic Filers:

e Follow the simple online instructions to submit timely reports through e-Services for Business at
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business.

Paper Filers:

You may be required to electronically submit employment tax returns and wage reports as of
January 1, 2017. Refer to page 13 for information on the e-file and e-pay mandate. If you do not file
online, then:

e When your DE 3BHW or DE 3HW is mailed to the EDD, the postmark date is used to determine if
your form is timely.

e For any quarter that you do not have wages to report, you must check the “No Payroll This Quarter”
box (Item B) on the front of the DE 3BHW and send the form to the EDD. If you have any questions,
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

www.edd.ca.gov 23 Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Correcting Previously Filed Reports

Electronic Filers: File online through e-Services for Business at
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business and follow the simple online instructions to make corrections
to previously filed reports.

Paper Filers: Use the table below to correct your EDD reports with the Tax and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 678).

Payroll Tax
Return (DE 3HW)

Reason for
Form Adjustment How to Make an Adjustment
Correcting Incorrect Complete the DE 678, Section |, and make two entries in Section V
a previously employee for each quarter that was reported incorrectly. For the first entry,
filed Employer Social Security | enter the quarter, incorrect SSN, employee name, and enter zeros
of Household number (SSN) | in total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld fields. For the
Worker(s) reported. second entry, enter the quarter, correct SSN, employee name, total
Quarterly Report subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld.
of Wages and
Withholdings Incorrect Complete the DE 678, Section |, and make two entries in Section V
(DE 3BHW) employee for each quarter that was reported incorrectly. For the first entry,
name enter the quarter, SSN, incorrect employee name, and enter zeros
reported. in total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld fields. For the
second entry, enter the quarter, SSN, correct employee name, total
subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld.
Incorrect Complete the DE 678, Sections | and V. Enter the correct wages
wages and/or PIT information for each employee by quarter. Information
and/or PIT provided in annual amounts will be returned unprocessed.
information NOTE: If the DE 3HW was filed with incorrect information, also
reported for complete Section Il
employees.
No SSN Complete the DE 678, Section |, and make two entries in Section V
reported for for each quarter that was reported incorrectly. For the first entry,
employee. enter the quarter, all zeros (000-00-0000) for the SSN, employee
name, and zeros for total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT
withheld. For the second entry, enter the quarter, SSN, employee
name, total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld.
Employee(s) Complete the DE 678, Sections | and V. Report the employees, their
not previously | SSNs, total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld by quarter.
reported. NOTE: If the DE 3HW was filed with incorrect information, also
complete Section lll.
Correcting Provided Complete the DE 678, Sections I, lll, and IV, with the correct
a previously incorrect Ul, information. If the DE 3BHWs were filed incorrectly, also complete
filed Employer ETT, SDI, Section V of the DE 678 as instructed above.
of Household and/or PIT .
Worker(s) Annual | information. NOTE: If taxes are due, send a payment for the tax amount due

plus penalty and interest, if any, with the DE 678.

The DE 678 and the Instructions for Completing the Tax and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 678-I) are
available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de678.pdf and www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de678i.pdf.
For questions about when or how to use the form, adjusting previously reported payroll taxes or wages, or
to order forms, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

www.edd.ca.gov

DE 8829 Rev. 37 (1-17) (INTERNET)
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

No Longer Paying Wages

If you stop employing people to work in your home and do not intend to hire anyone in the future, you

will need to submit your final Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) (enter the last

date you paid wages), a Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C), and
Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88), and close your employer payroll tax account within 10 days of closing your
business, regardless of the normal due date. If you can, close your employer payroll tax account online
using e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. If you plan to employ people
to work in your home in the future, but do not have payroll this quarter, mark “No Wages Paid This Quarter”
(Item A) on the DE 9 and “No Payroll” (Item C) on the DE 9C. These reports must be filed even if no wages
were paid in the quarter. Contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886 for assistance.

Employers may close their employer payroll tax account online using e-Services for Business at
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business.

When to Change From an Annual Household Employer
to a Quarterly Household Employer

If your total accumulated wages exceed $20,000 during the year, you must notify the EDD
immediately. Contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886 and an EDD representative will
assist you in changing to a Quarterly taxpayer.

Household Employer

As a Quarterly household employer, you will no longer prepare a DE 3BHW and DE 3HW. Each quarter,
you will complete a Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) and a Quarterly Contribution
Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C). You will start filing a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)
coupon along with your tax payment to the EDD at least quarterly. If you are required to change to a
Quarterly household employer mid-year, you must file a DE 3HW to cover the quarters you were an Annual
household employer and a DE 9 and DE 9C for the quarters you were a Quarterly household employer. In
the following years, you will no longer file a DE 3HW.

For an explanation of the responsibilities of a Quarterly household employer, please refer to the “Quarterly
Household Employers” section of this guide, beginning on page 26. This section includes sample forms.

www.edd.ca.gov 25 Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS
Overview

If your total annual accumulated wages (both cash and noncash) are more than $20,000 or if you do not
elect to become an Annual household employer, you must file wage reports quarterly and pay taxes at
least quarterly.

Note: For information on how to elect to become an Annual household employer, refer to page 16.
As a Quarterly household employer, you must submit the following forms:

* Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9).
e Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C).
e Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88).

The EDD offers a full range of online services for filing and paying state payroll taxes. Refer to the
e-Services for Business section on page 14.

Sample forms are available on pages 28, 30, and 32, respectively.

Need assistance in completing the Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)? The EDD has developed a tutorial “I want
to make a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) Payment” and other tutorials to help guide you through e-Services
for Business. Visit www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business_Tutorials.htm

to access this and all e-Services for Business tutorials.

For the latest news and helpful information,
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm.
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QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9)

Overview

Purpose: Quarterly household employers use the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9)
to reconcile payroll tax payments and total subject wages reported for the quarter. You must submit a DE 9
AND a Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) each quarter. If
your DE 9 shows payroll taxes due, prepare a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) and include the correct payment
quarter. Send the DE 88 with the amount due to the EDD using the preprinted DE 88 envelope.

2017 Due Dates for the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9)

Report Covering Due Date Delinquent if Not Filed By
January, February, March April 1, 2017 May 1, 2017
April, May, June July 1, 2017 July 31, 2017
July, August, September October 1, 2017 October 31, 2017
October, November, December January 1, 2018 January 31, 2018

You must file a DE 9 each quarter even if you did not pay wages during the quarter. Penalty and
interest will be charged on late filing of reports. Not having a form is not considered “good cause” for
filing your DE 9 late; refer to page 59 for the definition of “good cause.”

Electronic Filing: File and pay online with e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business.
It's a fast, easy, and secure way to manage your employer payroll tax account online.

Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers.
¢ File returns/reports and make payments.
e View, adjust, and print returns/reports.

e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.
For additional e-Services for Business features, refer to page 14.

Paper Filing: You may be required to electronically submit employment tax returns and wage reports as
of January 1, 2017. Refer to page 13 for information on the e-file and e-pay mandate. If you do not file
online, then:

e The DE 9 will be mailed to you in March, June, September, and December of each year.
OR

e Download the DE 9 online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de9.pdf.

e Order DE 9 forms online at www.edd.ca.gov/forms/.

IMPORTANT: Your Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) and Quarterly Contribution
Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) must be mailed together in an envelope that is
separate from your Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88/DE 88ALL) coupon and payment.

Your Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and State Disability Insurance (SDI)
rates will be entered on the preprinted DE 9 mailed to you. If you paid $1,000 or more in cash wages in a
quarter during the current year and/or in the previous year and your DE 9 does not show Ul and ETT rates,
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

A sample DE 9 is on page 28. Instructions for filing the DE 9 are available online at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de9.pdf.

For additional assistance, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. or
Canada, call 916-464-3502.
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QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

Examples were created using 2016 rates.
Refer to inside front cover for 2017 rates.

EDD 5 nerummns nevonr orwaes (I INININN

Department RETYRN AND REPORT OF WAGES
State of California REVINDER: File your DE 9 and DE 9C together.

PLEASE TYPE THIS FORM—DO NOT ALTER PREPRINTED INFORMATION 00090112
YR QTR
DELINQUENT IF
NOT POSTMARKED
gjggggn 03/31/2017 bUE 04/01/2017 OR RECEVED BY  ()5/01/2017

EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NO.

|| log-opoo-o] Y

File this form DO NOT ALTER THIS AREA
online through e TR e
e-Services for Business at ) T T
www.edd.ca.gov/e-services_for_Business E:”J T
E‘ :: Mo. Day Yr.
a EFFECTIVE
DATE

W A. NO WAGES PAID THIS QUARTER D B. OUT OF BUSINESS/NO EMPLOYEES D

OUT OF BUSINESS DATE
B1. M M D D Y Y Y Y

ADDITIONAL | Y | ) HEEEEEEN

FEIN |

C. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PAID THIS QUARTER ............cooiiiiiiniiinn | 20,000.:001
D. UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (Ul) (Total Employee Wages up to $ per employee per calendar year)
(D1) Ul Rate % (D2) Ul TAXABLE WAGES FOR THE QUARTER (D3) Ul CONTRIBUTIONS
3.4 mes | 700000 = | 238,00 |
E. EMPLOYMENT TRAINING TAX (ETT)
(E1) ETT Rate % (E2) ETT CONTRIBUTIONS
0.1 TIMES Ul Taxable Wages for the Quarter (D2)...... = 7001
F. STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (SDI) (Total Employee Wages up to $ per employee per calendar year)
(F1) SDI Rate % (F2) SDI TAXABLE WAGES FOR THE QUARTER (F3) SDI EMPLOYEE CONTRIBUTIONS WITHHELD
Tves ’ 20,000;001 = ’ 180;001
G. CALIFORNIA PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT) WITHHELD ......................... ’ ; 1
H. SUBTOTAL (Add ftems D3, E2, F3, and G) ... . .vvrerrereeeeeeiineaeeennnn. ’ 425{001
I. LESS: CONTRIBUTIONS AND WITHHOLDINGS PAID FOR THE QUARTER....... ’ 425-:001

(DO NOT INCLUDE PENALTY AND INTEREST PAYMENTS)

J. TOTAL TAXES DUE OR OVERPAID (Item H minus Hem I) ........................ ’ 0.1001

If amount due, prepare a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88), include the correct payment quarter, and mail to: Employment Development
Department, P.O. Box 826276, Sacramento, CA 94230-6276. NOTE: Do not mail payments along with the DE 9 and Quarterly Contribution
Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C), as this may delay processing and result in erroneous penalty and interest charges.
Mandatory Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) filers must remit all SDI/PIT deposits by EFT to avoid a noncompliance penalty.

