If you are a business owner or
self-employed, then

Disability Insurance Elective
Coverage may be for you!
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The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to
individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids,
and/or alternate formats need to be made by calling
1-866-490-8879 (voice) or through the California Relay
Service at 711.

This pamphlet is for general information only and does

not have the force and effect of law, rule, and regulation.
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Protect Your Most Valuable Asset:
Your Ability to Earn an Income

As someone whose livelihood depends on your
ability to run a business, you should consider what
would happen if your income stopped because:

B You were ill, injured, or pregnant and could
not work.

Your child, parent, parent-in-law,
grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse,
or registered domestic partner needed your
care due to a serious health condition.

B You would like to bond with your new child.

Could you do without your income even
temporarily?

A Financial Safety Net

Disability Insurance Elective Coverage (DIEC)
offers a safety net to business owners or
self-employed individuals. Premiums are based
on net profits as declared on the Internal Revenue
Service Form 1040 (Schedule SE) or (Schedule C).
For information regarding benefit amounts paid,
view the Disability Insurance and Paid Family
Leave Weekly Benefit Amounts in Dollar
Increments (DE 2589) by visiting EDD Forms and
Publications (edd.ca.gov/forms).

Consider the Benefits

B Protection against loss of income due to
injury, pregnancy, or illness whether or not
it is work-related.

Up to 39 weeks of benefits for your
own disability.

Automatic coverage in Paid Family Leave
(PFL), which provides up to eight weeks
of benefits to care for a seriously ill family
member or to bond with a new child.

For more information about Disability
Insurance (DI), call 1-800-480-3287. For
information about PFL, call 1-877-238-4373.

Major Requirements

B You must own your own business or be
self-employed.

You must have a minimum annual income
of $4,600.

You must be normally and continuously
engaged in a regular trade, business,
or occupation.

You must possess a valid active license,
if required by your occupation.

You must derive the major portion of
your income from your trade, business,
or occupation.

You must be able to perform your normal
duties on a full-time basis at the time you
submit your application.

Your business cannot be seasonal.

You must stay in the program for two
complete calendar years unless you
discontinue your business or move out
of California.

Benefit Eligibility

Generally, you must have this insurance coverage
for at least six months before you are eligible to
file a claim.

—

If you are interested in more
information about this program,
call 1-916-654-6288. If you would

like an application, call
1-916-554-7104, complete and
mail the attached form, or visit
the EDD (edd.ca.gov).
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Please send me more information and an application for DI Elective Coverage.

Name

Address

ZIP Code

State

City

Email Address

Please have someone call me at

Detach this portion and mail to the following address:

State of California

Employment Development Department

DIEC Unit

PO Box 826880, MIC 5

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001


http://edd.ca.gov/forms
http://edd.ca.gov/forms
http://edd.ca.gov