K. | declare that the above, to the best of my knowledge and belief, is true and correct. If a refund was claimed, a reasonable effort

was made to refund any grroneous deductions to the affected employee(s).
Signatureg‘aﬂt /&mhu Tite _ EMPLOYER Phone (_123 ) 555-7899 pate_04/04/2017

(Owner, Accountant, Preparer, etc.)

SIGN AND MAIL TO: State of California / Employment Development Department / P.O. Box 989071 / West Sacramento CA 95798-9071

DE . -14) (INT| f 2 e
? Rlev.2 (7:14) (NTERNED) Pegeto QLT o 3 s
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QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C)

Overview

Purpose: Quarterly household employers must use the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages
(Continuation) (DE 9C) to report employee wages subject to Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment
Training Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI), and to report Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages. If PIT
is withheld, that amount is also reported on this form. You must submit a DE 9 and DE 9C each quarter.

2017 Due Dates for the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C)

Report Covering Due Date Delinquent if Not Filed By
January, February, March April 1, 2017 May 1, 2017
April, May, June July 1, 2017 July 31, 2017
July, August, September October 1, 2017 October 31, 2017
October, November, December January 1, 2018 January 31, 2018

You must file a DE 9C each quarter even if you did not pay wages during the quarter. Penalty and
interest will be charged on late reports. Not having a form is not considered “good cause” for filing your
DE 9C late; refer to page 59 for the definition of “good cause.”

Electronic Filing: File and pay online with e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business.
It's a fast, easy, and secure way to manage your employer payroll tax account online.

e Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers.
¢ File returns/reports and make payments.
e View, adjust, and print returns/reports.

e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.
For additional e-Services for Business features, refer to page 14.

Paper Filing: You may be required to electronically submit employment tax returns and wage reports as
of January 1, 2017. Refer to page 13 for information on the e-file and e-pay mandate. If you do not file
online, then:

e The DE 9C will be mailed to you in March, June, September, and December of each year.
OR

e Download the DE 9C online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de9c.pdf.

e Order DE 9C forms online at www.edd.ca.gov/forms/.

IMPORTANT: Your Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) and
Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) must be mailed together in an envelope that
is separate from your Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88/DE 88ALL) coupon and payment.

For additional assistance, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. or
Canada, call 916-464-3502.

A sample DE 9C is available on page 30. Instructions for completing the DE 9C are available online at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de9c.pdf.
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FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY
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O. | declare that the information herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

Slgnature%ﬂf\g” /&mﬂu Title EMPLOYER o) Phone(123) 555-7899 Date 04/04/2017

untant, Prepar

MAIL TO: State of California / Employment Development Department / P.O. Box 989071 / West Sacramento CA 95798-9071

DE 9C Rev. 2 (4-15) (INTERNET, Page 1 of 2 cu
@ 9C Rev. 2 (4-15) ( ) ageto M&st Easy, and Convenient!

o w Visit the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov
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QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)

Overview

Purpose: Quarterly household employers use the Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon to pay
Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and State Disability Insurance (SDI)
withheld to the EDD. If Personal Income Tax (PIT) is withheld, that amount is also sent to the EDD with this
coupon. Newly registered employers are sent a DE 88 booklet containing preprinted coupons about six
weeks after registering with the EDD. Newly registered employers can enroll and use e-Services for
Business immediately to make deposits.

e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.

\ment Devclopment Diartment

Electronic Filing:

File and pay online with e-Services for Business. It's a fast, easy, and secure way to manage your employer
payroll tax account online.

Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers.
e File returns/reports and make payments.
e View, adjust, and print returns/reports.

Enroll in e-Services for Business today at
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business.

When Due:
¢ |f you do not withhold Personal Income Tax (PIT) or if accumulated PIT withholdings are less than
$350, taxes (Ul, ETT, SDI, and PIT) are due each quarter on January 1, April 1, July 1, and October 1.
e |f PIT withholdings are $350 or more, State Disability Insurance (SDI) and PIT may need to be
deposited more frequently. Refer to page 36 for the Withholding Deposits table.
e Refer to page 36 for additional deposit information and due dates.

NOTE: A penalty of 15 percent (or 10 percent for periods prior to the 3rd quarter 2015) plus interest
will be charged on late payroll tax deposits.

Paper Filing:
You may be required to electronically submit your payroll tax deposits to the EDD as of January 1, 2017.
Refer to page 13 for information on the e-file and e-pay mandate. If you do not file online, then:

e Download a blank DE 88 online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de88all.pdf.
e Order DE 88 forms using the EDD online order form at www.edd.ca.gov/forms/.

e Complete and mail the tear-out reorder postcard at the back of your DE 88 booklet. Allow six to eight
weeks for delivery. If you do not have a reorder postcard, contact:

Employment Development Department
Document Management Group, MIC 96
Attention: Forms Request Desk

PO Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Phone: 916-654-7041 or 888-745-3886
Outside the U.S. or Canada: 916-464-3502

Detailed instructions are available in the DE 88 coupon booklet or the Instructions for Preparing the Payroll
Tax Deposit DE 88/DE 88ALL Coupon (DE 88ALL-I) available online at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de88alli.pdf. The web-based tutorial “How to Complete a Payroll Tax
Deposit (DE 88 or DE 88ALL)” is available at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/web_based_seminars.htm.
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QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)

Overview (Continued)

For additional assistance, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886. If outside of the U.S. or
Canada, call 916-464-3502.

PLEASE DO NOT USE ANOTHER EMPLOYER’S DE 88 COUPON. The coupons that we provide you are
encoded with your EDD eight-digit employer account number. If you use another employer’s coupon, our
computers will read the EDD employer account number coded on the coupon and apply the payment
accordingly.

You may be required to electronically submit your payroll tax deposits to the EDD as of January 1, 2017.
Refer to page 13 for information on the e-file and e-pay mandate.

The DE 88 booklet has your Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and State
Disability Insurance (SDI) tax rates preprinted on the coupons. If you paid $1,000 or more in cash wages
in a quarter during 2016 and your DE 88 coupon does not show Ul and ETT rates, contact the Taxpayer
Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

Examples were created using 2016 rates.

Refer to inside front cover for 2017 rates.
E/D_\ peromment PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT DE 88ALL (TYPE OR PRINT IN BLACK INK ONLY)
. S -BATMEN 4 PAY DATE: 2. DEPOSIT SCHEDULE: 4. DEPOSIT AMOUNTS:
ate o alifornia Rate TaX
MUST BE COMPLETED (MUSTMARK ONEBOX) ___Hate  Tax
0 3 3 1 1 7 NEXT-DAY A) Ul 2 3 8 00
PO BOX 826276 (Last PAY DATE covered by deposit) T
SACRAMENTO, CA 94230-6276 SEMIWEEKLY B) ETT 7 00
°
. ) . H MONTHLY C) SDI 18 0 00
| File this form Callforni [
online through T auarterly ¢/ D) all Orll;l;_?_ 0 0 0O
I _ . . 4 °
e-Services for I.3usmess gt | SQUARTER | . g Penalty
| www.edd.ca.gov/e-services_for_Business - COVERED |
F Interest
JYwvicNT DEVELOPMENT DEPT ) |
TOTAL
&) ‘pAID 4 2 5 00

PAY THIS AMOUNT

TOTAL LINES ATHROUGH F.

DO NOT FOLD OR STAPLE. .
Make check payable to EDD.

PREPARER’S SIGNATURE

« Qene Lt

TELEPHONE NO.

(123)555-7899

DEPARTMENT USE ONLY DE 88ALL Rev. 18 (11-12)

File online at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business.

For the latest news and helpful information,
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm.
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QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

How to Calculate Taxable Wages

Unemployment Insurance (Ul) tax and Employment Training Tax (ETT) are calculated up to the Ul taxable
wage limit of each employee’s wages per year and are paid by the employer. State Disability Insurance
(SDI) tax is calculated up to the SDI taxable wage limit of each employee’s wages in 2016 and is withheld
from the employee’s wages.

NOTE: Examples were created using 2016 Ul taxable wage limit of $7,000 and SDI taxable wage limits
of $106,742.

Example: An employer has two employees, Jane and John (for illustrative purposes only).

In the first quarter, Jane is paid $10,000 and John is paid $6,000. The employer pays Ul tax and
ETT taxes on $7,000 of Jane’s wages and all of John’s wages. The employer will not pay Ul and
ETT taxes for Jane for the remainder of the year since she has reached the Ul taxable wage
limit. SDI is withheld from both employees’ total wages.

First Quarter Taxable Wages Taxable Wages
UI/ETT SDI

Jane $ 7,000.00 $ 10,000.00

John + 6.000.00 + 6.000.00

Total Taxable Wages $ 13,000.00 $ 16,000.00

In the second quarter, Jane is paid $35,000 and John is paid $500. The employer pays Ul and
ETT on John’s total wages since the Ul taxable wage limit has not been met. The employer
withholds SDI from both employees’ total wages since neither has reached the SDI taxable
wage limit.

Second Quarter Taxable Wages Taxable Wages
UI/ETT SDI

Jane $ 00.00 $ 35,000.00

John + 500.00 +  500.00

Total Taxable Wages $ 500.00 $ 35,500.00

In the third quarter, Jane is paid $35,000 and John is paid $8,000. The employer pays Ul and
ETT on $500 of John’s wages; he has now reached the Ul taxable wage limit. The employer
withholds SDI from both employees’ total wages since neither has reached the SDI taxable
wage limit.

Third Quarter Taxable Wages Taxable Wages
UI/ETT SDI

Jane $ 00.00 $ 35,000.00

John + 500.00 + 8.000.00

Total Taxable Wages $ 500.00 $ 43,000.00

In the fourth quarter, Jane is paid $37,000 and John is paid $15,000. The employer only
withholds SDI taxes on $10,258 of Jane’s wages since she reached the SDI limit. The employer
withholds SDI from John’s total wages since he was not paid more than the SDI taxable wage
limit in the calendar year.

Fourth Quarter Taxable Wages Taxable Wages
UI/ETT SDI
Jane $ 00.00 $ 10,258.00
John + 00.00 + 15,000.00
Total Taxable Wages $ 00.00 $ 25,258.00
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How to Compute

State Disability Insurance (SDI) Withholding

The SDI tax rate (which includes Disability Insurance and Paid Family Leave) for calendar year 2017

is available on the inside cover. The SDI tax is withheld from all cash and noncash wages paid to each
employee in 2017 up to the SDI taxable wage limit. Noncash wages include meals and lodging (refer to
“Values of Meals and Lodging” tables on page 10). Refer to NOTE 2 below if you do not withhold SDI from
your employees’ wages.

If SDI tax is withheld from your employees’ wages, a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon must be sent to
the EDD at least once each quarter and must be postmarked or received by the dates listed in the table
on page 36. If you withhold more than $500 in Personal Income Tax (PIT) from your employees during a
quarter, refer to the California Deposit Requirement table available online at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/timely_payroll_tax_deposits.htm or contact the Taxpayer Assistance
Center at 888-745-3886 to determine when to send your SDI and PIT payment to the EDD.

Example: Total SDI taxable wages for the quarter are $13,000 (for illustrative purposes only). Examples
were created using the 2016 rates. Refer to the inside cover for the 2017 rates.

SDI Taxable Wages $13,000
X SDI Tax Rate x_0.009
SDI Taxes Due $117 (Enter this amount in Box C of the DE 88)

NOTE:

1. If, after paying $750 in cash wages in one or more quarters in a calendar year, you begin paying your
employees less than $750 in the following quarters, you must continue withholding SDI taxes from your
employees’ wages through December of the following year. Once you exceed the threshold on wages,
you continue to be subject through the following year.

2. If you pay the SDI tax without deducting it from your employees’ wages, the amount of SDI you paid
is considered an increase in the employees’ wages and must be used to calculate Unemployment
Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and SDI withholding. The additional amount must also
be included as PIT wages and used to calculate the PIT withholding amount if you and any of your
employees have agreed to withhold PIT.

If you pay Social Security and/or Medicare taxes without deducting them from your employees’ wages,
these payments are not considered an increase in the employees’ wages for Ul, ETT, and SDI but are an
increase in PIT wages that must be used to calculate the PIT withholding amount.

Assistance in calculating subject wages and PIT wages under these circumstances is available online.
Refer to Information Sheet: Social Security/Medicare/State Disability Insurance/Federal IncomeTaxes
Paid by an Employer (DE 231Q) at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231q.pdf or contact the Taxpayer
Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.
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How to Compute

Unemployment Insurance (Ul) Tax and Employment Training Tax (ETT)

If you pay cash and noncash wages of $1,000 or more in a calendar quarter to your household employees, in
addition to withholding State Disability Insurance (SDI), you must pay Ul tax and ETT at the following rates:

e The Ul tax rate for new employers or those newly subject to Ul is 3.4 percent (.034). Your tax rate
will be given to you when you register with the EDD or become subject to Ul. Your tax rates (U,
ETT, and SDI) are updated once each year with a Notice of Contribution Rates and Statement of Ul
Reserve Account (DE 2088) and mailed to you in December, showing the rates for the upcoming
year. Ul tax is paid on cash and noncash wages paid to each employee in 2016 up to the Ul taxable
wage limit. Refer to the inside cover for the 2017 Ul taxable wage limit. Noncash wages include
meals and lodging. Refer to “Values of Meals and Lodging” on page 10.

e The ETT rate is set by law at 0.1 percent (.001) on your Ul taxable wages. However, if you have a
negative Ul reserve account balance on June 30, you will not be required to pay ETT the following
calendar year. The annual DE 2088 will show whether your rate is zero (0) or 0.1 percent (.001).

Example: You have two employees and your total Ul taxable wages for the quarter are $12,000 (for
illustrative purposes only). The Ul tax rate is 3.4 percent (.034). The ETT rate is 0.1 percent
(.001). Examples were created using standard starting rates, your Ul rate may differ.

Ul Taxable Wages $12,000

X Ul Tax Rate x _0.034
Ul Taxes Due $ 408 (Enter this amount in Box A of the DE 88)

Ul Taxable Wages $12,000

X ETT Rate x_0.001
ETT Due $ 12 (Enter this amount in Box B of the DE 88)

The Ul tax and ETT amounts are paid by the employer and are not withheld from employees’ wages.

Your payroll taxes and a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon must be submitted to the EDD each quarter,
unless you filed electronically.

File and pay online using e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. It’s fast,
easy, and secure. Refer to page 14 for more information

Learn more about payroll taxes through our seminars and online courses at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/.
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2017 Due Dates and Delinquency Dates

File and pay online using e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. It’s fast,
easy, and secure. Refer to page 14 for more information.

Withholding Deposits

If You Have
Accumulated PIT PIT and SDI Deposit
Form Calendar Quarter Withholding Of Due By?
Payroll Tax Deposit Less than $350 May 1, 20173
(DE 88) January, February, and
st
March (1 Quarter) 6350 - $500 15 of the
following month
Less than $350 July 31, 20173
April, May, and June
nd
(2" Quarter) 6350 - $500 15 of the
following month
3
July, August, Less than $350 October 31, 2017
and September
(3" Quarter) ] 15% of the
$350 - $500 following month
3
October, November, Less than $350 January 31, 2018
and December
(4™ Quarter) ] 15" of the
$350 - $500 following month

' If you withhold more than $500 in PIT, refer to the California Deposit Requirement table available online at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/timely_payroll_tax_deposits.htm or contact the Taxpayer Assistance
Center at 888-745-3886 to determine the correct due date of your tax payment.

2 If the deposit due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the due date is extended to the next
business day.

3 For household employers who have paid $1,000 or more in wages in a calendar quarter, a deposit of
Unemployment Insurance (Ul) and Employment Training Tax (ETT) not previously paid is also due each
quarter by these due dates.

NOTE:

e When your DE 88 is mailed to the EDD, the postmark date is used to determine if your payment
is timely. Penalty and interest will be charged on each late payroll tax payment.

e You may be required to electronically submit your payroll tax deposits to the EDD as of
January 1, 2017. Refer to page 13 for information on the e-file and e-pay mandate.
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2017 Due Dates and Delinquency Dates (Continued)

File and pay online using e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. It’s fast,
easy, and secure. Refer to page 14 for more information.

Withholding Deposits
To ensure timely settlement of your electronic payments, please note:
e An Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) Automated Clearing House (ACH) debit transaction must be
completed before 3 p.m., Pacific Time, on or before the last timely date to ensure a timely

settlement date.

e EFT ACH credit transactions are processed based on individual bank requirements. Ask your bank
what day you should report your payment to ensure a timely settlement date.

Quarterly Reports

Delinquent if Not Postmarked

Form Filing Due Dates or Received By
Quarterly Contribution Return April 1, 2017
and Report of Wages (DE 9) for filing period of January, May 1, 2017
and February, and March
Quarterly Contribution Return and July 1, 2017
Report of Wages (Continuation) for filing period of April, May, and July 31, 2017
(DE 9C) June

October 1, 2017
for filing period of July, August, October 31, 2017
and September

January 1, 2018
for filing period of October, January 31, 2018
November, and December

If you cannot pay all or part of your taxes on time, you must still file the DE 9 and DE 9C. Penalty and
interest will be charged on each late payroll tax payment and report/return.

NOTE:

e When your DE 9 and DE 9C are mailed to the EDD, the postmark date is used to determine if your
returns are timely.

e For any quarter that you do not have wages to report, you must check the “No Wages Paid this
Quarter” (Item A) on the DE 9 and the “No Payroll” box (Item C) on the DE 9C and send the forms
to the EDD. If you have any questions, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

* You may be required to electronically submit your employment tax returns, wage reports, and
payroll tax deposits to the EDD as of January 1, 2017. Refer to page 13 for information on the e-file
and e-pay mandate.
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Correcting Previously Submitted Payroll Tax Deposits

Previously submitted Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupons can be corrected online through e-Services for
Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business.

The following two tables clarify when to notify the EDD of adjustments and how to make them.

Form Reason for Adjustment How to Make an Adjustment
Correcting Overpaid Ul, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT on On the next DE 88 for the same calendar
previously a DE 88 prior to filing your Quarterly quarter, reduce the amount of taxes due
submitted Contribution Return and Report of by the amount of the overpayment. Do not
Payroll Tax | Wages (DE 9) and Quarterly Contribution | show credits on the DE 88.

Deposit Return and Report of Wages
(DE 88) (Continuation) (DE 9C).
coupons Overpaid Ul, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT on a Claim a refund on line J when you file your

DE 88 prior to filing DE 9/DE 9C and you | DE 9 at the end of the quarter.
cannot reduce the overpayment on your
next deposit within the quarter.

Overwithheld PIT and DO NOT:
e DE 9 was filed. e Refund overwithheld PIT to the
e DE 9C was filed. employee.

e Change the California PIT
withholding amount shown on the
Form W-2.

e File a claim for refund with the EDD.

The employee will receive a credit for the
PIT overwithholdings when filing a California
State income tax return with the Franchise
Tax Board (FTB).

Underpaid Ul, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT prior to | File a DE 88 and pay the amount due,

e Form W-2 was issued to the
employee.

filing your DE 9/DE 9C. including penalty and interest. Indicate the
payroll date on the DE 88.

Underpaid Ul, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT and Complete a DE 88 and pay the additional

your DE 9/DE 9C was filed. amount due for the quarter, including any

penalty and interest, or when you receive a
Statement of Account (DE 2176) in the mail,
pay the balance due.

Allocated the wrong amounts to specific Do not adjust. The EDD will make the
funds on a DE 88. necessary adjustments at the end of the
quarter when your DE 9 is filed.

When written permission is obtained from an employee, you are authorized to adjust any overwithheld or
underwithheld California PIT from the employee if the adjustment is made within the same calendar year
and before the IRS Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2) is issued.

Overwithheld SDI and/or PIT must be credited or refunded to your employee before you can take a credit
or receive a refund from the EDD. You should obtain a receipt from the employee whenever a credit
adjustment or repayment of overwithheld tax is made.

NOTE: A claim for credit or refund must be filed within three years of the delinquent date for the quarter
being adjusted.
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Correcting Previously Filed Reports

Correct previously filed reports online at e-Services for Business at
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. Reports filed by paper may also be corrected online.

The Instructions for Completing the Quarterly Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ-I) is
available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de9adji.pdf. Contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at
888-745-3886 for additional assistance.

Reason for
Form Adjustment How to Make an Adjustment

Correcting Provided incorrect | File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections | and Il with the correct

previously Ul, ETT, SDI, and/ | information. If DE 9C forms were filed incorrectly, also complete

filed Quarterly or PIT information. | Section Il of the DE 9ADJ as instructed above.

Contribution NOTE: If taxes are due, send a payment for the tax amount

Return and Report plus penalty and interest, if any, with the DE 9ADJ.

of Wages (DE 9)

Correcting Incorrect File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections | and Ill. Section llI

previously employee Social requires two entries. For the first entry, enter the quarter,

filed Quarterly Security number incorrect SSN, employee name, and enter zeros in total subject

Contribution (SSN) or name wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld fields. For the second

Return and reported. entry, enter the corrected information. For examples, refer to

Report of Wages page 2 of the DE 9ADJ-I Instructions.

(Continuation) . _ .

(DE 9C) Incorrect wages File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections | and Il with correct wages
and/or PIT and/or PIT information for each employee by quarter. For
information examples, refer to page 2 of the DE 9ADJ-I Instructions.
for employees NOTE: If DE 9 has been filed with incorrect information, also
previously complete Section 1.
reported.

No SSN reported File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections | and lll. Section IlI

for employee. requires two entries. For the first entry, enter the quarter, all
zeros for the SSN filed, employee name, and zeros in subject
wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld fields. In the second entry,
enter the corrected information. For examples, refer to page 2
of the DE 9ADJ-I Instructions.

Employee(s) File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections | and Il with unreported

not previously employee(s) SSN and full name, total subject wages, PIT

reported. wages, and PIT withheld by quarter.
NOTE: If a DE 9 has been filed with incorrect information, also
complete Section Il.

A sample DE 9ADJ is available on pages 40 and 41.
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FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

Examples were created using 2016 rates.
Refer to inside front cover for 2017 rates.

s EDmplloymen: STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS
evelopmen A claim for refund or credit must
ED Department QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION AND be filed within three years of the
Staie of California WAGE ADJUSTMENT FORM last timely filing date of the quarter
being adjusted.

You can file this adjustment form online through the Employment Development Department’s (EDD) e-Services for Business.
Please visit our website at www.edd.ca.gov. See Instructions for Completing the Quarterly Contribution and Wage
Adjustme ~t Form ("= 9ADJ-1) for completing this form.

SECT) ™' '- (P YEAR /QUARTER
; File this form

(?n“ne through EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NO.
e-Services for Business at | 000-0000-0
www.edd.ca.gov/e-services_for_Business

~
REAS: ... v __ 31Ai.24TH QUARTER BY 9,000.00, DID NOT REPORT ONE EMPLOYEE
) (2 (3)
SECTION II: DIFFERENCES
ADJUSTMENT TO WAGES AND CONTRIBUTIONS Previously reported Should have reported Debit/(Credit)
A. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES......cccccooviiiiiieninicieeieeereseieeens 9,000400 18,000}00 9,000400
B. UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (Ul) Taxable Wages ........ 7,000100 14,000}00 7,000400
C. STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (SDI) Taxable Wages .... 9,000400 18,000}00 9,000J00
D. EMPLOYER'S Ul CONTRIBUTIONS (Ul Rate 3 . 4 % times B).. 238100 476400 238400
E. EMPLOYMENT TRAINING TAX (ETT Rate 0. 1 % times B)... 7100 14100 7400
F. STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE* (SDI) Withheld (SDI Rate
1.0 % times C; complete Box 1 below if credit on row F.).. 90100 180}00 90400
G. PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT) Withheld (Complete
Box 2 below if credit on N G.) .......cov.ovveeeoeeeeeeeereeeeeeennan 0}00 300f00 300400
H. SUBTOTAL (Lines D, E, F,and G) . ......cccooveiriiiicennn 335400 970}00 635400
. Penalty (Refer to instructions on DE GADUJ-1) ......oiiiiiiiiiii ettt 57.00
J. Interest (Refer to inStructions on DE GADUJ-1) .....ooiiiii ettt e ene e 0.00
K. Erroneous SDI Deductions not refunded (See BoX 1, NOTE DEIOW) .........ooiiiiiiviiioiiieeiiieceeeceee e 0.00
L. Less contributions and withholdings paid for the qQUANEr ..ot 400.00
M. Total taxes due or overpaid (H2 + I+ J + K) = L ..o 627.00

* Includes Paid Family Leave amount.

BOX 1. STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE OVERPAYMENTS (Must be completed for credit to be allowed.)
1. Was the credit claimed in column 3 withheld from the wages of employee(s)?.
If yes, has this amount been refunded to employee(s)? ..........ccceevivciiiiiccnnn
If not refunded: employee(s) no longer employed, unable to locate.
NOTE: The EDD cannot refund these contributions to you unless you first refund the erroneous deductions to the employee(s).
(List each employee name, Social Security Number, and amount of SDI not refunded.)

BOX 2. PERSONAL INCOME TAX OVERPAYMENTS (Must be completed for credit to be allowed.)
If you paid the Employment Development Department (EDD) more than the amount of California PIT withheld from wages of employee(s),
you can adjust the amount reported by using this form. The EDD will allow credit adjustments prior to the issuance of Forms W-2. If you
have already issued Forms W-2, please read the additional information on page 2 before proceeding.

Yes [] No
Yes [ No

1. Was the credit claimed in column 3 withheld from the pay of employee(s)? . Yes [ No
If yes, has this credit been refunded to employee(s)? ........cccovvvviiiivniiinnens . Yes [ No
2. Was the credit claimed in column 3 included on Forms W-2 issued to employee(s)? [ Yes No

Be sure to sign this declaration: | declare that the information herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

Signatureﬁsf\-a" /ém,thv Title EMPLOYER Phone (123 ) 555-7899 Date 05/01/2017

(Owner, Accountant, Preparer, etc.)

SIGN AND MAIL TO: Employment Development Department / P.O. Box 989073 / West Sacramento, CA 95798-9073

DE 9ADJ Rev. 3 (7-13) (INTERNET) Page 10f2 cu
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QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

Examples were created using 2016 rates.
Refer to inside front cover for 2017 rates.
«~ ~ Employment
ED Development
Department
—— - - QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION AND WAGE ADJUSTMENT FORM
State of California
EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NO.
BUSINESS NAME _JOHN AND JANE SMITH 000-0000-0
SE T'ON' U2 RLV " AGE AND WITHHOLDING ADJUSTMENTS
Tt h~- ~ported; if unchanged, leave field blank. Correcting the Social Security Number or Name
File this form .or Completing the Quarterly Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ-1),
. _auctions.
online through ;
. . _.«LOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST)
e-Services for Business at ~UOMAS T TAYLOR
www.edd.ca.gov/e-services_for_Business | 'OTAL SUBJECTWAGES : PIT WAGES : PIT WITHHELD 1
- 9,000;00 9,000.00 150,00
3 EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST)
. - . ‘ , ,
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES | PIT WAGES ' PIT WITHHELD :
YEAR/QUARTER l SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAVE (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) ' '
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD
| YEAR/ QUARTER | SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) ' '
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD
rVEAH/QUARTEH ‘ SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER ENPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) ‘ ‘
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES | PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD \
‘ YEAR/QUARTER | SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST)
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES . PIT WAGES H PIT WITHHELD ,
| YEAR/ QUARTER | SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST)
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES | PIT WAGES : PIT WITHHELD :
\ YEAR/ QUARTER ‘ SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST)
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES | PIT WAGES ' PIT WITHHELD ' B |
YEAR/ QUARTER | SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST)
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES | PIT WAGES : PIT WITHHELD : i
[ YEAR/QUARTER \ SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST)
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES | PIT WAGES ' PIT WITHHELD : q
F’EAH/QUARTER ‘ SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST)
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES | PIT WAGES : PIT WITHHELD : 1
lﬁm/oumren | SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST)
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES | PIT WAGES : PIT WITHHELD ' j
DE 9ADJ Rev. 3 (7-13) (INTERNET) Page 2 of 2
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No Longer Paying Wages

If you stop employing people to work in your home and do not intend to hire anyone in the future, you

will need to submit your final Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) (enter the last

date you paid wages), a Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C), and
Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) and close your employer payroll tax account within 10 days of closing your
business, regardless of the normal due date. If you can, close your employer payroll tax account online
using e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. If you plan to employ people
to work in your home in the future, but do not have payroll this quarter, mark “No Wages Paid This Quarter”
(Item A) on the DE 9 and “No Payroll” (Item C) on the DE 9C. These reports must be filed even if no wages
were paid in the quarter. Contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886 for assistance.

Employers may close their employer payroll tax account online using e-Services for Business at
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business.

For the latest news and helpful information,
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm.

www.edd.ca.gov 42 Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
DE 8829 Rev. 37 (1-17) (INTERNET)



REPORTING NEW EMPLOYEES

REPORTING NEW EMPLOYEES

Purpose: All employers are required by law to report all newly hired or rehired employees to the New
Employee Registry (NER) within 20 days of their start-of-work date, which is the first day services
were performed for wages.

e NEWLY HIRED employees are those individuals who have not previously been included on your payroll.
e REHIRED employees are those individuals who were previously included on your payroll, left your
employment, and were rehired after a separation of at least 60 consecutive days.

The NER assists California’s Department of Child Support Services and Department of Justice in locating
parents to collect delinquent child support payments. Employers must also report the actual start-of-work
date (not the date hired) for each newly hired employee so that the NER data can be cross-matched to the
Unemployment Insurance (Ul) benefit file. This will result in the early detection and prevention of Ul
benefit overpayments.

Filing Options for Reporting New or Rehired Employees
The following options are available to report new or rehired employees:
1. File online at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. It's fast, easy, and secure.

2. Download the Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34) form online at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de34.pdf.

3. Order DE 34 forms using our online order form at www.edd.ca.gov/forms.

When Due: You must report all newly hired employees (refer to “Who Are Household Employees?” on
page 4) within 20 days of the start-of-work date, which is the first day of work. Any employee that is rehired
or returns to work after a separation of at least 60 consecutive days must also be reported within the 20 days.

The following information must be included when reporting new employees:

Employer Information Employee Information
EDD eight-digit employer account number (If applicable) | First name, middle initial, and last name
Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) Social Security number (SSN)
Business name Home address
Business address Start-of-work date

Contact person and phone number

A sample DE 34 is available on page 44.

Filing an Informal Report

If you are not able to obtain a DE 34 form by the due date, file an informal report or a copy of the
employee’s Form W-4 to avoid penalty and interest charges. Your informal report should include all the
information listed in the above table.

Mail or fax your new employee information to:

Employment Development Department
Document Management Group, MIC 96
PO Box 997016

West Sacramento, CA 95799-7016

Fax: 916-319-4400

NOTE: If the people who work in your home are independent contractors, you do not need to report them
to the EDD (refer to “Who Are Household Employees?” on page 4). The requirement for businesses
and government entities to report independent contractors does not apply to household employers.

If you are not sure if the people who work in your home are employees or independent contractors,
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886 for assistance.
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FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

= e g Employment REPORT OF NEW EMPLOYEE(S)
Development . . . . .
E D Department NOTE: Failure to provide all of the information below may result in @
ST e California this form being rejected and/or a penalty being assessed. 00340600
DATE CA EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NUMBER ~ BRANCH CODE FEDERAL ID NUMBER
030717 00000000 XXXXXXXXX
BUSINESS NAME CONTACT PERSON PHONE NUMBER
JOHN AND JANE SMITH JANE SMITH 123-555-7789
A 7=SS == cITY STATE ZIP CODE
P( ANYTOWN CA 12345
File this form
. M EMPLOYEE LAST NAME
online through E  MILLER
e-Services for Business at .
. q CEDAR STREET
www.edd.ca.gov/e-services_for_Business
- - STATE ZIP CODE START-OF-WORK DATE
CA 12345 022517
EMPLOYEE FIRST NAME Mi EMPLOYEE LAST NAME
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER STREET NUMBER STREET NAME UNIT/APT
CITY STATE 2ZIP CODE START-OF-WORK DATE
EMPLOYEE FIRST NAME Mi EMPLOYEE LAST NAME
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER STREET NUMBER STREET NAME UNIT/APT
CITY STATE ZIP CODE START-OF-WORK DATE
EMPLOYEE FIRST NAME MI EMPLOYEE LAST NAME
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER STREET NUMBER STREET NAME UNIT/APT
CITY STATE ZIP CODE START-OF-WORK DATE
EMPLOYEE FIRST NAME Mi EMPLOYEE LAST NAME
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER STREET NUMBER STREET NAME UNIT/APT
CITY STATE ZIP CODE START-OF-WORK DATE
EMPLOYEE FIRST NAME Mi EMPLOYEE LAST NAME
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER STREET NUMBER STREET NAME UNIT/APT
CITY STATE ZIP CODE START-OF-WORK DATE
DE 34 Rev. 9 (1-15) MAIL TO: Employment Development Department / P.O. Box 997016, Document Management Group, MIC 96 CuU
@ West Sacramento, CA 95799-7016 or fax to 916-319-4400
INTERNET
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FEDERAL WAGE AND TAX STATEMENT (FORM W-2)

FEDERAL WAGE AND TAX STATEMENT (FORM W-2)

As an employer, you are required to prepare a federal Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2) for each
of your employees. You must provide your employees with their 2017 Form W-2 by January 31, 2018.*
Prepare the Form W-2 on the federal/state four-part paper form.

If you need information on Form W-2 reporting requirements, refer to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
Employer’s Tax Guide (Publication 15, Circular E). For instructions on completing Form W-2, refer to the
IRS publication 2017 General Instructions for Forms W-2 and W-3 available online at the IRS website at
www.irs.gov or contact the IRS at 800-829-3676.

In addition to the federal information required, you must include California Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages,
PIT withheld, and State Disability Insurance (SDI) withheld in the following Form W-2 boxes:

FORM W-2
Box Enter
Box 16 (State wages, tips, etc.) California PIT wages
Box 17 (State income tax) California PIT withheld (if any)
Box 19 (Local income tax) The abbreviation “CASDI” and SDI withheld

NOTE:

e |f Box 19 has local taxes, use Box 14, Other. If no boxes are available, you are required to provide
your employees with a separate written statement containing:

o Name of household employer, address, Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN), and the
EDD eight-digit employer account numbers.

o The employee’s name, address, and Social Security number.
o The amount of SDI withheld and/or paid directly by you.
e |f the wages were not subject to SDI, show “CASDI 0” (zero).

e [f you paid SDI taxes without withholding the SDI from the employee’s wages, you should show
the SDI taxes as if they were withheld and increase the amount you report according to the formula
shown on the Information Sheet: Social Security/Medicare/State Disability Insurance/Federal
Income Taxes Paid by an Employer (DE 231Q). The DE 231Q is available online at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231q.pdf.

Generally, the amount reported as California PIT wages on Form W-2 in Box 16 is the same as the federal
wages (Box 1).

If you discover an error on a previously issued Form W-2, refer to the IRS publication 2017 General
Instructions for Forms W-2 and W-3 for instructions on how to complete an IRS Corrected Wage and Tax
Statement (Form W-2C).

Send Forms W-2 and Forms W-2C to your employees and the Social Security Administration. Do not send the
“state” copies of Forms W-2 and Forms W-2C to the State of California (the EDD or Franchise Tax Board).

* Employers failing to provide a Form W-2 to each employee, or who furnish a false or fraudulent statement,
are subject to a penalty of fifty dollars ($50) for each such failure as imposed under Section 13052 of
the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC). Employers may also be subject to an additional
penalty for failure to file informational returns (Form W-2 or Form 1099-MISC) for misclassified employees
as provided under Section 13052.5 of the CUIC. The amount of the penalty is determined based upon
the unreported remuneration for personal services multiplied by the maximum rate as provided under
Section 17041 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. Contact the EDD Taxpayer Assistance Center at
888-745-3886 for additional information.
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Earned Income Tax Credit Information Act

California now offers its own Earned Income Tax Credit (CA EITC) starting with calendar year 2015 tax
returns. For more information on qualifying for the CA EITC, visit
www.fth.ca.gov/individuals/fag/net/900.shtml.

Effective January 1, 2008, all employers are required to notify all of their employees of the federal Earned
Income Tax Credit (EITC).

Employers who are subject to and required to provide Unemployment Insurance to their employees must
provide EITC notification to the employee by either handing it directly to the employee or mailing it to the

employee’s last known address. Posting of this information on an employee bulletin board will not satisfy
the notification requirement.

The notification shall be provided at the same time or within one week, before or after, the employer provides
the employee with an annual wage summary, including, but not limited to, a Form W-2 or a Form 1099. The
notice shall include instructions on how to obtain any notices available from the Internal Revenue Service
(IRS) for this purpose, including, but not limited to, the IRS Notice 797, or any successor notice or form, or any
notice created by you, as long as it contains substantially the same language as the notice below.

“Based on your annual earnings, you may be eligible to receive the earned income tax credit
from the federal government. The earned income tax credit is a refundable federal income
tax credit for low-income working individuals and families. The earned income tax credit has
no effect on certain welfare benefits. In most cases, earned income tax credit payments will
not be used to determine eligibility for Medicaid, supplemental security income, food stamps,
low-income housing, or most temporary assistance for needy families’ payments. Even if
you do not owe federal taxes, you must file a tax return to receive the earned income tax
credit. Be sure to fill out the earned income tax credit form in the federal income tax return
booklet. For information regarding your eligibility to receive the earned income tax credit,
including information on how to obtain the IRS Notice 797, or any other necessary forms and
instructions, contact the Internal Revenue Service by calling 800-829-3676 or through its
website at www.irs.gov.”

For the latest news and helpful information,
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm.

Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services at
www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm.
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WHAT PAYROLL RECORDS MUST BE KEPT?

WHAT PAYROLL RECORDS MUST BE KEPT?

Employers are required to keep payroll records for at least four years. If you believe that you are not a
subject employer or your employees are exempt, state law requires that you maintain records of payments
made to people who provide household services for at least eight years in case of an employment tax audit.

Your records must provide a true and accurate account of all workers (employed, no longer employed, or
on a leave of absence, and independent contractors) and all payments made. Records must include the
following information for each worker:

e Worker’s:
o Full name (first name, middle initial, and last name).
o Social Security number.
e Date hired, rehired, or returned to work after a temporary layoff.
e | ast date services were performed.
¢ Place of work.
e Money paid:
o Dates and amounts of payment.
o Pay period covered.

o Cash or cash value of in-kind wages (such as meals, lodging, bonuses, and gifts).
(Refer to “Values of Meals and Lodging” on page 10.)

e The amounts withheld from employee wages.
e Disbursement records showing payments to workers.

e Other information necessary to determine payments to workers.

You may use any payroll record that provides the information listed above. An Employee Earnings Record
sample is provided on page 48.

If you have any questions about the records you must keep, refer to Information Sheet: Employment Tax
Audit Process (DE 231TA). The DE 231TA is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231ta.pdf
or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

Would you like hands-on experience on how to calculate taxes and complete payroll tax forms?

Consider attending one of the EDD State Payroll Tax Workshops. Learn more or register for a seminar
online at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/ or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at
888-745-3886.
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Employee Earnings Record Sample

Date Hired/Rehired/

Employee’s Returned to Work
Name: from Layoff:
Social
Security Last Date Services
Number: Were Performed:
Reason for
For Year Ending: Separation:
Withholdings
State
v'\ll'otal | Person; : Federal Net Wages
ages ncorrlle a Income Tax (Total
Earned (Optional (Optional Wages
Cash Noncash (Cash + State for for Earned-
Wages Wages Noncash | Disability | Household Social Household With-
Pay Period Earned Earned Wages) Insurance | Employers) [ Security Medicare | Employers) | holdings)
Year Totals
Employer’s
Name:
Employee’s
Work Address:
www.edd.ca.gov 48 Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE

Your Reserve Account

If you pay $1,000 or more in cash wages to household employees during a calendar quarter, you are required
to pay Unemployment Insurance (Ul) tax and Employment Training Tax (ETT) on each employee’s wages

up to the Ul taxable wage limit, each calendar year. Your Ul reserve account is a record of the Ul taxes you
have paid (credits) and the Ul benefits that the EDD has paid (charges) to your former employees who were
found eligible to receive Ul benefits or who qualified for reduced Ul benefits when working less than full-time
for you. Your Ul reserve account is a “paper” account for recordkeeping purposes and has no cash value.
The difference between the credits and charges is the reserve account balance, which may be positive or
negative. Your account balance is used only to determine your annual Ul tax rate. If you have a negative
reserve account balance as of June 30, you will not have to pay ETT for the following calendar year.

Notices

When your former employee (“claimant”) applies for Ul benefits, the last employer reported by the claimant
will receive a Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed (DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER). Only the last
employer of record will receive this notice to advise them that the claimant has filed a Ul claim, and it
includes the reason the claimant stated for no longer working.

If you have any information that would affect the claimant’s eligibility for Ul benefits, please complete the

form and return it to the EDD within 10 days of the date the notice was mailed to you. If you believe that your
Ul reserve account should not be charged for the benefits, it is important that you provide information by the
required deadline explaining why the claimant was terminated or the reasons the claimant gave for voluntarily
quitting. The DE 1101CZ and DE 1101ER includes instructions that explain how to complete the form. Your
information is needed to gather relevant facts that will assist the EDD in determining if the claimant is eligible
to receive Ul benefits. Failure to respond timely may result in an increase to your Ul tax rate.

For added convenience, employers and third-party administrators can elect to electronically receive and
respond to the DE 1101CZ through the State Information Data Exchange System (SIDES). To learn more
or subscribe to SIDES, visit www.edd.ca.gov/sides.

If you respond to the notice within the legally required 10 days of the notice date and provide information
why you think the claimant should not be eligible for Ul benefits, the EDD will send you a Notice of
Determination and/or Ruling (DE 1080EZ). The DE 1080EZ advises you whether or not the claimant is
eligible for Ul benefits and if your Ul reserve account will be charged for Ul benefits if the claimant is found
eligible based on the reason for separation from your employment. If you fail to respond to the DE 1101CZ
or DE 1M01ER, or respond untimely, you are not entitled to a determination and/or a ruling. However, if you
respond untimely and provide the reason you are submitting the eligibility information untimely, the EDD will
determine if you had good cause for not submitting your response timely. If there is a finding of good cause,
you will be entitled to a determination and/or ruling. Also, if you respond untimely with eligibility information,
the EDD will conduct a determination of eligibility for Ul benefits with the claimant regardless of whether you
are entitled to a notice of determination and/or a ruling.

If the EDD finds that a claimant is eligible to receive Ul benefits, a Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment
Insurance (Ul) Claim (DE 1545) is mailed to all base-period employers after the first benefit payment is sent
to the claimant. If you are a base-period employer, you will receive a DE 1545. The DE 1545 will inform you
of the wages used to establish the Ul claim and the amount of potential charges to your Ul reserve account.
All or part of the benefits paid to the claimant may be charged to your Ul reserve account.

If you believe that your Ul reserve account should not be charged for the benefits, it is important that you
complete the form and return it by the required deadline to the EDD as indicated on the form. The DE 1545
includes instructions on how to complete the form. You will need to explain why your account should not
be charged for the Ul benefits. If you previously responded to a DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER for the same
employee concerning the same separation or other issue, you do not need to return the DE 1545.
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However, if you have new information that may affect the claimant’s eligibility for Unemployment
Insurance (Ul) benefits then you must report the new information to the EDD. Please complete the DE 1545
timely by returning it within 15 calendar days from the mail date of the notice. If the wage information is
incorrect, you must submit a corrected copy of the wages within 20 days from the mail date of the notice.
When a claimant is approved for the California Training Benefits (CTB) program, a Notice of Potential
Increased Liability for Training Extension Benefits (DE 1545TE) is mailed to all base-period employers. This
notice will inform you of the maximum amount of potential benefits payable, including training extension
benefits and the amount of potential charges to your Ul reserve account. If you believe that your Ul reserve
account should not be charged for the training benefits, your protest must be mailed by the date indicated
on the form. The response should provide information explaining why the claimant should not be eligible for
CTB under the California Unemployment Insurance Code section cited. If the DE 1545TE indicates that you
previously received a favorable ruling, your account will not be charged and no response will be necessary.

To maintain the integrity of the Ul program, the EDD investigates cases of potential imposter fraud

and identity theft. As part of our investigation, you may receive a Request for Additional Information

(DE 1326ER) asking you to validate information provided to us by an individual who has filed a claim for Ul
benefits. The DE 1326ER is mailed to the last employer and base-period employers to request additional
identifying information to validate the identity of the individual. Your prompt response to the DE 1326ER
will protect your employer payroll tax account from charges if the determination of eligibility results in a
disqualification, and it will assist the EDD in maintaining the integrity of the Ul Fund.

Additional information on protecting your employer payroll tax account from fraudulent Ul claims, protecting
your employees, and fighting imposter fraud can be found online at
www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/fraud_prevention.htm.

NOTE: You should keep copies of all your responses to the EDD notices for your records.

Notices of Determination, Ruling, or Modification

You will receive a notice from the EDD in response to the timely information reported regarding a claimant’s
eligibility for Ul benefits on the DE 1101CZ, DE 1101ER, DE 1545, or DE 1545TE. Depending on the
specific circumstances involved, you will receive one of the following notices:

Notice Purpose
DE 1080EZ: Sent to an employer who responds timely to a DE 1101CZ, DE 1101ER, DE 1545,
¢ Notice of or DE 1545TE, or who submits timely correspondence with claimant eligibility

Determination [ information other than information regarding a voluntary quit or discharge.

e Notice of Sent to an employer who responds timely to a DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER with
Determination/ | information regarding a voluntary quit or discharge. This notice informs the
Ruling employer whether or not their reserve account will be charged for Ul benefits paid.

e Notice of Sent to an employer who responds timely to a DE 1545 with information regarding
Ruling separation(s) that occurred within the base period. This notice informs the employer

whether or not their reserve account will be charged for Ul benefits paid.

DE 1080M: Sent to an employer who previously received a DE 1080EZ stating that the claimant
e Notice of was disqualified from receiving Ul benefits. The purpose of this form is to inform
Modification the employer that the claimant’s disqualification period has ended and the claimant

has met the criteria required to receive Ul benefits. This notice does not change the
original ruling issued to the employer.
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Appeal Rights

You have the right to file an appeal if you do not agree with the EDD decision about:

e Aformer employee’s eligibility to receive Ul benefits.
e Charges made to your Ul reserve account due to paid Ul benefits.

You must send your written appeal to the EDD within 30 days of the mail date of the Notice of Determination
and/or Ruling (DE 1080EZ). The EDD will send you an acknowledgment of receipt and registration of

your appeal with the phone number for the Office of Appeals hearing the case. The Office of Appeals will
schedule a hearing with an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). Both you and your former employee will be
notified of the date, time, and place of the hearing at least 10 days before the hearing date. If you are filing
an appeal to a Notice of Ruling (DE 1080EZ), the employee is not considered a party to the proceeding and
is not notified of the hearing. The ALJ will conduct a hearing and give all interested parties the opportunity to
present their evidence. The ALJ will consider the facts presented at the hearing and issue a written decision
that is mailed to all concerned parties.

If you do not agree with the ALJ’s decision, you may appeal to the California Unemployment Insurance
Appeals Board (CUIAB). The CUIAB reviews appeals to decisions rendered by the ALJ. Both the CUIAB
and the ALJs operate impartially and independently of the EDD.

The CUIAB provides the following publications to assist in filing an appeal and preparing for an
administrative hearing:

e Appeals Procedure (DE 1433)

e Office of Appeals Tax Hearing Information Pamphlet (DE 6412)

e Twenty-Seven Ways to Avoid Losing Your Unemployment Appeal (DE 1432)

For copies of these publications, visit the State of California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board
website at www.cuiab.ca.gov/forms.asp or write to:

California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board
Sacramento Office of Appeals

2400 Venture Oaks Way, Suite 100

Sacramento, CA 95833-4224

If you have any questions about appeals:

¢ Access the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/first_level_appeal.htm.
e Access the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board website at www.cuiab.ca.gov.

e Call the EDD Unemployment Insurance (Ul) customer service at 800-300-5616 or go online at
www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/contact_ui.htm.
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Statement of Charges to Reserve Account (DE 428T)

Each September, the annual Statement of Charges to Reserve Account (DE 428T) is mailed to you. This
statement notifies you of the Unemployment Insurance (Ul) benefit charges and credits to your reserve
account from July 1 through June 30 of the previous fiscal year. Charges are itemized and based on

the Ul benefits paid to your former employees. Charges to your reserve account may increase your

Ul contribution rate for the next calendar year. It is important to review your statement carefully and respond
timely if you do not agree with the charges. You have 60 days from the issue date on your statement to
protest, in writing, any charges you believe are incorrect. An extension of up to 60 days may be granted
for “good cause” (refer to page 59) if your request is submitted before the protest deadline. When filing
your protest, you must include your EDD eight-digit employer account number, the claimant’s name,
Social Security number, claim date, the dollar amount, and the specific reason for protesting. Protests with
missing information will be returned. If you have address changes and/or agent updates, inform the EDD
immediately in order to receive your DE 428T timely.

For further information, refer to the Explanation and Instruction Sheet - Statement of Charges to Reserve
Account (DE 428T) (DE 428C) included with your DE 428T or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at
888-745-3886. The DE 428C is also available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de428c.pdf.

Notice of Contribution Rates and Statement of Ul Reserve Account (DE 2088)

The Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and State Disability Insurance (SDI)
tax rates and taxable wage limits may change each year. Each December, the EDD sends you a Notice
of Contribution Rates and Statement of Ul Reserve Account (DE 2088) to notify you of your tax rates and
taxable wage limits for the upcoming year. Your 2017 notice will show the items used to determine your
Ul rate and the balance in your Ul reserve account as of July 31, 2016.

Any item on the DE 2088 can be protested except the ETT and SDI tax rates, which are set by law. Your
protest must be filed in writing within 60 days of the issued date shown on the notice. An extension of up to
60 days may be granted for “good cause” (refer to page 59) if your request is submitted before the protest
deadline. When filing your protest, you must include your EDD eight-digit employer account number, the
specific item(s) being protested, and why you are protesting.

Please mail your protest to:

Employment Development Department
Rate Management Group, MIC 4

PO Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

For further information, refer to the Explanation of the Notice of Contribution Rates and Statement of Ul
Reserve Account (DE 2088) for the Period of January 1, 2017, to December 31, 2017 (DE 2088C) included
with the DE 2088 or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886. The DE 2088C is also
available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2088c.pdf.
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STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (SDI)

The State Disability Insurance (SDI) program provides Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave
(PFL) benefits to eligible workers who need time off of work. The SDI program is state mandated and
funded by employee payroll deductions.

Disability Insurance

Dl is a component of the SDI program. DI provides benefits to eligible workers who have a loss of wages
when they are unable to perform their regular or customary work due to a non-work-related iliness or injury,
pregnancy, or childbirth.

Paid Family Leave

PFL is a component of the SDI program. PFL provides benefits to workers who take time off from work to
care for a seriously ill child, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or registered
domestic partner or to bond with a new child.

Claim Notices

When a DI claim is filed, the employer(s) shown on the DI claim form will receive a Notice to Employer of
Disability Insurance Claim Filed (DE 2503). When a PFL claim is filed, the employer(s) will receive a Notice
of Paid Family Leave (PFL) Claim Filed (DE 2503F). You are required to complete and return the DE 2503
or DE 2503F within two working days. You may also submit the DE 2503 online through the SDI Online at
www.edd.ca.gov/disability.

Your Unemployment Insurance reserve account will not be affected when your employees file DI and/or
PFL claims. Because employees pay for DI and PFL through payroll deductions, you will not be notified of
claimant eligibility for DI/PFL benefits.

If you have any questions about DI, please access the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/disability or
contact DI customer service at 800-480-3287. If you have any questions about PFL, access the EDD
website at www.edd.ca.gov/disability or contact PFL customer service at 877-238-4373.

SDI Online

SDI Online is an electronic claim filing system available to employers, claimants, physicians/practitioners,
and voluntary plan third-party administrators for submission of DI and PFL claim information. Employers can
securely submit employee information (wages earned, last day worked, etc.) online. For more information
on these online services, visit the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/disability.
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Other EDD Programs and Services
America’s Job Center of Californias™
To find the nearest America’s Job Center of Californias™, go online at www.edd.ca.gov/office_locator.
State Disability Insurance (SDI)
Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) are benefits paid under the SDI program.

The DI and PFL customer service is available through the toll-free phone numbers listed below:

DI English 800-480-3287 PFL English ......cccevveeeiiiinnes 877-238-4373
DI Spanish 866-658-8846 PFL Spanish .........cccccceenie 877-379-3819
DI Hearing Impaired (TTY) 800-563-2441 PFL Cantonese..................... 866-692-5595
PFL Viethamese ................... 866-692-5596
PFL Armenian..........ccccccoo.... 866-627-1567
PFL Punjabi.......ccccccccceeinins 866-627-1568
PFL Tagalog.....ccccccevvvveeneen.. 866-627-1569

PFL Hearing Impaired (TTY) 800-445-1312

In addition, SDI information is located on the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/disability.

Unemployment Insurance (Ul)

Ul customer service representatives are available through the toll-free phone numbers listed below. When
you call, an automated system will provide a menu of services. Press “5” for the employer menu (available
in English and Spanish) that provides Ul and job service information.

English......cooveiiiiiii, 800-300-5616
Spanish ..............l 800-326-8937
Cantonese........c.cceeeeeeeeennnn. 800-547-3506
Mandarin ............cccocevvvvnnnnn. 866-303-0706
Vietnamese...........ccceeevnnnn. 800-547-2058

Hearing Impaired (TTY)....... 800-815-9387

Customers who have filed a claim for Ul benefits may call the automated self-service number at
866-333-4606. Press “5” for the employer menu (available in English and Spanish) for Ul and America’s Job
Center of Californias™ information. You can access information about Ul claim processing, hiring assistance,
Ul fraud, California payroll tax information, and an explanation of various employer forms. In addition, there
is a variety of Ul information available for employers and claimants located on the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov. Information includes answers to several of the most frequently asked questions (FAQ).
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Other Agencies You Should Contact
For assistance with:

¢ Federal tax requirements, please visit the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) website at
www.irs.gov or call the IRS at 800-829-1040.

e Labor law requirements (such as overtime, minimum wage, and employee benefits), please visit
the Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) website at www.dir.ca.gov/dlse or call DIR’s Labor
Standards Enforcement Division (refer to the government listings in your local phone book).

¢ Workers’ Compensation requirements, please visit the DIR website at www.dir.ca.gov/dwc or
call DIR’s Workers’ Compensation Division (refer to the government listings in your local
phone book).

Help Us Fight Fraud

The “underground economy” is comprised of those individuals and businesses that deal in cash

and/or use other schemes to conceal their activities and their true tax liability from government licensing and
taxing agencies. When businesses operate in the underground economy, they gain an unfair competitive
advantage over businesses that comply with the law because they do not pay Workers’ Compensation and
state and federal payroll taxes. This causes unfair competition in the marketplace and forces law-abiding
businesses to pay higher taxes. To address this, the EDD, in partnership with several other governmental
entities, follows up on leads and conducts on-site inspections of businesses throughout the state. To learn
more about the EDD Underground Economy Operation (UEO) programs, visit the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/underground_economy_operations.htm.

To report businesses that are paying workers undocumented cash payments, failing to carry Workers’
Compensation insurance, or not complying with labor and licensing laws, please download and complete
an Underground Economy Operations Lead Referral/Complaint Form (DE 660 in English or DE 660/S in
Spanish) available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de660.pdf. You can also request a DE 660 or
contact UEO at:

Hotline: 800-528-1783

Fax: 916-227-2772

Email: ueo@edd.ca.gov

Online: www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/Report_Fraud.htm

The brochure Paying Cash Wages “Under the Table” (DE 573CA in English or DE 573CA/S in Spanish) is
available online at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm or contact the Taxpayer
Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.
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The EDD’s Commitment to You

The EDD is committed to applying the payroll tax laws of the State of California in an equitable and impartial
manner. Toward that goal, we have developed the following information to inform you of your rights during
the employment taxation process.

Your Rights as an Employer

As an employer, you have the right to:

Courteous and timely service from the EDD employees.

Expect that information maintained by the EDD be kept confidential and not published or made
available for public inspection. However, in certain instances, the law requires that this information
be shared with other governmental agencies. When those instances occur, the EDD closely follows
the law to protect your rights to confidentiality.

Call upon the EDD for accurate information and assistance and to have all your questions
answered.

Receive a clear and accurate account statement if the EDD believes you owe taxes.

Request a filing extension for up to 60 days. The law provides that the EDD may grant a filing
extension where “good cause” is shown for a delay. Refer to page 59 for the definition of “good
cause.”

Request a waiver of penalty by showing “good cause” for filing a report or making a payment late.

An impartial audit and a full explanation of our findings if your business is selected for an audit.

Discuss the issue(s) with an EDD representative, supervisor, office manager, and the Taxpayer
Advocate Office if you disagree with an action taken by the EDD staff.

Appeal certain actions to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board.

The Employers’Bill of Rights (DE 195) brochure has been developed to inform you of your rights during the
employment taxation process. The DE 195 is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de195.pdf
or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

For the latest news and helpful information,
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm.
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Office of the Taxpayer Rights Advocate

The Employment Development Department (EDD) has established the Office of the Taxpayer Rights
Advocate (OTRA), which is responsible for providing a clear, consistent focus on protecting the rights of the
taxpayer. Incorporated within the OTRA is the Taxpayer Advocate Office.

Taxpayer Advocate Office

The Taxpayer Advocate Office is responsible for protecting the rights of taxpayers during all phases of the
payroll tax administration, assessment, and collection process, while also protecting the interests of the state.

If you are unable to resolve a payroll tax problem with an EDD representative, supervisor, and office
manager, you may contact the Taxpayer Advocate Office for assistance. This office will review the issues
and facts of your case to ensure that your rights have been protected and work to facilitate a resolution to
your problem. Please contact the Taxpayer Advocate Office for further assistance:

Employment Development Department
Taxpayer Advocate Office, MIC 93

PO Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Toll-free Phone: 866-594-4177
Phone: 916-654-8957
Fax: 916-654-6969

Protecting Your Privacy

The EDD recognizes that your privacy is a personal and fundamental right without exception. The EDD will
value and protect your privacy and place strict controls on the gathering and use of personally identifiable
data. Your personal information is not disclosed, made available, or otherwise used for purposes other than
those specified at or before the time of collection, except with your consent or as authorized by law

or regulation.

Payroll tax and benefit information collected and maintained by the EDD is confidential. As an employer,
you have the right to obtain access to and inspect your records. You may also authorize your agent or
representative to access your records through a written authorization or a Power of Attorney Declaration
(DE 48). The DE 48 is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de48.pdf or contact the Taxpayer
Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

If you have further questions regarding your privacy rights, contact the Tax Information Security Office at
916-654-5981.
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The Employment Development Department (EDD) eight-digit employer payroll
tax account number assigned to each registered employer (for example,
000-0000-0). Always refer to your employer tax account number when
communicating with the EDD. Omission of your employer tax account number
may result in delays in processing payments, reporting documents, and
correspondence.

An employer who pays $20,000 or less in wages in a calendar year and has
elected to pay taxes annually. The employer sends an Employer of Household
Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholding (DE 3BHW) to the EDD
quarterly and an Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return
(DE 3HW) with payment annually.

The base period consists of four calendar quarters of three months each. When a
base period begins and which calendar quarters are used depends on whether the
claim is for Unemployment Insurance (Ul) or State Disability Insurance (SDI) and
on what date the claim begins. For Unemployment Insurance, there are two types
of base periods: the Standard Base Period (see “Base Period Standard [UI]”) and
the Alternate Base Period (see “Base Period Alternate [UI]”). There is an option of
an alternate base period when the standard base period is not monetarily valid.

The Ul Alternate Base Period is the last four completed calendar quarters prior
to the beginning date of the claim. The Alternate Base Period can only be used
if an individual cannot monetarily establish a valid Ul claim using the Standard
Base Period.

Employers who paid the earnings used to establish a Ul claim and calculate a
benefit amount.

The Ul Standard Base Period is the first four of the last five completed calendar
quarters prior to the beginning date of the claim.

The laws administering California’s Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment
Training Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI), and Personal Income

Tax (PIT) programs. The CUIC is available online at
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes.xhtml.

Checks and currency paid to people who work for you.

An application for Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Disability Insurance (Dl), or
Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits:

e Ul —The process that establishes a Ul benefit year is called a new claim.
The weekly Continued Claim Form (DE 4581) is used by claimants to
certify for Ul benefits during the benefit year. The EDD has two new
methods that unemployed individuals may use to certify for Ul benefits.
Rather than filling out and submitting a paper DE 4581 form by mail,
individuals may use EDD Tele-CertsM to certify for benefits using the
phone or EDD Ul Online®™ to certify for Ul benefits through the EDD
website. After establishing a benefit year, a claimant may interrupt his or
her claim for a variety of reasons, for example, the claimant could receive
a disqualification, obtain intervening employment, or fail to continue to
certify for benefits. The claimant may request to reopen an existing claim
with a claim balance by filing an additional or reopened claim during the
benefit year.
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Claim (Cont.) e DI - The application that establishes a DI benefit period is called a
first claim. Subsequent certifications on an active DI claim are called
continued claims. For each separate period of disability, a new first claim
must be filed.

e PFL - The application that establishes a PFL benefit period is called a
first claim. Subsequent certifications on that claim are called continued
claims. For each separate period of family leave, a new first claim must

be filed.
Claimant A wage earner who files a claim for Ul, DI, or PFL benefits.
Contributions Payroll tax payments for Ul and ETT. The CUIC refers to taxes under its
provisions as “contributions.” In this guide, “contributions” are generally referred
to as “taxes.”

Disability Insurance (DI) Benefits paid to eligible California workers who have a loss of wages when
they are unable to perform their regular or customary work due to a non-work-
related illness or injury, pregnancy, or childbirth. DI is a component of the State
Disability Insurance (SDI) program and funded through SDI employee payroll

withholdings.
Domestic Employee Same as “Household Employee.”
Domestic Employer Same as “Household Employer.”

Employment Training A payroll tax of 0.1 percent (.001) used to fund job training for people likely to
Tax (ETT) become unemployed or people who have been receiving Ul benefits.

e-Services for Business Online access that allows employers to manage their employer payroll tax
accounts online. New employers can register for an EDD employer payroll
tax account online. Registered employers can access account and payment
information, file most returns and reports, including New Employee Registry and
Independent Contractor Reporting, pay tax deposits and tax liabilities, review
statements, correspondence, and email messages, obtain tax rates, change
addresses, make payment arrangements, and close their account.

Exempt Employment Employment specifically excluded from coverage under the CUIC.

Experience Rating The system by which an employer’s Ul contribution rate is determined each
calendar year based on previous employment experience.

Good Cause A substantial reason that provides a legal basis for an employer filing a tax
report or payment late. “Good cause” cannot exist unless there are unusual
circumstances or circumstances that could not be reasonably foreseen; for
example, earthquakes or floods. For more information, contact the Taxpayer
Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

Household Employee A person hired to work for wages in or around your home. Same as Domestic
Employee.

Household Employer A person who hires one or more people to work for wages in or around his or
her home. Same as Domestic Employer.
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California’s new-hire reporting program. Employers are required to report their
new or rehired employees within 20 days of their start-of-work date. Refer to the
Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34) on page 43.

Payments other than cash that are made to people who work for you, for
example, meals and/or lodging you provide to your employee(s).

Benefits paid to eligible workers who take time off work to care for a seriously

ill family member or to bond with a new child. PFL is a component of the State
Disability Insurance (SDI) program and funded through SDI employee payroll

withholdings.

The frequency you pay wages: daily, weekly, biweekly (every two weeks), or
semi-monthly (twice a month), etc.

Information you keep regarding wages paid to each employee.

Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability
Insurance (SDI), and Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding.

All wages paid that are subject to California PIT, even if no PIT is withheld. For
a calendar year, an employee’s PIT wages should match the amount reported
in Box 16 (state wages, tips, etc.) of the employee’s Internal Revenue Service
Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2).

Commonly known as state income tax, which you are not required to withhold
from your household employees’ wages. You and your employee(s) may
voluntarily agree to withhold PIT.

A three-month period in a calendar year, as shown below:

Quarter Months in Quarter
1st January, February, March
2nd April, May, June
3rd July, August, September
4th October, November, December

A household employer who pays more than $20,000 in accumulated wages in

a calendar year or who has not elected to pay taxes annually. The employer is
required to send payroll taxes (with a DE 88) and Quarterly Contribution Return
and Report of Wages (DE 9) and a Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of
Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) quarterly.

A book account kept for each tax-rated employer to measure employment
experience and set the employer’s Ul tax rate. Your Ul reserve account is a
“paper” account for recordkeeping purposes and has no cash value.

An electronic claim filing system available to employers, claimants, physicians/
practitioners, and voluntary plan third-party administrators for submission of
Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) claim information.

The date an Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) transaction is completed and
posted on the books of the Federal Reserve Bank and the state’s bank account.

Also known as Social Security number. All employee wage records and claim
actions are filed under this number, rather than by name.
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SIDES

State Disability
Insurance (SDI)

Subject Employer

Subject Quarter

Subject Wages

Taxable Wage Limit

Unemployment
Insurance (Ul)

Wages

Withholding

State Information Data Exchange System. Allows employers and third-party
administrators to electronically receive and respond to the EDD’s Notice of
Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed (DE 1101CZ).

The SDI program provides DI and PFL benefits to eligible workers experiencing
a loss of wages. The SDI program is funded by mandatory payroll withholdings
from employee wages.

An employer who is liable under the rules and regulations of the California
Unemployment Insurance Code.

Calendar quarter when an employer first meets the requirements for reporting
their payroll taxes.

Subject wages are used to determine Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Disability
Insurance (DI), and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits. The DI and PFL are
components of SDI. Generally, all wages are considered subject wages,
regardless of the Ul and SDI taxable wage limits. Refer to inside front cover of
this guide for current rates and taxable wage limits.

The maximum amount of an employee’s wages that certain taxes apply to in a
calendar year. For example, in 2017, the taxable wage limit for Ul and ETT is
$7,000. Therefore, an employer’s Ul and ETT tax rate applies to the first $7,000
paid to each worker during the calendar year. The taxable wage limit for SDI

is $110,902. Since the SDI tax rate is (.009), the maximum 2017 SDI tax on
any one employee is $998.12. There is no limit on the taxability of wages for
California Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding purposes.

Benefits paid to eligible California workers who are unemployed. Claimant(s)
must meet specific eligibility requirements in order to receive benefits, which are
funded by employer payroll taxes.

All payments made to people who work for you whether paid by check, cash, or
the reasonable cash value of noncash payments, such as meals and lodging.

Money deducted from your employees’ wages for State Disability Insurance
(SDI) and California Personal Income Tax (PIT). You must send SDI and PIT
withholdings to the EDD at least quarterly, unless you are an Annual household
employer.

For the latest news and helpful information,

refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm.

www.edd.ca.gov
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61 Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon
request to individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats need to
be made by calling 888-745-3886 (voice), or TTY 800-547-9565.
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